Saturday, May 24, 2014

Do watch selling websites like thewatchery sell genuine watches?

Q. those kinda websites always sell watches at very low prices and i wonder if they are genuine. and if so do they have defect?


Answer
Yes, we provide authentic, luxury watches. The watches we provide are purchased from national and international retailers who often have overstock, sample, display or closeout watches which is how we provide our men's and women's watches at such affordable prices. Our watches are brand new, never worn and with original factory parts. You can learn more about our products and policies at http://www.thewatchery.com/about.asp?d=0

help me cure my luxury brand addiction?




levis_88


it started on thanksgiving 2008, when all those crazy sales r going on at eluxury, neiman, saks, bloomings, etc.

I shop like crazy during thanksgiving, it's like a yearly ritual for me

But

This year, the sale went on from thanksgiving til today.

I can't control myself and everyday instead of my usual internet hobby (facebook, myspace, friendster, watch anime, news, etc)

I hunt sale items like crazy, day and night. I even bookmark all of them

I'm not a fashion addict, heck I don't even know brands like burberry, dior, fendi, gucci, maison martin, prada, true religion, diesel, ETCCCC

damn I can keep going..

PLEASE HELP ME TO GET AWAY FROM THIS HABIT.

I have spent (not meaning to brag) more than 2000$ buying all these sale items, some I have returned

I can't control it, i tried not to, but it just feel like

if I don't get it fast enough, other people will take it, sale items are only available in limited quantities and it's really hard to find my size (small)

Do you guys have any suggestion?, anyone on the same boat?



Answer
Would it help to inventory your existing wardrobe, and decide in advance what you need to add to it? A whole closet full of clothes that don't go with your other clothes would be no bargain.

In my case, closet space is the most limiting factor. I hate to see my clothes so squashed in there that I have a hard time pulling them out. I even devised a way to store empty hangers above the pole so I'd have more hanging room. (I drove very long nails -- six-inch ones made to support rain gutters -- one on each side of the closet walls, high up above the shelf. Each nail holds eight or more hangers. Also I've seen people suspend adjustable curtain rods high up between the two walls to hold empty hangers.)

I sometimes regret not pouncing on some of the nice clothes I've seen. I'm hard to fit, and fussy about materials. But I console myself by realizing that I already have lots and lots of great clothes, and always have something to wear that I'm happy in.

Some women are so vain about wearing luxury brands that they've perfected the art of carrying their coats and tossing their jackets so that the labels are sure to show. But you can't flash the labels on every kind of garment, can you?

Classy labels are not an automatic guarantee of style and value. Even famous designers make mistakes that don't sell well and have to be put on sale.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Do I go with exterior or interior when choosing a vehicle. Should I pick the Infiniti G or M ,?




Lightwave


Do you pick a car based on exterior or interior.
I really like the lines of an Infinity G because of it's versatility to modify and dress up to personally customize it to look sharper than it already is. There are a lot of accessories you can purchase for the G.
The M should not be modified externally, there are no kits or extras you can purchase for it. It's a car which has a shape that grows on you. At first it doesn't have that sharp sporty look but the more I see it, the more intriguing the design becomes. It bothers me that I cannot personalize it.

I had my heart set on a G37s and when the time came to go purchase one, I went into the showroom and happened upon the Infiniti M56. I was blown away by the M's interior and features. Yes, it has this bulbish design but it's more of an executive class model car.

I backed off the purchase of my G and decided to take the time to examine the M closer. After a couple of weeks I'm not ready for a final decision and can't make up my mind.

Help me make a decision. Everyone pretty much knows the G but here are some selling features of the M
It has these features I call the autopilot system.
I know this sounds like a sales pitch but each of these features help to sway my decision towards class more than sport.

- A lane drift warning system which gently guides me back into my lane if I start to drift. A lane change warning sensor so if I try to change lanes, it detects vehicles within my parameter and lights flash enabling a warning to tell me there are vehicles too close and again gently nudges me back into my lane.
- A great feature is the autobraking which brakes the car automatically: As I'm driving, it warns me from a reasonable distance that I'm approaching an obstacle too quickly and will gently apply the brakes preventing me from impacting the obstacle.
- When cruising, the car will set itself to the desired distance from car lengths and accelerate or brake based on the speed I set as the car's maximum.
- Four drive settings, Sport, Standard, Snow and Eco. I believe this changes the suspension and fuel usage of the car.
- 360 HP but it's needed for such a heavy car. fuel economy is not going to be great.
- Sound system by Bose and man does it ever sound great with speakers even built into the head rest of the seats.
- Dual climate controls that heat or cool the seats and steering wheel.
- The leather is quality and there is this Silver Dusted wood grain finish which has a soft glistening tone to it.

Infiniti M
http://www.infiniti.ca/en/ms/mhybrid/photo-gallery.html

Infiniti G
http://www.infiniti.ca/en/g_sedan/photos/interior_photos.html

I want to vote between the G and the M



Answer
Well for starters the Infiniti M56 and G37 sedans are in two entirely different price points, you are looking at around $37K-$50K for the Infiniti G37 VS $60K-$75K for the M56.

The Infiniti M56 is an executive luxury sedan making it more spacious, refined, luxurious and over all a more prestigious offering in the category. The M56 has a class leading 420 HP engine while the G37 composes a class leading 3.7 liter V6 engine. The M56 competes with the BMW 550i and Mercedes E550 while the G37 competes against the smaller BMW 335i, Lexus IS350, Audi S4 and Mercedes C350. The M sedan has three engine variants which include the M35h, M37 & M56. The M37 shares the same engine as the G37 while the M35h (hybrid) is claimed to be the worlds fastest luxury hybrid sedan with an engine producing an impressive 360 HP. The M35h offers the power & performance between the M37 and M56, not to mention its more fuel efficient at the same time. The G37 has an average MPG rating for the class it is in however it composes more horsepower then any of its rivals in the same class. Over all the M & G sedans are fantastic cars however the G is a more sports oriented sedan designed to thrill you beyond your expectations, the driving dynamics that Infiniti is so highly acclaimed for is found underneath the hood of the G while the M composes more of Infiniti's charismatic eye for design and refinement. To be honest, I think the G37 is the closest competitor on par with a BMW 3 series but I would wait and see when the new G sedan comes out. As you know the G37 is at the end of its life cycle, this is in fact its last year until the redesigned model is introduced for 2013. The M37 on the other hand is a brand new design for Infiniti and it will retain its resale value quite well over the years. The G37 is a great sedan and it upholds an excellent reputation but If you cant wait for the new G I would suggest opting for the M37 which is if anything, everything the G37 lacks..... and the G37 is already an amazing sedan to begin with. The G37 was built for a luxury sports car enthusiast, the M was built for a clientele in search of more then just performance. Like you said, technology and refinement.

Pictures:
Infiniti M37
http://3.bp.blogspot.com/-B1jYNO14Y2o/TYn7rSOeZbI/AAAAAAAEL6g/mqiYV1YypZM/s1600/M37s_MY10_EXT_007_Hires.JPG
http://www.japanesesportcars.com/photos/d/98786-2/2011-infiniti-m37s-europe-10.jpg

Infiniti G37
http://www.japanesesportcars.com/photos/d/100080-2/2010-infiniti-g37-sedan-anniversary-edition-12.jpg
http://www.carevos.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/04/2011-Infiniti-G37-Sedan-interior-2-550x412.jpg

Or you can try finding a 2011- 2012 Infiniti G37 limited edition, only 350-400 units are made of each version per year. Now that is custom! Most dealers have at least 2 or 3 in stock.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hLXcVB4mWVM

Are You Angry At Welfare Recipients?




Anthony D


I'm a middle class U.S. citizen that pays my taxes and lives a simple life! Every time I go into the boroughs of Brooklyn, Bronx, or Queens the welfare lines are filled with those on public assistance!

Now I understand that many do need help from our state government and is a good safety net for those who have fallen into tough times, but now I'm seeing a large number of them driving Mercedes C-Class, Cadillac Escalates, or other beautiful luxury cars that easily put my car to shame! Plus expensive name brand clothes like "The North Face", "Tommy Hillfigure", Nautica, etc. I start to realize as a middle class tax worker, these people are must be doing something else and must be abusing the system!

So I write to my congressman and complain about welfare abuse and usually no one is replying back!

So my problem is that why as a tax payer that works hard, struggles, gets shafted, pay taxes, and nothing is being done about it while others are taking advantage of the system and let them get away with it?

Why is one else complaining? It like where letting the abusers get away with murder!



Answer
http://www.newsmax.com/Newsfront/PelosivideowelfareHBO/2012/03/20/id/433239
Pelosi's Daughter Enrages Left with Welfare Video
"Nancy Pelosiâs daughter, who courted conservative controversy with a video short showing the sometimes racist views of toothless Mississippi rednecks, has enraged liberals with a second video: New York welfare recipients.

"But Alexandra Pelosi admits it wasnât easy getting the video on television. âAll the people I work with at HBO, all the people I grew up with, said, âYou canât put that on TV.â

âSomehow [I was] allowed to do it to the toothless rednecks, but when it was our neighbors, it was wait a second, they got defensive,â she told Bill Maher on his HBO show, âReal Time.â
"

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tuI2LEKHGiQ
Real Time in Mississippi

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c2kGPdxkofo&feature=related
Welfare Queens




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Are luxury watches sold on the internet authentic?




kimos


Recently, we purchased a couple of watches from an on line retailer. I noticed that the dial on the Automatic Ebel Classic Wave is kind of "loose" and it moves slightly side ways as I push or pull the crown. The watch has all the serial numbers and stuff that makes it look genuine, but this movement of the dial is very unsettling!

We paid almost 800$ for the watch which retails for 1200$.

Either the site is selling fake watches or Ebel's standards are slipping away. What do yo think?

Anyone with Ebel experience, please chime in!



Answer
The best place to buy Swiss Watches is www.interwatches.com undoubtedly.

Has anyone purchased a replica Omega watch in the UK - can you recommend a website to buy from?




M Andrew





Answer
Theres a couple of websites that sell Omega watches that I know of in the UK. I don't know whether they sell replicas but they do sell new and used Omega Seamaster, Speedmaster And Constellation watches.

This is the site that sells new Omega watches:
http://www.omega-planet-ocean-luxury-watches.co.uk/omega-seamaster-planet-ocean-watch-review

This one sells new and used:
http://www.vintage-omega-seamaster-watches.co.uk/a-brief-history-of-the-omega-seamaster




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Thursday, May 22, 2014

How do YOU do it?

Q. Hubby and I had our first baby 3 months ago. I cannot work because she needs physical therapy. I was going to try to watch some kids at home, but don't feel I could give them the attention they need while tending to my own child at this time. Anyone have any tips or advice to help out financially? Our money is running out quickly....what did you do to cut corners? Thanks so much!


Answer
First thing that came to mind was...

Do you qualify for WIC (Women, Infants & Children)? They are wonderful if you qualify... They will pay for most of the formula you need in the month (if you aren't breastfeeding), plus stuff like cheese, milk, cereals, etc... That is a wonderful resource to help out with groceries.

As for cutting other corners....

You can make your own baby wipes at home... Google the words in quotation: "make your own baby wipes" - you'll get lots of results!

Clip coupons, definitely! And look for "on sale" items at grocery stores. Especially keep an eye out for "buy one/get one" deals. Be willing to try generic (store) brands! They are often the same product in different packaging!

Shop yard sales, Ebay or visit www.freecycle.org for baby clothes and gear.

Try to cut luxury trips to the movies (which can cost a small fortune these days, even for just two!) and restaurants. Focus on "free fun" like trips to the library, walks through the park, etc. My daughter likes going to the zoo but is just as happy visiting the pet store... get creative!

If you spend a lot of money renting movies - try Netflix (www.netflix.com)! For under $20 a month you can get up to 3 movies at a time at home and you have unlimited rentals within that time... rent, watch, return at your leisure and frequency!

I wish I had more ideas!! And I wish you the best of luck! I know it can be hard... but try to stay positive!

who discover the popcorn?




santibuvh





Answer
Biblical accounts of "corn" stored in the pyramids of Egypt are misunderstood. The "corn" from the bible was probably barley. The mistake comes from a changed use of the word "corn," which used to signify the most-used grain of a specific place. In England, "corn" was wheat, and in Scotland and Ireland the word referred to oats. Since maize was the common American "corn," it took that name -- and keeps it today.
It is believed that the first use of wild and early cultivated corn was popping.
The oldest ears of popcorn ever found were discovered in the Bat Cave of west central New Mexico in 1948 and 1950. Ranging from smaller than a penny to about 2 inches, the oldest Bat Cave ears are about 4,000 years old.
Popcorn was integral to early 16th century Aztec Indian ceremonies. Bernardino de Sahagun writes: "And also a number of young women danced, having so vowed, a popcorn dance. As thick as tassels of maize were their popcorn garlands. And these they placed upon (the girls') heads."
In 1519, Cortes got his first sight of popcorn when he invaded Mexico and came into contact with the Aztecs. Popcorn was an important food for the Aztec Indians, who also used popcorn as decoration for ceremonial headdresses, necklaces and ornaments on statues of their gods, including Tlaloc, the god of rain and fertility.
An early Spanish account of a ceremony honoring the Aztec gods who watched over fishermen reads: "They scattered before him parched corn, called momochitl, a kind of corn which bursts when parched and discloses its contents and makes itself look like a very white flower; they said these were hailstones given to the god of water."
Writing of Peruvian Indians in 1650, the Spaniard Cobo says, "They toast a certain kind of corn until it bursts. They call it pisancalla, and they use it as a confection."
The use of the moldboard plow became commonplace in the mid-1800s and led to the widespread planting of maize in the United States.
...........
Popcorn was very popular from the 1890s until the Great Depression. Street vendors used to follow crowds around, pushing steam or gas-powered poppers through fairs, parks and expositions.


During the Depression, popcorn at 5 or 10 cents a bag was one of the few luxuries down-and-out families could afford. While other businesses failed, the popcorn business thrived. An Oklahoma banker who went broke when his bank failed bought a popcorn machine and started a business in a small store near a theater. After a couple years, his popcorn business made enough money to buy back three of the farms he'd lost.
During World War II, sugar was sent overseas for U.S. troops, which meant there wasn't much sugar left in the States to make candy. Thanks to this unusual situation, Americans ate three times as much popcorn as usual.


Popcorn went into a slump during the early 1950s, when television became popular. Attendance at movie theaters dropped and, with it, popcorn consumption. When the public began eating popcorn at home, the new relationship between television and popcorn led to a resurge in popularity.
Microwave popcorn -- the very first use of microwave heating in the 1940s -- has already accounted for $240 million in annual U.S. popcorn sales in the 1990s.
Americans today consume 17 billion quarts of popped popcorn each year. The average American eats about 54 quarts.
............
One of the ancient ways to pop corn was to heat sand in a fire and stir kernels of popcorn in when the sand was fully heated.
Exploring Paraguay during the 18th century, Felix de Azara told of a kind of popcorn with kernels on the tassel which, when "it is boiled in fat or oil, the grains burst without becoming detached, and there results a superb bouquet fit to adorn a lady's hair at night without anyone knowing what it was. I have often eaten these burst grains and found them very good."
Charles Cretors, founder of C. Cretors and Company in Chicago, introduced the world's first mobile popcorn machine at the World's Columbian Exposition in Chicago in 1893. Scientific American reported: "This machine...was designed with the idea of moving it about to any location where the operator would be likely to do a good businesss. The apparatus, which is light and strong, and weighing but 400 or 500 pounds, can be drawn readily by a boy or by a small pony to any picnic ground, fair, political rally, etc. and to many other places where a good business could be done for a day or two."
Percy Spencer, Raytheon Manufacturing Corporation, figured out how to mass produce magnetrons which were being used to generate microwaves for use in World War II. Looking for post-war applications of Raytheon technology, Spencer spurred the development of the microwave oven. Popcorn was key to many of Spencer's experiments.
...........
also see: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Popcorn

and: http://www.popcorn.org/

for more info.
............

I hope this helped....

Don




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Tuesday, May 20, 2014

Is Rotary a luxury watch brand?




WhatWouldP


I was recently given a Rotary watch for my graduation.
I'm not particularly keen on the design, but I was assured it is a nice watch that will last me 20 years and that the classic design is timeless.

I know the watch sells for $130 online (discounted from $650, supposedly), and I'm looking at some other designs that are a bit more trendy and my style in that price range (Armani, DKNY, Oficina Del Tiempo, Invicta).

I tried to research Rotary brand but there isn't much about it. Is it a good brand? Is it worth keeping at that price?
Should I go with my gut instinct and get a trendy watch for under $200?



Answer
Rotary is a nice watch brand. It is not a "luxury" brand, but neither are the other watch brands that you mentioned. They are designer and fashion watches.

FYI... Armani and DKNY watches are essentially Fossil brand watches.

If you are not happy with the Rotary watch you received, you should definitely pick a watch that fits your personality and style. You will be a whole lot happier.

what are some luxury watches for men?




Zyzz


i usually get nixon watches or bulova watches. what watch companies have luxury watches but still under like 700 dollars?


Answer
Luxury watches are usually considered to be costlier than $700. I recently finished writing the 5th edition of my book about "The Costliest Watch Brands". The costliest brand overall now is Richard Mille whose cheapest watch, a basic steel sports watch, costs $70,000. His costliest now is a $660,000 tourbillon. The 2nd costliest brand is Patek Philippe that begins at $25,400 for a basic steel sports watch. Costliest now is a minute repeater-tourbillon-perpetual calendar that isn't priced but probably costs nearly a million bucks. Also in the 20 Costliest Brands are Roger Dubuis, F.P. Journe, Greubel Forsey, Franck Muller (whose $2,666,700 "Aeternitas Mega 4" is the most complicated wristwatch ever made with 1483 parts), A. Lange & Sohne, Concord, Jacob & Co., Parmigiani, Harry Winston, Vacheron Constantin, Piaget, Audemars Piguet, etc.
In recent watch magazines and almanacs, I see these brands have mechanical watches priced $449 to $700: BWC-Swiss, Deep Blue, Nivrel, Stowa, Tissot and Vostok.
More common in the price range you want are quartz watches priced $349 to $700 by Alfex, Boccia, Botta, Chronotech, Citizen, Ernest Borel, ESQ, Gc, Haemmer, Issey Miyake, Links, Luminox, Movado, Ocean 7, Pierre Junod, Reactor, Sector, Seiko, Swiss Military, Tissot, Victorinix, Vuarnet, Wenger and YES.
I've owned watches by Citizen, Movado, Sector, Seiko and Tissot, and I can testify that they are good. (I also own watches by Patek Philippe [1893, 1926 and 1995 models], Vacheron Constantin [1902, 1933 and 1994 models] and Piaget [1953 and 1979 models] that are great.)
EDIT- Shiraishi and Carlos listed some brands that cost more than the $700 maximum you want!
Epos, $1350 to $2550
Omega, $4400 to $35,200
TAG Heuer, $2700 to $9500 for sure and some not priced surely cost even more
Union, $1995 to $4795




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Who owns a Bulova watch? Men and Women share your experience.?




Truth


How are they? Are they quality watches? How do they measure up? Is it a luxury watch or just another Timex or Casio (sorry not to disparage any owners of Timex or Casio).

I'm considering getting a Bulova but unsure if it's a quality time peice such as B & M, Cartier, Movado, etc.

Give me your opinions



Answer
Great subject! I have 3 primary wrist watches~ 2 Seikos & 1 Bulova! My Bulova is the newest, Feb 2004. It's just fine but, in spite of the 4 button, vibration/audible alarm, smart gold/oyster face, brown leather strap, I am partial to the Seikos due to the nice, unique 'chime' alarms, 5 button case with glow in the dark hands & dials, gold inner dials & date displays! The Bulova was selected for the utilitarian operation of the silent (vibration) alarm while I was an Usher in a concert hall. It looks fine with a Tux or jeans but this Millenium model dosn't have a date window & it's not illuminated! The Seikos are selected for bling bling with pizzazz! The features of the Seiko actually have me spoilt for the second one. While the 1st is Gold Cased with white face & black strap, the 2nd is all gold on gold on gold! I really LIKE my Bulova & do knock around about an 1/8th of the time with brownie, but I LOVE my Seikos with 5/8th of the time goldie & 1/4 time blackie! I'm not impressed with anything else I've seen lately. The Rolex is nice & pricey but doesn't sound as good as my $350- Seikos or even my $200 Bulova! They ALL keep the same time!

Does Anyone Remember Gary Heidnik?




spiritcave


He lived in Philadelphia, had women in his basement, was finally caught and imprisoned until he was executed. This is a serious question, please no harsh responses. Thanx.


Answer
For Josefina, November 26, 1986 was a night that she will never forget. Angry after a fight with her boyfriend, she left their apartment in a slum area in north Philadelphia to go to work.

Braving rain and bitter cold, she noticed a silver and white Cadillac Coupe De Ville drive slowly past her and stop. She moved closer as the driver's window slid down and a bearded man asked if she wanted a ride. He looked okay to her and she got into the car.

The man introduced himself as Gary and told her he had to make a stop; Josefina, agreed and shortly after they pulled into a nearby McDonald's. She followed him as he went inside and bought coffee and sat with him as he drank it. With a quick appraisal borne of experience, Josefina studied her new companion. He was white, his face framed by a neatly trimmed beard below cold, blue penetrating eyes. Although he wore an expensive watch and jewellery and drove a luxury car, she noticed that his clothes were cheap and soiled. Grasping for things to say, she again asked him his name. "Gary Heidnik," he said sullenly. Several minutes later, he finished his coffee and told her they were leaving. When she asked where they were going, he told her they were going to his house.

They drove to a dilapidated house in a seedy neighborhood. Josefina couldn't help but notice another car parked in front of them; it was a 1971 Rolls Royce. He clearly had some money.

When they reached the door, Heidnik pulled out a strange key and pushed it into the lock. When Josefina remarked about it, he explained that he had cut the key into two pieces, half of which stayed in the lock preventing anyone but him from entering. The door opened into a kitchen, which was decorated by pennies that had been glued to half of its walls. Heidnik led her to a living room with sparse, aging furniture. He offered to show her around and led her up a narrow staircase. As she reached the door of his bedroom, she couldn't believe her eyes, the hallway directly in front of it had been partially covered with one and five dollar bills.

Suddenly, Heidnik stepped behind her and began choking her with his hands. He released his grip but instead of letting her go, he pulled her arms behind her and handcuffed her wrists. He then led to a cold, damp basement room.

Heidnik dragged her to a dirty mattress, attached metal clamps to her ankles and connected them to one end of a chain. He then applied glue to the clamps and dried them with a hair dryer. The other end he fastened around a large pipe that was attached to the ceiling. When he had finished, he told her to sit up and promptly laid his head in her lap and went to sleep. When Josefina awoke there was enough daylight to see the small room that was her prison.

In the center of the room, a small area of concrete had been removed and a shallow pit had been dug into the ground underneath. When Heidnik returned, he set to work to widen and deepen the hole.

As she watched him working, he told her that all he had ever wanted was a large family and to that end had already fathered four children to four separate women but had lost contact with them for various reasons. He told Josefina that his plan was to get ten women and make all of them pregnant so he could raise his family. Then, to demonstrate his intent, he raped her.

Left alone a second time, Josefina loosened one of the ankle clamps and, after prying the covers from the window, stretched the chain to its full length and lifted herself halfway out of the window. Unable to escape fully, she screamed, hoping that a neighbor would come to her aid. Unfortunately, only Heidnik responded to her cries.

He pulled her back inside the basement and beat her with a stick until she quieted down. Then, pushing her down into the tiny hole in the floor, he forced her head onto her chest and covered her with a piece of plywood and stacked heavy weights on top of it. To make sure that her screams didn't attract any outside attention, he set up a radio and tuned it to a hard rock station at maximum volume and left. As she lay half naked and cramped up in the freezing earth, Josefina struggled to breathe and waited to die.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Monday, May 19, 2014

R&P: Let's decide -- What are the best songs of 2009 (Round 1 - Part 24)?

Q. The First Annual Rock & Pop Best Song Competition (2009 Edition).
Part twenty-four of the first round. More to come, and you don't have to have voted in any of the previous parts to get started here.
If you've been looking for metal -- we've got some metal this time around.

MATCH UP 1
"Bleeding Is a Luxury" by Atreyu
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IkvHPVEmSzI
the band is, of course, named after a character from a fantasy novel that rode around on a giant magic flying dog dragon thing.
VERSUS
"Self-Corruption Manifesto" by Dååth
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nx27NFa9Svs
according to wikipedia, I don't pronounce their name right -- but their pronunciation key was of no help.

MATCH UP 2
"Once We Walked in the Sunlight" by Papercuts
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cvV2_Y3SOqM
When you raise your children in communes, they escape and become hipster mainstays (see: Girls, Papercuts)
VERSUS
"You Stole" by Brand New
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f1n6R3EEgm4
Emo mainstays come from when a mommy and a daddy love each other very much.... and don't really share that love and attention with their kids.

MATCH UP 3
"Omen" by Prodigy
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uVefPPr69NU
Did anyone else use Prodigy before AOL? Am I ridiculously aging myself?
VERSUS
"Röyksopp Forever" by Röyksopp
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nM_txL43iFM
I think there was more rap than electronica in this competition.... just an observation.

MATCH UP 4
"Agharta" by SUNN O)))
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vG0_i_Dkk2Q
this one'll test your patience if you're not already well acquainted with drone. think "textures"
VERSUS
"Melee" by Russian Circles
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=73OD3SvhwdI
It wasn't easy figuring out what to match up against Sunn O))) in the opening round of the bracket.... there's nothing quite like it.

MATCH UP 5
"Sirens of the Seven Seas" by Sirenia
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SjzoBRCGFlk
VERSUS
"Malevolence" by A Plea for Purging
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lT2TnwpsMa8
Not the video I was expecting.

You, the community here at Yahoo! Answers, nominated 350+ songs, your favorites of the year, to face-off in head-to-head battles, tournament style, to determine the best songs of this calendar year.

I ask that you listen to all of the songs... don't vote on name alone. Listen to them, weigh them, and then choose with reason, which song is the better of the two in the given match ups.
Star it, and try to get as many voters to this thing as you can.
All comments are meant to be in good humor.

If you have any trouble with any links, or any of them are broken -- let me know, and I'll fix them ASAP. Thanks.

So, THE QUESTION: which songs do you subjectively prefer of each these match ups?


Answer
Hey Waves, sorry I missed a bunch of these. I've been taking a small break from Y!A, but I'll catch up on these last few.


Self-Corruption
You Stole
Röyksopp Forever
Agharta
Malevolence (that video was pretty awesome haha)

Do you think this Columbia Fleece is fake?




Red


I have a Columbia fleece from the actual store, but I found another from the thrift store and the tags are not the same. The one from the outlet is gray and blue (the tag when you unzip) but the one from the thrift store is simply white and black like the one in the link below
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Columbia-Benton-Springs-Fleece-Jacket-Full-Zip-Ladies-Med-Lg-XL-Acropora-NEW-/110999414062?pt=US_CSA_WC_Outerwear&var=&hash=item19d814a52e

I was just wondering if it was fake or not, the quality is just about the same is my original Columbia, there's no misspellings or Chinese writing and it does not look fake. If anyone can help that'd be great!
same AS*



Answer
Were they bought on eBay, Etsy, Amazon, Asos Market, street vendors, or online store? Kiosk @ the mall? NOT REAL.
Were they bought @ Certified Columbia fleece dealer like Saks, Nordstrom, Neiman Marcus, department stores in your city? THEY'RE REAL. Those stores don't sell fake Designer Labels or brands! Outlet stores, Marshall's, TJ Maxx, Ross, etc. . . . don't sell fake merchandise, or they would have been CLOSED down. They sell the same quality products as those other bigger stores, 35-45% less, because they've been rejected by Quality Controllers. They may have a small flaw, packaging dents, scratched, or ripped, maybe the hem was off, or missing a button or belt loop . . .or who knows what they were looking for but 90% nothing wrong with them!
Where they bought @ KMart, or Target, Rite-Aid, Walgreens? Fake. Those stores sells fake products.

China, after all, is the fastest growing luxury market in the world.
The 10 Most Counterfeited Products in America http://finance.yahoo.com/news/the-10-most-counterfeited-products-in-america-180942491.html

I also suggest when paying for online purchases, don't use Paypal, it takes just once to be a victim. I was and it took 3 years to get my credit. Use your Credit Card, always, they can help you if any disputes. Example from YA!: "On the 10th of November we returned a watch I had bought for my husband, it was supposed to be an automatic but when it was taken off stopped after a short while. I phoned to tell then and they said to return it for a refund, I know it reached them on the 11th November as I tacked it by the post office. the promised refund has yet to come after several email all ignored and a few phone calls now all I can do is contact the credit card company. so customers beware".
AND beware of international shipping, they could add 3-25% extra fees, even if the price is cheap.
My merchant was from Texas, but the product was shipped from Hong Kong.
Other times, when you need to call Customer Service, they speak in foreign tongue and no one to translate them or JUST they don't answer calls.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Moving to Kuwait in 2010?




Derricks A


My fiance, who is in the military, just found out today that he will be deployed to Kuwait in 2010. When I asked if I could follow he replied that he thought I couldn't because it is considered a "hot spot" and non-military wasn't allowed. I have read online and noticed that several American people (non-military) have recently moved over there and actually enjoy it. Do you think it is possible for me to move there too so that I can be closer to my soon-to-be husband? If so, what should I expect of Kuwait?


Answer
Kuwait city (the capital) is a very cosmopolitan city and a big one, for that matter! However if he is posted to one of the outskirts like the border with Iraq, it may not be the best place for you to live in. You could live and work in Kuwait city and meet with him over weekends, etc.

The conditions for women were not that great in Kuwait in the past, but now things have changed. They actively encourage foreigners to move and work there. You may be better off doing jobs that do not require interpersonal relations (like sales) because language and women in sales are still problems. Also you may have to watch your attire when you go out, drinking and smoking are not allowed (except in some luxury hotels), english movies are edited substantively and it gets really really hot! So, your call!

Is my friend taking advantage of me and is she worth keeping around?




Princess29


A number of things happened this weekend that just annoyed me about my friend and I can't hardly begin to explain it all, one thing in particular sounds petty but it all adds up! I kept trying to have an open mind and except how she is but when it's costing me money to hang out with her plus it annoys me I can't ignore that. She blows thru her money then expects other people to just help her out! I think it's rude. She said she's going to tell her family for the 2nd year in a row that her and her husband don't have the money to "do Christmas!) how rude! Mean while she's driving a luxury car, buying unnecessary items for the baby she is expecting (because she wants it), and have drinks at starbucks like it's cheap! I mean if your on a budget this is not how you act and then to cut your families Christmas gifts before buying yourself frivolous things that's awful! She expects her family to still buy her stuff for her baby, and for all three of them for Christmas even though she apparently can't afford it! This weekend she borrowed $1.25 from me while at a yard sale because she didn't have change then later I mentioned something about it and she was like oh I owe you that...I was like yes then she said oh i'll have to pay you that then didn't and we hung out today and she didn't...i mean i know it seems petty of me but I didn't loan her money I needed cash for yardsaleing too and she just kept it! She tries this every weekend too! It's like any little bit of something she can get from me she does! It's annoying! I have to watch her because it's so bad! How unkind of her to be that way to a "friend" or anyone for that matter. When she's at my house she eats everything in site even if it's the last home baked brownie I made for my husband! She takes granola bars out of my pantry and puts them in her purse for later! & she eats my candy in my candy jar like it's going out of style. We go to yard sales every weekend together and she never brings change just a $20 bill and expects me to give her my change I went and got to be prepared for yard saleing! It's so annoying then I go to the next yard sale and she breaks her $20 and doesn't pay me back! She also does art's and crafts with me and any bit of supplies she can use of mine she does then doesn't give me anything in return, we'll go shopping together for the supplies and she'll act like she doesn't need something we are going to use then I pay for it and she uses it! She know's I have two of something she needs and she'll hint around that she "needs" it when I've told her where she can buy it but she will not buy it because she's holding out for me to give it to her or something! I try my best to put away things when she comes over so I don't get put in that situation but that seems like to much work and to much worry for me. I'm expecting my first child as she is and I don't have the patience to be paying for her things when I need to be doing stuff for my family. Her and her husband are always going broke because they don't know how to manage money and it's not effecting my family and we save money and are thrifty so I feel like because I do manage my money why should I help her out when they make double the money we do and blow it. I tried to help her by giving her coupons for grocery's that I didn't need and she is using them but I feel like that is just another thing I do for her and I get nothing in return, she has invited me for dinner at her house once and she does drive her car when we go shopping far away because I don't like highway driving (20 minute trips) but that's all she has done for me. We've been friends for a few months. What do you think? Is she taking advantage of me? Should I keep her around? The thing is I just moved here, and so did she...so neither of us have any other friends here which makes this a hard decision plus we both will have our babies in a couple months.
So today she suggest that she needs to go by the ATM like 4-5 times and says I do owe that $1.25 to you too. Then she was needing cash and she was like I really need to go to the ATM, I sat there quietly not offering any money to her, knowing she has cash because she hasn't been anywhere to spend it since this weekend, she leaves to pretend to go to the ATM I know this because she wasn't gone long enough to get to her ATM...and without getting change she hands me back the $1.25 then uses her money to buy something she wanted which you couldn't buy with a charge card. I know the whole thing was to attempt to get out of paying me and get more money from me but I didn't let her.
I am actually worried about her taking or making use of my babies items when she needs them or even when she doesn't to save herself the money...this is a BIG reason I'm wondering what to do now while I still have time before the babies get here! I need advice!



Answer
Good Lord woman!




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Sunday, May 18, 2014

Where do Arnex watches come from?




M


I couldnt find any information on them except their listings on ebay. I would like to know who made them, when they were made, what they are valued at, etc. thanks :)
* i was thinking of their earlier watches (as in at least 50 years old). thanks



Answer
They used to be a luxury swiss brand, but have sold the rights to the name and now they are cheap watch to be sold in airplane magazines and eBay. I would recommend something like a Rockwell watch.

www.rockwelltime.com

They are not super luxury, but great watches that few people know about yet - that is if you like to be the 1st on the block to have something no one else does.

Top Watch Brands For The Price!?!?




Partyparty


I need a brand name luxury watch for a fancy event but I'm not willing to spend the money like a rolex so what are the best brands for the price!?
Thanks!!!!!



Answer
Fossil will make you look like you are a high school student. Only young people wear them.

A fake Rolex will be spotted immediately by anyone who owns the real thing. Besides most fake Rolex stop running when you least expect it. You will only discredit yourself.

You can go to Amazon and buy an Invicta for about $100. Most look very much like Rolex sports models.

You can also go to Khols'. They have many fine watches that cost under $200, and they look distinguished. No they are not Rolex, Omega, etc, but they look just as nice, and keep time.

If you wear a Rolex, only another Rolex owner will even notice it.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Is a luxury watch like Rolex worth so much money?




John


Why do luxury watches like Rolex cost so much money. They look kinda plain and the mechanical movements don't keep time as well as a their super cheap quartz counterparts. What then is the justification for spending over 5000 dollars for a regular steel watch?


Answer
They are hand made. They last the rest of your life (assuming they get regular service). The equivalent Chinese watch lasts only a few months.

Even the cheapest stainless steel Rolex costs about $7,000.

A Rolex is vanity. I own one because I like it. But many people choose to have children. Children are vanity. I choose not to have that kind of vanity. Thankfully my girlfriend is on board with that. Smart phones are also vanity. I have no need for that. Everyone has their own vanity.

Also a Rolex is something earned. It is not about the watch. It is about the work it took to make the money to buy it.

Where can I purchase good reliable luxury watch?




Hitrox


Ebay is too expsensive and I am looking for another wristwatch shop.


Answer
It is VERY VERY foolish to buy a watch anyplace online except for well known vendors like Amazon, or someone like that.

If you search online and you find 25 watch vendors, I can almost bet you that 20 of them are Chinese scam sites, and three are a Indian scam sites.

For example, "aanaya" (the answer below mine) is trying to get you to go to a scam site in India. Do not believe me, look here: http://www.scamadviser.com/check-website/retailshoppee.com Odds are "aanaya" owns the site, and is just spamming. Odds are "annaya's" answer will be deleted.

"andi" is also sending you to a site in India. I do not know for sure if the site is safe. http://www.scamadviser.com/check-website/titanworld.com

www.scamadvisor.com is your friend.

Anyway, if the watches on ebay are too expensive, for what reason do you feel the need for a luxury watch? I think you have your priorities all wrong.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers