Thursday, October 10, 2013

Do you think the game of baseball has been more successful or less successful following the 1994-95 strike?

luxury watches for men 2011
 on Parmigiani - Kalpa Tonda 42 - Swiss Luxury Watches - LuxuryWatch
luxury watches for men 2011 image
Q. Everyone is entitled to own opinions.

If you said the game of baseball has been less successful after the 1994-95, what did you like about the game better than where's it's at today?

If you think it's been more successful, what do you like better about today's game compared to the events before the strike?

I need some insight on this because it was an infamous event. But at the time the strike occurred, I was a little kid and didn't understand what was going on.


Answer
Much depends upon what are the defined success metrics.

Revenue is WAY up.

Attendance set a record in 2007, just under 80 million tickets, and while seasons since have dipped a bit, that's as easily explicable by the economy at large than by any meaningful loss of baseball's popularity.

The wave of new parks has continued unabated. (It's only running out of steam because there's only two teams left that really want a new yard.)

There's been two more teams added since the strike.

The expanded postseason and interleague play appear to be maintaining their popularity.

Asian talent, while still barely a trickle, is now established.

TV ratings -- man, I do NOT comprehend why anyone outside of the television industry gives a damn about these things. The entertainment market has been massively fragmented over the past 15 years ("World Wide Web" was barely an infant in '94) -- there are more channels, more programming, and more semi-good programming at that, than ever before; plus television technology has disseminated to many more outlets. The result -- more eyeballs are watching baseball (or anything, really) than ever, but the percentage or points allotted to those eyeballs are smaller because the whole pie grew faster than just the MLB segment. This is not being a problem. Goodness, we now have MLB NETWORK!

Not to be overlooked, there is now a comprehensive steroids policy in place, which appears to be working.

And -- this one, to me, is a critical point -- the 1994-95 nuclear winter taught baseball's powers-that-be an important lesson which has not been forgotten. Hence, the subsequent CBA negotiations, in 2002 and 2007, came and went without work stoppages, and largely without contention or rancor. And early signs are that the 2011 renewal will similarly go smoothly. This has been a VERY GOOD thing.

Consequent with those CBAs since the strike, MLB also has effectual revenue sharing and a functional payroll luxury tax. No team has gone bankrupt (except on paper, as legal maneuvers; no one is out of business). Of the 30 teams today, only four teams have not been to the postseason since the strike -- but there's no helping some franchises.

Overall, yes, I'd say Major League Baseball is more successful now than before the strike. Painful as it was, it did propagate short- and long-term positive effects.

Things could be better, but they are not at all bad.

And for those who simply want to lay curses upon all houses of blame, note that Fehr no longer runs the union, and Selig claims he'll really retire in 2012. So the primary actors, or at least the front men, will soon pass into history.

Do you think Kenny Dalglish picked his starting 11 biasly?




Numb


Aquilani should be given his chances!!!!!!!!! He is the only technically gifted midfielder in Liverpool.
I like him. For what he did in the past. I just don't want to see Henderson getting 1st place when there are some better players than him.



Answer
The squad is packed full of professionals who are paid insane amounts of money each week to perform and play well for the fans - the manager can only steer and direct and utilise the resources made available to him to the best of his ability.


After all that success he had during his first stint at the club as manager, I find it shocking that you are indreictly questioning his ability to manage at the top level, by playing the 'aquilani' card.


That man will get his chance - and when he does he better take it otherwise there are plenty of other players who are hungry for theirs (chance).

So he'll have to sit out and wait - the manager knows best when to use what players, right now its not Alberto's time - he'll be used when the team has started playing a good passing game moving the ball about quickly and attacking well, thats when I think we can use Alberto to best effect - as a luxury if u like, right now he's not the right player to bring into the 1st team imo.

So early on in the season - points on the board is all that matters, a good start is essential so that we don't lose pace at hte top amongst the big boys like United, City and Chelsea.

That means picking teams who are very hard to break-down and beat, thats why Kenny went for a tough midfield setup in Adam, Lucas, Kuyt and Henderson in the first game - complete faith in the 2 new boys because they're sound players.


I'm a big fan - massive fan of Alberto Aquiliani myself, i think his technical game is a notch or two above many of the foreign players in the EPL but hes not been able to express and show that as much as he wanted to when Rafa signed him 2 years ago.


We did the right thing by releasing him to Juve - the gamble paid off in that he got fit again from playing regularly, and even if they didnt buy him - other Italian clubs would have him high on their shopping list, even if they didn't - we'd have the luxury of a now FIT Aquiliani ready and available - an extra bit of steel in midfield.


introducing Alberto in game 3 could potentialy upset and destablise whats looking like a steady ship, thats the last thing a manager like Kenny would do.


He already has an idea of what our strongest XI is - and has 2 or 3 variations of our strongest XI which over the courseo fthe season will be used, thanks to the some exceptional cover in midfield and defence.

Teams don't win titles - Squads do.


Judge the squad by the end of this season. Maxi Rodriguez has shown good attitude by saying 'he welcomes the competition' and will fight for his place instead of sulk. thats great.

Joe Cole, Steven Gerrard, Jonjo Shelvey, Jay Spearing Cristian Poulsen are a MIDFIELD setup of its own lol

we have two midfields lol


im not discussing titles, cups, silverware or 4th spot nonsence right now - ffs we've only played our 2nd game of the 2011/12 EPL Campaign the league began just 2 weeks ago remember ?


just watch the team game by game and thats all - we'll know when we have NO chance of winning,achieving something when that time comes - right now, we can only beat the teams put out against us nothing more.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Title Post: Do you think the game of baseball has been more successful or less successful following the 1994-95 strike?
Rating: 98% based on 9457 ratings. 4,7 user reviews.
Author: Unknown

Thanks For Coming To My Blog

No comments:

Post a Comment