Saturday, March 22, 2014

Will This Make Me Tan?




Diego


Im already a little tan but i want to have a dark tan i bought this :
http://www.amazon.com/Australian-Gold-Spray-Bronzer-Ounce/dp/B0013IT86U/ref=pd_sim_bt_1



Answer
I'll let the experts tell you about it.

SELF-TANNERS: "I've had many patients who think these products somehow offer UV protection or that they give them a 'base tan' so they won't burn," says Dr. Hale, a NYC M.D., dermatologist and vice chair of the Skin Cancer Foundation. "'If I have skin cancer, you'll just remove it, and I'll be OK'. But the color that self-tanners create on your skin is completely artificial. But a lot of young women use these products so they don't look pale when they go to the beach to tan." 86% of women surveyed who use self-tanners reported they'd also baked in the sun, and 36% admitted they'd also used tanning beds (a leading cause of melanoma!) at least once in the past year. Australian study confirms that sunless tanning likely did not reduce the amount of UV exposure women get.

~ Glamour May 2012

TAN OBSESSION: "When I see a woman with bronzed skin, I look at it the way you might picture the inside of a smoker's lungs," says Dr. Ellen Marmur, MD., associate professor of dermatology @ the Mt. Sinai Medical Center in NYC.

~ Glamour May 2012

Whether they're from airbrushing, mist on booths, or aerosol cans, a new problem is starting to reveal itself and that is the atomized inhalation of the solutions. Check the ingredients . . . so why would you want that stay on your skin, even for a minute?

According to the FDAâs good manufacturing processes and to the extent that these ingredients can be avoided, DHA may contain up to 3 parts per million of arsenic, 20 parts per million of lead, and 20 parts per million of iron.

Did you know that DHA (Dihydroxyacetone) is allowed to contain arsenic, a poison, and lead a known carcinogen? Also the FDA does not police the manufacture of DHA and assay its contents. In other words batches of DHA that are produced by a host of refineries are exempt from certification.
. . . . .
Sources: FDA & Vogue 2011

Lotions does not protect you from nasty, painful burns. Lotions does not protect you from skin cancer. Lotions does not protect you from skin diseases. Lotions does not protect you from discolorations - permanently. And lotions does not protect you from skin tags, freckles, moles, they will only get larger, darker, and bumpier as they are exposed from UV.

Watch Mirror, Mirror when the evil queen played by Julia Roberts wanted to look as fair as the princess played by Lily Collins. I came from a vacay in Ireland, and many of the people there working in the profession (luxury hotels and banks, etc.) have beautiful white complexion!
This is what beautiful flawless skin looks like:
http://www.glamourmagazine.co.uk/dos-and-donts/hairstyle-pictures-today/2012/05/15/zooey-deschanel-side-swept-chocolate-curls
Google Liv Tyler. http://www.google.com/search?client=safari&rls=en&q=liv+tyler&ie=UTF-8&oe=UTF-8

I've been protecting myself from the sun since age 9, but no matter, I got Discoid Lupus. Google that one. It was like someone punched my chin and it gave a purplish mark. It took 12 years for that to fade, so now I'm using a wide brim hat or umbrella for protection. Gene Simmons & Shannon both have been seen hold an umbrella during an event. They were invented before beauty products, for a reason. Google also Bullous Pemphegoid, photos, another skin disorder.

Take the Skin Picture Quiz - Identify These Common Skin Conditions on MedicineNet.

Tanning comes & go, unless you do them everyday 24/7 for the rest of your life. But in the end the only thing you'll benefit is either moles, freckles, skin tags or discolorations from sunscreens, lotions, etc. and the more you do, the more they get larger, darker & bumpier. My nephew had a membership in a tanning bed salon for a year. After it expired, he stopped, now he's as white as before he began.

Tanning, is a result for 'damaged skin' and no products can reverse you from skin cancer or damaged skin, may prevent you from pre-mature aging, but that's part of the billion dollar beauty industry.

What's the best fake tan for really fair skin?




Kjersti


I'm really pale and I just get sunburned... I'm looking for the best fake tan for my pale skin that doesn't make me orange or too dark (: The price doesn't matter.


Answer
I'll let the experts tell you about it.
SELF-TANNERS: "I've had many patients who think these products somehow offer UV protection or that they give them a 'base tan' so they won't burn," says Dr. Hale, a NYC M.D., dermatologist and vice chair of the Skin Cancer Foundation. "'If I have skin cancer, you'll just remove it, and I'll be OK'. But the color that self-tanners create on your skin is completely artificial. But a lot of young women use these products so they don't look pale when they go to the beach to tan." 86% of women surveyed who use self-tanners reported they'd also baked in the sun, and 36% admitted they'd also used tanning beds (a leading cause of melanoma!) at least once in the past year. Australian study confirms that sunless tanning likely did not reduce the amount of UV exposure women get.

~ Glamour May 2012

TAN OBSESSION: "When I see a woman with bronzed skin, I look at it the way you might picture the inside of a smoker's lungs," says Dr. Ellen Marmur, MD., associate professor of dermatology @ the Mt. Sinai Medical Center in NYC.

~ Glamour May 2012

Tanning comes & go, unless you do them everyday 24/7 for the rest of your life. But in the end the only thing you'll benefit is either moles, freckles or discolorations from sunscreens, lotions, etc. and the more you do, the more they get larger, darker & bumpier. My nephew had a membership in a tanning bed salon for a year. After it expired, he stopped, now he's as white as before he began.

Tanning, is a result for 'damaged skin' and no products can reverse you from skin cancer or damaged skin, may prevent you from pre-mature aging, but that's part of the billion dollar beauty industry.
A new study conducted by the Indiana University School of Medicine Department of Dermatology has found that tanning bed exposure can be dangerous when tanners self-diagnose skin problems and use the radiation to treat skin eruptions. The study specifically found that a tanning bed user that used the radiation to treat a mild skin rash caused by an ibuprofen allergy developed a much more severe reaction called toxic epidermal necrolysis (TEN). When left untreated, TEN can be fatal.
Melanoma is the leading cause of death from skin disease. An estimated 76,259 new cases of skin cancer will be reported particularly among women in their 20's & 30's, and that's 6,020 more than 2011, people died from the disease, according to the National Cancer Institute. Two million people are diagnosed with skin cancer in the US each year, according to the EPA's Sun-Wise Program. That's more than breast, colon, lung and prostate cancer cases combine!

Lotions does not protect you from nasty, painful burns. Lotions does not protect you from skin cancer. Lotions does not protect you from skin diseases. Lotions does not protect you from discolorations - permanently. And lotions does not protect you from skin tags, freckles, moles, they will only get larger, darker, and bumpier as they are exposed from UV.

To get the level of SPF you see on the label, you have to spread the lotion on like a layer of vanilla frosting; that's the thickness used in Food & Drug Administration tests. "So your SPF 30 is really a 10." says Steven Q Wang, M.D. director of dermatologic surgery and dermatology @ Memorial Sloan-Ketterng Cancer Center in Basking Ridge, NJ and author of Beating Melanoma. So don't skim: Frost that cupcake!"
~ Vogue May or June 2011. Glamour May 2012.

Watch Mirror, Mirror when the evil queen played by Julia Roberts wanted to look as fair as the princess played by Lily Collins. I came from a vacay in Ireland, and many of the people there working in the profession (luxury hotels and banks, etc.) have beautiful white complexion!
This is what beautiful flawless skin looks like:
http://www.glamourmagazine.co.uk/dos-and-donts/hairstyle-pictures-today/2012/05/15/zooey-deschanel-side-swept-chocolate-curls
http://www.glamourmagazine.co.uk/dos-and-donts/hairstyle-pictures-today/2012/05/14/kate-middleton-red-carpet-updo

I've been protecting myself from the sun since age 9, but no matter, I got Discoid Lupus. Google that one. It was like someone punched my chin and it gave a purplish mark. It took 12 years for that to fade, so now I'm using a wide brim hat or umbrella for protection. Gene Simmons & Shannon both have been seen hold an umbrella during an event. They were invented before beauty products, for a reason. Google also Bullous Pemphegoid, photos, another skin disorder.

Take the Skin Picture Quiz - Identify These Common Skin Conditions on MedicineNet.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Is there a limit on how tan some people can get?




Chelsea


I'm kind of pale and can burn easily at first if I don't wear spf, but once I get a base tan I won't really burn anymore. However, when I get that "base tan" it seems like I don't really get darker at all afterwards? Not even a sunburn or anything. So I was just curious if there is a limit on how tan a person can get?
Thanks, any answers are appreciated!



Answer
TAN OBSESSION: "When I see a woman with bronzed skin, I look at it the way you might picture the inside of a smoker's lungs," says Dr. Ellen Marmur, MD., associate professor of dermatology @ the Mt. Sinai Medical Center in NYC.

~ Glamour May 2012

Tanning comes & go, unless you do them everyday 24/7. But in the end the only thing you'll benefit is either moles, freckles, skin tags or discolorations from sunscreens, lotions, etc. and the more you do, the more they get larger, darker & bumpier, even skin diseases like Bullous Pemphegoid or Discoid Lupus. Like exercising, your muscles will sag, when suddenly you stopped, same with getting a tan, they will fade.

Tanning, is a result for 'damaged skin' and no products can reverse you from skin cancer or damaged skin, may prevent you from pre-mature aging, but that's part of the billion dollar beauty industry. To get super than you will have to be tanning for @ least 60 years, George Hamilton & Tom Jones are two examples, who ARE super tan! Google them.

Melanoma is the leading cause of death from skin disease. An estimated 76,259 new cases of skin cancer will be reported particularly among women in their 20's & 30's, and that's 6,020 more than 2011, people died from the disease, according to the National Cancer Institute. Two million people are diagnosed with skin cancer in the US each year, according to the EPA's Sun-Wise Program. That's more than breast, colon, lung and prostate cancer cases combine!

Lotions does not protect you from nasty, painful burns. Lotions does not protect you from skin cancer. Lotions does not protect you from skin diseases. Lotions does not protect you from discolorations - permanently. And lotions does not protect you from skin tags, freckles, moles, they will only get larger, darker, and bumpier as they are exposed from UV.

Watch Mirror, Mirror when the evil queen played by Julia Roberts wanted to look as fair as the princess played by Lily Collins. I came from a vacay in Ireland, and many of the people there working in the profession (luxury hotels and banks, etc.) have beautiful white complexion!
This is what beautiful flawless skin looks like:
http://www.glamourmagazine.co.uk/dos-and-donts/hairstyle-pictures-today/2012/05/15/zooey-deschanel-side-swept-chocolate-curls
Google Liv Tyler. http://www.google.com/search?client=safari&rls=en&q=liv+tyler&ie=UTF-8&oe=UTF-8
Or Google Catherine Zeta Jones - she's 42 with beautiful skin.
Watch The Duchess - Keira Knightly has flawless complexion - a natural beauty.

I've been protecting myself from the sun since age 9, but no matter, I got Discoid Lupus. Google that one. It was like someone punched my chin and it gave a purplish mark. It took 12 years for that to fade, so now I'm using a wide brim hat or umbrella for protection. Gene Simmons & Shannon both have been seen hold an umbrella during an event. They were invented before beauty products, for a reason. Google also Bullous Pemphegoid, photos, another skin disorder.

Take the Skin Picture Quiz - Identify These Common Skin Conditions on MedicineNet.

Weird smell when I wear fake tan!?




Karly


When i'm not wearing fake tan, i don't have this problem. I get up every day and put deodorant on just like most people do.. But when i've got fake tan on (no matter what brand) it makes my armpits smell so weird! I remember once after I had a spray tan done, the woman told me not to put any deodorant on for the first few hours because it would make me smell weird and I thought to myself "how could it do that!" so I just ignored it but now I believe it! I'm not going to wake up and put no deodorant on so what do I do? Either don't put any on and stink, or put some on but still stink! It's a really weird smell?! i plaster myself in deodorant because I don't understand why it does it, the liquid one and spray, yet it doesn't change nothing! Anyone have any ideas and what can I do to stop it? I'm obsessed with fake tan as i'm naturally pale but i hate this smell so much.


Answer
According to the FDAâs good manufacturing processes and to the extent that these ingredients can be avoided, DHA may contain up to 3 parts per million of arsenic, 20 parts per million of lead, and 20 parts per million of iron.

Did you know that DHA (Dihydroxyacetone) is allowed to contain arsenic, a poison, and lead a known carcinogen? Also the FDA does not police the manufacture of DHA and assay its contents. In other words batches of DHA that are produced by a host of refineries are exempt from certification.
. . . . .
Sources: FDA & Vogue 2011

SELF-TANNERS: "I've had many patients who think these products somehow offer UV protection or that they give them a 'base tan' so they won't burn," says Dr. Hale, a NYC M.D., dermatologist and vice chair of the Skin Cancer Foundation. "'If I have skin cancer, you'll just remove it, and I'll be OK'. But the color that self-tanners create on your skin is completely artificial. But a lot of young women use these products so they don't look pale when they go to the beach to tan." 86% of women surveyed who use self-tanners reported they'd also baked in the sun, and 36% admitted they'd also used tanning beds (a leading cause of melanoma!) at least once in the past year. Australian study confirms that sunless tanning likely did not reduce the amount of UV exposure women get.

~ Glamour May 2012

TAN OBSESSION: "When I see a woman with bronzed skin, I look at it the way you might picture the inside of a smoker's lungs," says Dr. Ellen Marmur, MD., associate professor of dermatology @ the Mt. Sinai Medical Center in NYC.

~ Glamour May 2012

Find another kind of obsession. Watch Mirror, Mirror when the evil queen played by Julia Roberts wanted to look as fair as the princess played by Lily Collins. I came from a vacay in Ireland, and many of the people there working in the profession (luxury hotels and banks, etc.) have beautiful white complexion!
This is what beautiful flawless skin looks like:
http://www.glamourmagazine.co.uk/dos-and-donts/hairstyle-pictures-today/2012/05/15/zooey-deschanel-side-swept-chocolate-curls
Google Liv Tyler. http://www.google.com/search?client=safari&rls=en&q=liv+tyler&ie=UTF-8&oe=UTF-8
Or Google Catherine Zeta Jones - she's 42 with beautiful skin.

I've been protecting myself from the sun since age 9, but no matter, I got Discoid Lupus. Google that one. It was like someone punched my chin and it gave a purplish mark. It took 12 years for that to fade, so now I'm using a wide brim hat or umbrella for protection. Gene Simmons & Shannon both have been seen hold an umbrella during an event. They were invented before beauty products, for a reason. Google also Bullous Pemphegoid, photos, another skin disorder.

Take the Skin Picture Quiz - Identify These Common Skin Conditions on MedicineNet.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Why are there very high levels of feminism in Canada, Australia but not US, UK?




Biker


If you watch public debates in these countries, you'll see that feminism is embraced in the first 2 but not as much in the latter 2, even when culturally they're very similar.

I think I know why. Its because affirmative action and other such feminist entitlements are luxuries that only 'privileged' countries can have.

Canada & Australia are obviously privileged because they have a huge country with very little people. If UK tries to restrict their economy with the same pro-women/poor/elderly policies, they'd go bust as they're already becoming.
@Yacofee- that's a biased statistic from a feminist website. These are the real statistics from credible sources
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_countries_by_GDP_(PPP)_per_capita
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_countries_by_HDI
However, it is true that life is easier in Nordic countries, CA and AU compared to US, UK, Germany or Japan. Its common sense, when you have lots of natural resources you can afford to restrict your human resource.

That's why I called them privileged.



Answer
Feminism is in a correlative relation with how leftist-oriented a country is; hence feminism in Scandinavian countries > AU and CA > UK and USA.

So the question is why are CA and AU more generally leftist and the UK and USA more centrist and rightist. I think it's actually impossible to answer that question. It could have gone either way. It's a result of circumstances and even coincidences that had happened at different points in history.


Edit:
Leftist-leaning countries give women more privilieges over men, though self-entitled princesses see this as something normal, ie. "treating women with more respect"; centrist countries are the ones that are egalitarian - Austria, Switzerland.

Iceland bankrupted a few years ago. 'Nuff said.
Leftism has shown itself for what it's worth in the past 60 years or so; only a fool can advocate for it.

What is the name of this Monty Python skit?




I LOVE CHE


It features two men and one guy introduces his name as some made up word, and says thats how its pronounced. all the while this man is wearing glasses and a very large nose.


Answer
I think that's "Raymond Luxury Yacht (pronounced Throatwobbler Mangrove)" and he's in a couple of episodes.

http://uk.imdb.com/character/ch0027524/

These are the episodes on YouTube.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tyQvjKqXA0Y
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ehKGlT2EW1Q&feature=related




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Friday, March 21, 2014

What makes a Rolex brand watch so special?




Govnah.


And why do they cost so damn much D:


Answer
There are a few reasons:

1. Rolex has an extremely large advertising budget.

2. Rolex essentially invented the sports luxury watch (Diving, Spelunking, Racing, Climbing).

3. They maintain their value. Unlike Gucci and other pure fashion-luxury brands, a Rolex will continue to gain value. They have maintained their value even during this recession. So as long as you can keep from breaking or losing your watch, you can always sell it - so it's not really like you're out $3,000+.

4. It's easy to identify as a fashion symbol.

Are Invicta Russian diver watches really worth it? Are they better than a rolex?

Q.


Answer
It depends on what you need. In a luxury case a rolex is better but in a diving environment the Invicta is better. As in everything, it's what you want that is considered good.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Thursday, March 20, 2014

If the millionaires and billionaires are getting richer, the middle class shrinking & number of poor rising?




jesswzmn


what would you say is causing this?

Please dont deny these facts, because I have been reading stories stating them for years now to indicate what is going on in the USA.

So hopefully your answer will be what I am asking...and explanation as to what is the cause of these trends. I would also love to hear from Democrats and Republicans on this.



Answer
This is a very complicated question, involving many factors. You are right, the middle class in the U.S. is slowly shrinking.

Causes include rapidly mounting debt (both personal and governmental deficit spending) that has sustained our standard of living since factories and other productive jobs began to move offshore in the 1970's, increased competition from rapidly industrializing countries such as China and India, tax policies, &c.

The golden decades after WWII were very unique for the United States. Europe had blown itself to pieces during the war, and the U.S. was the only major industrialized country that was left standing. Countries like China and India had not yet begun to industrialize, and the U.S. was the only other game in town. Our factories supplied materials to the whole world: our companies supplied the products that rebuilt much of Europe in the years after the war, and also fed the early industrialization of the 2nd world nations. As we moved into the midst Cold War, Europe continued to rely on the U.S. for most of its defense infrastructure.

By the 1970's, America's post war boom was slowly wearing off. Europe had rebuilt itself, and in the decades ahead, rather than being a source of easy business, countries such as India and China slowly became competitors as their own industries developed. Real wages probably peaked around this time.

Our own industry slowly began to move offshore as our "free trade" policies, which had benefited us in the past, bit us in the rear. Companies found that workers in other newly industrialized countries were willing to do the same work for less than the overpaid American workers.

We tried many things to sustain our standard of living. First, wives went into the workforce. By the 1990's, women with families were entering the workforce not because they wanted to, but because it now took two wage-earners to afford a standard of living that previously took only one wage-earner.

In the 1950's it really was possible for a man to work at a semi-skilled job and support a stay-at-home wife, a car, a house, and several children (not in luxury -- but support them nonetheless). Today if both husband and wife do not have a college degree, they will struggle to do this, even with both of them working full time. In this sense, our standard of living has already dropped significantly.

Beginning in the middle to late 1980's, even the addition of a second member of the family to the workforce was not enough to stop declining living standards, and Americans began to rely for the first time on large amounts of debt. Personal debt has risen continuously and steeply since the 1980's as Americans seek to sustain a standard of living that is no longer sustainable.

Government debt increased rapidly as well. The fact is that the federal government has promised the people far more in Social Security and Medicare than it will ever be able to pay in the future, and already the federal government is borrowing $0.40 for ever dollar it spends.

Americans are on a crash course with a very cold reality. The standard of living that we attained in the years after WWII was not, and is not sustainable. Think about it: why should the United States have a standard of living that is so much higher than the rest of the world? To begin with, it was due to the reasons stated. Now, we simply sustain it with enormous amounts of national debt.

Both Democrats and Republicans have made their share of blunders along the way, but they are fighting forces larger than any one political party.

If you are truly interested in economics and the causes of the current economic predicament, and the rising disparity between wealthy and poor, I strongly recommend that you watch the "Crash Course" (aptly named) by Dr. Chris Martenson. You can watch the 45 minute version or the full 2.5 hour version. It is freely available here: http://www.chrismartenson.com/crashcourse

can someone send me plot summary of the movie from Wikipedia please?




K2010


just copy and paste please, no links
I have Netgar blocking word sex so I cannot look it up myself
It is "sex and the city II"
nothing is graphic there or it won't be on Wikipedia
thanks



Answer
Set two years after the first film, the film begins with Carrie (Sarah Jessica Parker), Samantha (Kim Cattrall), Charlotte (Kristin Davis) and Miranda (Cynthia Nixon) meeting up with each other at a shop in New York which turns into a flashback to how Carrie first meets Samantha, Charlotte and Miranda in 1986 in New York City.

The film then jumps to the present, two years after the events of the first film. At the Connecticut same-sex wedding of Stanford Blatch (Willie Garson) and Anthony Marentino (Mario Cantone), Liza Minnelli appears to officiate the wedding vows and sings Beyoncé's "Single Ladies (Put a Ring on It)".
The four friends now have lives that are more stressful than before: All are married except Samantha, who is now 52 and trying to keep her libido alive with hormones while dealing with menopause. Miranda quits her job after the new managing partner disrespects her once too often. Charlotte's two children are a handful and she's worried that Harry is attracted to their buxom Irish nanny, Erin (Alice Eve).

Carrie's marriage to Mr. Big (Chris Noth) has settled down, though they differ on how to spend their spare time: she loves to go out, he would prefer to stay home every night, eating take-out meals and watching television. For their anniversary, Carrie gives Mr. Big a vintage Rolex watch engraved with a romantic message, while he, much to her dismay, shows her a new television in their bedroom as his gift, which Big says they can use to watch old movies together as they did on vacation. Carrie is disappointed, as she had hoped for jewelry as a gift. She asks to spend some personal time alone in her old apartment, but Big enjoys the time to himself even more than she does, and to Carrie's dismay, asks to make it a weekly occurrence.

Meanwhile, Samantha has been approached by an Arab sheikh to devise a PR campaign for his business. He offers to fly her and her friends on an all-expenses-paid luxury vacation to Abu Dhabi. The girls happily accept, although Carrie is worried about the separation from Big and Charlotte is worried about leaving her husband alone with the nanny. Only Miranda, unfettered by a job for the first time in her life, plunges enthusiastically into studying Arabic and planning sightseeing.

Upon entering Abu Dhabi, Samantha's hormone-enhancing drugs are confiscated under UAE law. This renders her devoid of estrogen; to her great dismay, her famous libido goes dead, unaroused even by Australian men in Speedo swimwear. Charlotte tries to call Harry every few minutes. Miranda revels in the luxury surrounding her, while Carrie befriends her manservant, Gaurau (Raza Jaffrey), and learns of his long distance marriage - he can only afford to see his wife back in India once every few months.

While out shopping at the local souk with Miranda, Carrie runs into her former lover, Aidan (John Corbett). He proposes dinner à deux at his hotel, but she is noncommittal. The next day, however, she is crushed at reading a negative critique of her new book in The New Yorker, and decides to meet Aidan for dinner, although Charlotte cautions her not to play with fire. The dinner is very enjoyable, with the two discussing old times. Aidan remarks on the ways Carrie is "not like other women", pointing out that when they were engaged, she would only wear her engagement ring on a chain around her neck; now that she's married, she still isn't wearing a diamond on her ring finger, only her wedding ring. In a moment of remembered passion, they kiss. Carrie runs away in a panic and returns to the hotel.

Meanwhile, back at the hotel, Miranda and Charlotte have drinks together and discuss the difficulties of motherhood. Miranda admits painfully that being a mother is not enough for her and that she misses her job. Charlotte confesses her guilt at enjoying her time away from her daughters and her frustration with trying to be the perfect mother at all times. She drinks so many cocktails to bolster her courage to be honest with Miranda that she becomes very tipsy.

At this point, Carrie bursts into the room, crying, "I played with fire!". After summoning Samantha, she tells her friends about the kiss, and asks them whether or not she should tell Big, as she says they have no secrets between them. Miranda reflects on the events of the previous film, when her husband, Steve (David Eigenberg), told her about his affair and how in retrospect, while it helped clear his conscience, she is not sure that knowing was worth the pain she went through. Charlotte is too drunk to be any help, but Carrie already knows where she stands. Samantha counsels Carrie to wait and sleep on it before deciding anything.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Wednesday, March 19, 2014

What do you think of the opening sequence of my screenplay?




BeatnikBla


*Copyright 2011

HENRY is the latest breed of aspiring actor. His craving for love and recognition has left him crippled on an impossible path towards stardom. Desperate for purpose in his life, a disillusioned Henry continues on convinced his "big break" is just around the corner, even though every fiber of his being screams for escape. In the cesspool of long suffering and desperate artists that make up the majority of a starving Hollywood, Henry stands out from the rest, a ticking timebomb on the verge of mental collapse. How he will handle his unavoidable demise even Henry won't dare imagine.

"He who conquers himself has won a great victory than he who conquers a city." - Proverbs

Recommended song for opening of film: "King's Crossing" by Elliott Smith:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ezerLW5jPwI

FADE IN:

EXT. HOLLYWOOD HILLS - TWILIGHT

The film opens on a ESTABLISHING SHOT of downtown Los Angeles. The skyscrapers and vast city landscape are sillohuetted in darkness. The sky is slightly illuminated with a dark blue glow and the sun is about to crack the horizon.

CUT TO:

EXT. RICH NEIGHBORHOOD, BEVERLY HILLS - DAWN

An upscale neighborhood street lined with tall and skinny palm trees is in view near Sunset and Gale. Mercedes Benz, SUV's and other expensive vehicles are parked on the street and some on driveways. Sprinklers spray water on fresh green lawns outside the mansions.

CUT TO:

EXT. RODEO DRIVE - EARLY MORNING

On Rodeo Drive the fancy shops and clothing botiques have not yet opened. The street is mostly empty baring a few luxury cars. An attractive young woman in exercise clothes can be seen walking her white maltese near the Beverly Wilshire Hotel.

CUT TO:

EXT. MAGAZINE STAND - MORNING

A middle aged jewish man dressed in street clothes and yamaka, restocks his magazine stand near the corner of Pico and Robertson.

BACK TO:

EXT. HOLLYWOOD HILLS - MORNING

Overlooking the city towards downtown again, TIME LAPSES and the sun rises quickly behind the city skyline. The clouds and smog tainted sky glow with glorious hues of blue, pink, and orange. As the sky brightens the city awakens with increased activity; more cars fill the streets, sidewalks fill with pedestrian activity and large groups wait at bus stops. Main streets and avenues bustle with traffic, and red double decker Hollywood Star Line buses tour the city. The time lapse merges slowly into normal time at the peak of this activity.

BACK TO:

EXT. MAGAZINE STAND - AFTERNOON

The same jewish man has a couple of customers in line now and other pedestrians browsing his magazine stand. The large selection of magazines is revealed as we pan across the rectangular stand. After nearing the end of the stand the latest issue of TIME magazine becomes the focus. On the cover, a silohuetted figure of a man steps out of a limosuine and onto a red carpet with lightbulbs flashing. The TIME magazine headline reads: "A New Hollywood Star?"

SMASH CUT TO:

EXT. - SUNSET BOULEVARD - AFTERNOON

Time appears to stop as a black limosuine emerges amongst traffic in slow motion from right to left while pedestrians and traffic LAPSE in time. Behind the wheel, HENRY, a handsome, 25 year old limo driver and afghanistan combat veteran, hides behind black sunglasses smirking with the window down.
We observe Henry's moving Limo from different angles as he drives along: aerial view, wide shots and side shots interspersed with panoramic shots of the Hollywood Hills, surrounding area, L.A, and iconic Hollywood sign.

BACK TO:

EXT. - MAGAZINE STAND - AFTERNOON

CLOSE ON the TIME magazine with the silohuetted figure stepping out of the limo lying flat on the cashier counter as a business woman in beige coat and heels pulls out her wallet to pay the Jewish man while others wait in line behind her.

INTERCUT TO:

EXT. - SUNSET BOULEVARD. - AFTERNOON

The street pavement flows by like a river as the wheels of Henry's black limosuine spin round and round at regular speed. We slowly zoom out as Henry's black limosuine pulls away heading west on a bustling Sunset Boulevard towards Bel Aire. Cue Title:

***You think there's too much description? And how do you think the song fits? Thanks : )



Answer
- Yes, there's too much description - far too much. This isn't a novel - you don't have to describe what grass or a sunrise looks like.
- Don't use CUT TO, BACK TO etc. unless you're making the movie yourself or you've been asked to write a shooting script.
- Don't use TWILIGHT, DAWN, MORNING, AFTERNOON. Stick to DAY and NIGHT - this is basic info for the team that will light the film. Any further description of time of day goes in the action lines.
- Don't use 'the film opens', 'can be seen', 'is in view'. Just say what we see. We know we're gonna see it, otherwise you wouldn't have written it.
- ONLY say what we see (or hear). How do we know Henry is an Afghanistan combat veteran?
- Don't direct the camera.
- Keep action paragraphs to four lines max, preferably shorter. New camera shot, new line.
- All leading men are handsome - you don't have to say it.
- Don't cue the title.
- Don't write the soundtrack. I don't know the song. If I'd hated the song or the artist it'd be an even worse result. You're the storyteller, not the director or the soundtrack guy. Stick to telling the story.
- Don't say what people wear unless it's important to the plot or shows character. You're not the costume designer either.
- I don't get the point of the time lapse scene.

Very quick rewrite - pay attention:


FADE IN:

EXT. DOWNTOWN LOS ANGELES - NIGHT

The sky begins to lighten, silhouetting the L.A. skyline.

EXT. BEVERLY HILLS - DAY

An upscale street near Sunset and Gale. Expensive vehicles, parked on the street and on driveways, glint in the light of the sunrise.

Sprinklers water the lawns of mansions.

EXT. RODEO DRIVE - DAY

The stores and boutiques are still closed, the street empty except for the occasional luxury car.

An attractive young woman in exercise clothes walks her white maltese past the Beverly Wilshire Hotel.

EXT. MAGAZINE STAND - DAY

A middle aged JEWISH MAN restocks his magazine stand near the corner of Pico and Robertson.

EXT. DOWNTOWN LOS ANGELES - DAY

A hot afternoon now. The city streets bustle with activity.

EXT. MAGAZINE STAND - DAY

Customers browse the magazine stand. Someone picks up a copy of TIME magazine.

On the cover, a silhouetted male figure steps out of a limousine and onto a red carpet with lightbulbs flashing. The headline reads: "A New Hollywood Star?"

EXT. SUNSET BOULEVARD - DAY

A black limousine crawls through traffic. The limo driver is HENRY, 25, hiding behind black sunglasses and smirking.

The limo moves through L.A. and past the iconic HOLLYWOOD sign.

EXT. MAGAZINE STAND - DAY

The TIME magazine lies flat on the counter.

A business woman pulls out her wallet to pay. Others wait in line behind her.

EXT. SUNSET BOULEVARD - DAY

The wheels of Henry's limo go round and round as it drives and drives.

The limo heads west on a bustling Sunset Boulevard towards Bel Aire.

(This doesn't seem to make sense as he started in Sunset Boulevard, drove round loads, and now he's back...)

Personally I don't think there's enough here to tell if it's a good opener. It hasn't caught my interest really, but then it is only about a page. On the whole, you need to pay less attention to directing fancy visuals and more to telling the story.

Hope this helps, anyway. I'm a sold screenwriter so hopefully I know what I'm talking about. Good luck.

Do you think the game of baseball has been more successful or less successful following the 1994-95 strike?

Q. Everyone is entitled to own opinions.

If you said the game of baseball has been less successful after the 1994-95, what did you like about the game better than where's it's at today?

If you think it's been more successful, what do you like better about today's game compared to the events before the strike?

I need some insight on this because it was an infamous event. But at the time the strike occurred, I was a little kid and didn't understand what was going on.


Answer
Much depends upon what are the defined success metrics.

Revenue is WAY up.

Attendance set a record in 2007, just under 80 million tickets, and while seasons since have dipped a bit, that's as easily explicable by the economy at large than by any meaningful loss of baseball's popularity.

The wave of new parks has continued unabated. (It's only running out of steam because there's only two teams left that really want a new yard.)

There's been two more teams added since the strike.

The expanded postseason and interleague play appear to be maintaining their popularity.

Asian talent, while still barely a trickle, is now established.

TV ratings -- man, I do NOT comprehend why anyone outside of the television industry gives a damn about these things. The entertainment market has been massively fragmented over the past 15 years ("World Wide Web" was barely an infant in '94) -- there are more channels, more programming, and more semi-good programming at that, than ever before; plus television technology has disseminated to many more outlets. The result -- more eyeballs are watching baseball (or anything, really) than ever, but the percentage or points allotted to those eyeballs are smaller because the whole pie grew faster than just the MLB segment. This is not being a problem. Goodness, we now have MLB NETWORK!

Not to be overlooked, there is now a comprehensive steroids policy in place, which appears to be working.

And -- this one, to me, is a critical point -- the 1994-95 nuclear winter taught baseball's powers-that-be an important lesson which has not been forgotten. Hence, the subsequent CBA negotiations, in 2002 and 2007, came and went without work stoppages, and largely without contention or rancor. And early signs are that the 2011 renewal will similarly go smoothly. This has been a VERY GOOD thing.

Consequent with those CBAs since the strike, MLB also has effectual revenue sharing and a functional payroll luxury tax. No team has gone bankrupt (except on paper, as legal maneuvers; no one is out of business). Of the 30 teams today, only four teams have not been to the postseason since the strike -- but there's no helping some franchises.

Overall, yes, I'd say Major League Baseball is more successful now than before the strike. Painful as it was, it did propagate short- and long-term positive effects.

Things could be better, but they are not at all bad.

And for those who simply want to lay curses upon all houses of blame, note that Fehr no longer runs the union, and Selig claims he'll really retire in 2012. So the primary actors, or at least the front men, will soon pass into history.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

I have about 8,000 U.S. dollars to invest? Im open and willing to anything I don't mind taking risk.?

Q. I have connections in China to get whatever I want basically. I was thinking getting some fake rolex, breitling, ect. But I dont know what demand would be for it. So I would only spend a couple thousand. Im also considering buying some land in Jordan because it is a rapidly developing country. Stocks? Is obvious but im in no way an expert.


Answer
Fake designer goods don't appreciate in value in the same way that an investment in stocks, precious metals or commodities do. It's still fake and possesses no real value as a luxury good even if you can induce someone to buy it based on the value of the real thing.

The value of land in Jordan should be tied to the expansion of it's economy and the rate at which private sector jobs are created at levels which increase disposable income. New housing for sale or rent, to which purpose your land might be devoted, depends upon an expanding economy that produces jobs and disposable income plus credit. You need to know more about the Jordanian economy and how easy or difficult it to develop land for commercial, industrial or residential purposes before tying up your money there.

Stock markets are far more liquid than land, but they are also more volatile, generally speaking. If this is a possibility, then try Jim Cramer's show on CNBC called "Mad Money." He is a bona fide stock picker with decades of experience. Watching his show will expose you to stock market realities and risks which you need to know about before you decide to invest. And this is true whether you invest your money in companies listed on the New York Stock Exchange or the stock exchanges in the UK, France, Germany, Japan et cetera.

Good luck.

Have Two Questions Concerning a very old Steamer Trunk with Initials?




djohnsonte


I have this questions listed in cameras for that part of the help I need. This trunk had all types of hidden treasures inside it. I bought it at auction unopened and I found an expensive silk rug wrapped in a wax type paper, some coins from France, and sheets and linens with the Initials DK. B. embroidered very ornately with a crest. Those sheets etc had rotted but the silk threads were there and readable. But worth zip due to rot.
The Steamer Trunk is very large, very large. It was owned by someone with the initials L.V. that he had stamped on the two brass handles and under the lock. So, either L.V. was related to DK. B. or DK. B had borrowed or rented the trunk. I found out that steamer trunks were rented or leased as well as sold back then and since no one picked this one up it may have been purchased from L.V. by DK. B. ? We just don't have a clue. Next, the coins were all French and all had the same date 1910 and were French, gold, silver, 12 of each. And the silk knotted rug.
Getting the trunk down to remove all of our Junk stored inside we dropped the trunk and here a crack sound. When it was emptied and opened we found a Secret compartment that had been nailed to the bottom of the Steamer. We looked for a trick lever or opening but there were none so someone fetched me a pry bar and a special spanner to pry open very gently the compartment and remove some tiny nails and nuts. Inside were two very very old cameras. Both wrapped in the same wax paper, in like new condition. One was black in a leather black case and strap all in great shape. But, oddly, the other was in a dark green case and it was dark green. I managed to learn how to open the cameras and placed each inside a large dark bag and I found odd sized film in the green one.

Anyone know of a trunk company initial L.V. or someone long ago with initial DK. B. with some sort of crest? The crest was also rotted and a mess and not clear enough to make anything more out. Anyone know of a special company to develop this film? Somewhere close in the Dallas Fort Worth Area? It could be junk or could be special since they were hidden? The sooner we get the film looked at by a true pro and not something like a photoshop, we can possibly find out who DK. B. was or is and who was or is L.V. who owned this trunk. And, it could be just junk for all we know. But, we expect it to be something really interesting due to the first items found hidden inside the trunk under the lining and so very old. If it helps the rug dated back 300-400 year agoago and the coins were 1910 each ooneand there were 12 of each both types of coins were the same values.
Thanks for any help you might provide on this continuing mystery.



Answer
You might try this site: http://www.thepirateslair.com/antique-steamer-trunks-chests.html
It says this about "trunk company initial L.V."--it could stand for LOUIS VUITTON . Their phone number is 540-659-6209, in Stafford, VA .
Their street address is:
The Pirate's Lair
Division of DataCity, Inc.
78 Canterbury Drive
Stafford, VA 22554
email: sales@thepirateslair.com
(Note: It is a Service Disabled Veteran-owned small business)

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Louis_Vuitton
Louis Vuitton Malletier â commonly referred to as Louis Vuitton, or shortened to LV â is a French fashion house founded in 1854. The label is well known for its LV monogram, which is featured on most products, ranging from luxury trunks and leather goods to ready-to-wear, shoes, watches, jewellery, accessories, sunglasses, and books. [A picture of the logo is to the right of the article.]
Napoleon III of France appointed Vuitton as Malletier (a "Malletier" is, in French, literally a Trunk-Maker) to his wife, Empress Eugénie de Montijo. Through his experience with French royalty, he developed advanced knowledge of what made a good traveling case. It was then that he began to design his own luggage, setting the foundations for LV Co. (article continues from there).

http://forum.purseblog.com/date-codes/date-code-made-in-information-and-locations-183525.html#post3906216
Shows these DATE CODES SEEN ON RE-LINED ITEMS:
DK⦠(USA)

It could also refer to its store in Copenhagen. Denmark is abbreviated as DK.
[What the B would stand for, I have no clue. Hope this helps a little.]

EDIT: For info and value of French coins, go to this site--http://www.taxfreegold.co.uk/francehistoryfrenchgoldcoins.html




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Tuesday, March 18, 2014

Rolex or Hublot watch?




Yonkers


Which watch do you think is more class/stylish/expensive and just well better? Which do you prefer and why?


Answer
Some answers here are too subjective and give no reasons for their choices. Let's look at these two brands as objectively as possible by comparing some data about them that I find in my many watch magazines and almanacs. You can then have some basis for forming your own opinion.
HISTORY
Hans Wilsdorf began making watches in 1905. In 1908, he began using the name Rolex on his watches. The derivation of that name is uncertain.
Carlo Crocco founded Hublot in 1980. "Hublot" is French for "porthole" that the bezel resembles with its screws. Jean-Claude Biver who revived Blancpain in 1982 moved to Hublot in 2004 to become CEO.
EMPLOYEES & PRODUCTION
Rolex has over 2000 workers who produce almost 1,000,000 watches each year lately.
Hublot has about 150 workers who make 24,000 watches annually.
COLLECTIONS
Rolex offers mainly "Oyster Perpetual" automatic water-resistant sports watches and some "Cellini" dress watches.
Hublot offers "Classic", "Big Bang" and "King" lines.
MONEY SPENT ON ADS IN THE USA IN 2007
Rolex spent much more than any other company, i.e. $47,100,000. Breitling was a not so close second with $27,070,000. Hublot was 18th with $5,280,000 spent.
BASIC SPORTS WATCHES
$6300Sb, $9950S&Rb Rolex "O.P. Datejust" 4fa
$6900S, $10,900S&R Hublot "Classic Fusion" 4fa
DEEP DIVING WATCHES
$10,650Sb Rolex "O.P. Sea Dweller Deep Sea" 4fa 3900 meter diver
$19,000T Hublot "King Power Diver" 4fa 4000 meter diver
GOLD CHRONOGRAPHS
$27,650R Rolex "O.P. Cosmograph Daytona" 3fa-C (also $34,700Rb)
$27,900R Hublot "Classic Fusion Chrono" 4fa-C
MOST COMPLICATED MODELS
$27,650R Rolex "O.P. Cosmograph Daytona" 3fa-C (listed under Chronographs)
$375,000R&CF Hublot "King Power" 3fm-MR-T-C
SECOND MOST COMPLICATED MODELS
$25,150S&Rb Rolex "O.P. Yacht-Master II" 3fa with yacht regatta countdown
$195,000Z Hublot "King Power" 3fm-T-C
Well, what do you think? I say that Rolex is "hyped". Everyone hears about about it, since it spends far more money on ads than any other brand. It's not the costliest nor the best brand. My Patek Philippe and Vacheron Constantin dress watches cost over 3.5 times as much as a comparable Rolex, and they're worth it. The production figures show Rolex is mass-produced with each employee making 500 watches per year. Each Hublot employee produces 160 watches per year and thus works 3.125 times as long on each watch. Patek and Vacheron spend even more time on each watch. Rolex is hardly a major brand when it makes no watch more complicated than a chronograph. The most complicated wriswatch of all is Franck Muller's "Aeternitas Mega 4" -GS-MR-T-PC-CR with 1483 parts that costs $2,666,700P in 2012. I have written five editions of a book about "THE COSTLIEST WATCH BRANDS". Rolex places 46th costliest in 2012. It seems that Rolex is vastly over-rated. The top watch aficianados aren't impressed by it. I bought two Rolexes soon after I graduated from college, but now, I wear Jaeger-LeCoultre, Piaget, Cartier, IWC, Patek and Vacheron more often.
EDIT: Hasan is wrong to say Rolex is the best watch. It's good but not great. I own two Rolexes, but some of my other watches I've listed are better by far. A Jeager-LeCoultre "Master" sports watch is severely tested for 1000 hours while 1.4 Rolexes are made each day. Rolex is what I consider a bottom line Luxury Brand, since it's so much cheaper than the costliest brands. Lee Cameron a San Francisco watch repairman I know well likes Omega better than Rolex. Repairman Rolf Klotz from Germany also likes Omega very well.

what is best "value for money" mechanical watch?




jmw8652


i am seeking something with clean lines, not a bulky diver watch, prefer something under $1000, so i am out of the luxury category. thank you


Answer
I would recommend a Swiss Rado. They have many styles in the $500 to $1000 class. Check out the sites below:




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Are their cars in India or is the country still developing?







Are their cars in India or is the country still developing? I often visualize India asa land of elephants and camels....Do cars go on the road? What do people do for a living their since they probably don't have certain luxuries that a great country like American would have? Do they have shops and places to eat food? What is the country like in general?


Answer
Ok, first things first. The camels and elephants you think of are in the zoos/ desert/ designated wild areas(like safari). Very rarely you find them on the road, that too they are for shows/ rides - money making tricks for its owner.

You'll find lots of cars on roads, motorbikes and scooters are very popular. Buses, trains, planes - just as in another country. Even in the villages, people use motorbikes and bikes and buses.

What is your idea of luxury? In a typical Indian city, you'll find every house equipped with a fridge, washing machine, microwave too these days. To top it, you have house maids that are commonly employed for cleaning purposes. Hiring cooks is very in now in the cities.

India is filled with eateries. From street food to five star luxuries. Consumer is king and he can choose what he wants to eat.

The country is diverse in culture, language, traditions.In the cities - In a typical community, you'll find people talking different languages, but with a common state language. Men and women work, while kids are sent to schools which are very expensive. College goers usually hang out in clubs on the weekends, people party with booze and cigarettes. Families celebrate traditions with festive decorations, lots of food, show away wealth. Life is pretty interesting, never a dull moment.
Maruti- Suzuki is a famous car brand, but you can easily find Honda accord, Hyundai and occasionally a Mercedes Benz.

In the rural areas, the people are mostly into agriculture and rarely live on subsistence farming. They have produce which is nowadays sold to these supermarkets in the cities and so they get fair price for their work. They also send children to rural schools which are not as good as the city ones, but nevertheless more or less everyone is educated in the current world. Recreation is done by visits to cities, celebrating events and festivals.

Overall, the infrastructure is not very good in terms of bad roads. However, you can easily find a bus/ train from anywhere to anywhere unlike the USA where you are dependent on someone when you don't have a car. Eateries are cheap and varied, giving more options to the consumer. Corruption is rampant, India has a lot of money - just that it gets to a pockets of a few people.

Giving you an idea to take a glimpse into Bangalore, one of the cities in India-
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4uAGZ_ixh1g

Strong and clear dream about fruit garden, old man, luxury house and killing a jackdaw..!!!?




Chris


Or it was a crow.

After such a long time I am seeing so clear dream.

I think it has a message, but I would like to ask you first of its possible meaning.

First I was in a shop with my classmates (i'm19 and go to high school) I felt uncomfortable trying on things because of my classmates for some reason. (I often feel uncomfortable at school.) I thought I will soon leave this place.

I left and suddenly found myself in Italy or rather India. I entered a man's house that had something to do with me. Dimly I felt he would leave and I could live in that house too.

Then I went to the garden part, which was empty. Only there was a small piece a kind old man owned. He allowed me to walk in his garden and I felt that I could have something from his garden. There were extremely high almost trees of white and red grapes, honey melons, mangos, avocados, tomatoes .etc..etc.. Trees FULL of ripe fruits/vegs!!! I thought to myself. Why not create an own garden like that next to him?! Then I saw an evil jackdaw that was about to try to do something bad to me and/or to that garden I inserted some metal thing in it and killed it. That was it. Thank you sooo much for reading so far. Now I am going through a tough, decisive period of my life which will affect the life I will live..!!!



Answer
garden- the garden is a symbol of paradise. u didnt mention if the garden had a fence. gardens that have fences-women that r dissatisfied and unhappy often dream about fenced in gardens. someone wiil deny u an urgent favor because u hve failed to show them how u really truely feel.were there flowers too? that means emotional stability, satisfaction and new friendships. taking a walk thro a beautiful garden means pleasent expiriance ahead. this dream usually a sign that you r isolating yourself frm the people around you..
forign countries-dreaming about being in a foriegn country might mean that a situation,a person,,a project, or one of your own character traits has not been acknowledged; u r still trying to figure things out.
fruit-is a sign that new plans are in the making.seeing diffrent kinds of fruit-an arguement will be resolved to ur satsfaction. dreams about fruit r often about sexual needs, and are a good sign for new plans and romantic relationships. and indicate reward for past efforts.
the old man is a symbol of maturity in all aspects of life. old men and women either represent wisdom or malice. and are a warning to take a closer look at your bad habits. sometimes the old man want to warn of evil minded people in your IMMEDIATE environment.
no definition for jackdaw. but since u defeated it i know that means u will overcome something that is a threat to you.
my transulation- u will overcome this tough period u r going thro. just watch your back. someone close to u is not as close to u as u think.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Monday, March 17, 2014

Is my mother in law a selfish woman and a bad Grandma or am I overreacting?




E


My husbands Mother and Father came to visit us from Mexico for nine weeks. My husband and I paid for everything. We spent $1500 just on the airline tickets. His brother gave them $1500 cash to spend and my husband gave them an additional $500. Every time we went to a restaurant we paid for everything. If we went to the store she would get $10 worth of candy, hair dye, medicine, make-up etc. These $10-$15 purchases added up to $300-$500 by the time they left. My husband and I have four children and my husbands brother also has four.

His mother would take the candy that she would get every time they went to the store and hide it in her bedroom. When my kids would come around and want some she would not give it to them. She does not speak English so I was unable to ask her what her problem was. Another issue that I had was that she wanted nothing to do with my two year old twins. They would often try to follow them around and she would never pick them up. On one occasion I seen her push them away. She was sitting in a rocking chair and one of my girls was trying to climb into her lap and she pushed her away. They would go outside and my twins would try to follow them. The second that my girls were behind them they would come and get me. I told my husband and he ask them what the problem was and his mother told them she was afraid they would get hurt. So basically she was saying that she did not want to be around my girls because they might get hurt. I cannot understand this because my mother watches them all the time and she actually enjoys it and is not afraid they will get hurt. My girls are very calm and all they wanted was to sit in a rocking chair with this lady. This was not a one time thing. Everyday my girls would follow her around and she never wanted anything to do with them. The other issue is that she wanted to go shopping everyday. I thought it was strange that she came with hardly nothing. Now I know why. She planned on shopping with my husband and his brothers money. When she went home she had 8 large suitcases and several backpack stuffed full. I really think she spent more than my husband is telling me about but he just does not want me to get more upset so he is not telling me. She bought name brand shoes for all of her grand kids in Mexico and new clothes and jewelry for herself. She also bought her grand kids a little clothing as well. She did not buy nothing for her grandkids in the US.

I also recall that when my husband went to visit her two years ago at Christmas she was telling him the shoe sizes of all the kids over there and asking him to bring new shoes. He did not buy them shoes because I told him we cannot afford to do that. Once his mother came to visit I started getting facebook request from his family in Mexico. I accepted and after looking at the pics they are dresses better than my kids and all have Iphone. Also, if they are having it so bad then why would his mother buy her grand kids expensive nike shoes when she could have stretched the money by buying cheaper. It always bothered me when my husband sent money over there but I never made a big deal about it because I figured they were poor. Now that I seen his mother go on her shopping sprees and I see there facebooks that they have iphone, were Hollister clothing, and flash money I do not want my husband sending anymore money to them. Also in there kitchen they have newer stanless stile appliances and granite counter tops. I ask my husband who's house it was and he said his mom. That infuriated me because if they can afford those luxury's I would like to keep our money for our future and our kids. I basically told my husband that is mom is a selfish witch that does not care anything for her grandkids in the US. I also told him that if he sends another dime over there I will be filling for divorce. I was ok with him helping when I thought they were dirt poor but even I can not afford an iphone so why would I send money to someone that can?

So am I being unreasonable? Does my mother in law sound like an unloving selfish grandma?

His dad also came but he was nothing like husbands mom. His dad was very humble and hardly said a word and actually tried to throw baseball with my ten year old son a few times but every time his wife stopped him. She thought he was to old at 67 to throw a ball to my son. Yes he is a little old but he gets around and nothing is wrong with his arms. My feelings are kind of hurt and I am pissed about her wasting my husbands money so freely. A few items she bought $30 towel sets, $100 neckless, nike tennis shoes, etc
Also, the only reason they were supposed to be coming is so they could see there grandkids. I was not comfortable with allowing my husband to take them to Mexico so he helped them get a visitors visa. Then his mother wanted nothing to do with my kids. I do not think we can afford for them to come back and I do not see the point. It will be easyer for my husband to visit them and less expensive.



Answer
I have seen this typr of situation before. Your mother -in-law thinks that everything is so much better here in the US. My grandmother treated us the same way. My grandma made it look like my dad was supposed to work and support her and my aunt and my 2 cousins, but my parents had 4 kids. When my dad left our country, my grandma used to act like he should've been sending money to her to support her and his sister. When he was sending packages to us, she wanted those to be send to her so she can see what he was sending to us. This is just how your Monther-in-law is, and you may have to choose if you want to deal with it or not.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Will my tan stay at all?




Catluver14


So usually I'm a pretty fair-skinned person, a bit pale. My best friend, who is much tanner than me, recently got me into lying out in the sun. I burned a bit at first, but I can see that I am getting noticeably more tan. I know they kinda fade over time, but I was wondering if it stays AT ALL? Thing is, I know how bad tanning is for you. I have only done it for about a week though, whereas my friend has been doing it for years. She also uses both methods of tanning: tanning beds and sun. I just use the sun. I won't do it all the time, but I was wondering if you will still look any darker after your tan fades than before you got tan? Because I don't want to damage my skin unnecessarily just to get a tan that won't change anything in the end, besides increasing your risk for cancer. Any details would be helpful, thanks!


Answer
Permanent discolorations from: skin diseases, tanning, blemish, moles, freckles, skin tags ONLY get darker, bumpier, larger and not everyone get cancer or any of the above. But those are just side effects from the UV. Like smokers, some smoke all their lives and do not get cancer, but there are 2nd & 3rd hand smokes who are now carrying their oxygen tank so they can breath. The answer to your question is NO.

Tanning comes & go, unless you do them everyday 24/7 for the rest of your life. But in the end the only thing you'll benefit is either moles, freckles, skin tags or discolorations from sunscreens, lotions, etc. and the more you do, the more they get larger, darker & bumpier. My nephew had a membership in a tanning bed salon for a year. After it expired, he stopped, now he's as white as before he began.

Tanning, is a result for 'damaged skin' and no products can reverse you from skin cancer or damaged skin, may prevent you from pre-mature aging, but that's part of the billion dollar beauty industry.

Notice your friend 20 YEARS FROM NOW, and see who looks older, compared to your skin.

Melanoma is the leading cause of death from skin disease. An estimated 76,259 new cases of skin cancer will be reported particularly among women in their 20's & 30's, and that's 6,020 more than 2011, people died from the disease, according to the National Cancer Institute. Two million people are diagnosed with skin cancer in the US each year, according to the EPA's Sun-Wise Program. That's more than breast, colon, lung and prostate cancer cases combine!

I'll let Lisa & Glenna tell you about tanning beds.
Google Lisa and see what she looks like 2010.
"Plastic Week: Lisa Gastineau On The Dangers Of Tanning Beds"

She had 2-3 melanoma moles removed, one by her nose. She had nose surgery just to get her nose straighter, so she can breath again. She got those moles from a tanning bed.
Google: Warning in Tanning beds: About 13,200,000 results (0.25 seconds) 

Tanning beds aged you by 10-15 years!
Google A Death by Suntan by age 26, Yahoo Shine 3-23-10. In April 2005, while working out at her college gym in Rhode Island, 22-year-old Glenna Kohl detected a hard, golf ball-size lump near her groin. . . . .In high school, Glenna did have an irregular mole removed from her leg. A pathology report identified it as benign, but the surgeon tested it again. The lab had made an error: The mole was an early stage melanoma.
Google: Lawsuits in tanning beds. About 2,130,000 results (0.29 seconds) 5-3-12.

Who cares if you have white skin, at least you will look beautiful when you get in your 50's, and girls with whiter skin will look YOUNGER looking in their 50's if you know how to preserve your skin. There's a reason why Robert Pattinson is so popular with the girls. His face has a kind of gorgeousness one sees in the faces of children, with its perfect pale skin, red lips, large eyes. It's hard to say it any other way: he's beautiful.

Watch Mirror, Mirror when the evil queen played by Julia Roberts wanted to look as fair as the princess played by Lily Collins. I came from a vacay in Ireland, and many of the people there working in the profession (luxury hotels and banks, etc.) have beautiful white complexion!
This is what beautiful flawless skin looks like:
http://www.glamourmagazine.co.uk/dos-and-donts/hairstyle-pictures-today/2012/05/15/zooey-deschanel-side-swept-chocolate-curls
Google Liv Tyler. http://www.google.com/search?client=safari&rls=en&q=liv+tyler&ie=UTF-8&oe=UTF-8
Or Google Catherine Zeta Jones - she's 42 with beautiful skin.
Watch The Duchess - Keira Knightly has flawless complexion - a natural beauty.
Taylor Swift is another starlet with beautiful skin, in her 20's.

I've been protecting myself from the sun since age 9, but no matter, I got Discoid Lupus. Google that one. It was like someone punched my chin and it gave a purplish mark. It took 12 years for that to fade, so now I'm using a wide brim hat or umbrella for protection. Gene Simmons & Shannon both have been seen hold an umbrella during an event. They were invented before beauty products, for a reason. Google also Bullous Pemphegoid, photos, another skin disorder.

Take the Skin Picture Quiz - Identify These Common Skin Conditions on MedicineNet.

Good tanning cream to use on sunbeds?




Amy


Can anybody recomend a good tanning cream to use on the sunbeds I'm in the uk and want to spend roughly up to about £15 thanks :)


Answer
I don't recommend that.
I'll let Lisa & Glenna tell you about tanning beds.
Google Lisa and see what she looks like 2010.
"Plastic Week: Lisa Gastineau On The Dangers Of Tanning Beds"

She had 2-3 melanoma moles removed, one by her nose. She had nose surgery just to get her nose straighter, so she can breath again. She got those moles from a tanning bed.
Google: Warning in Tanning beds: About 13,200,000 results (0.25 seconds) 

Tanning beds aged you by 10-15 years!
Google A Death by Suntan by age 26, Yahoo Shine 3-23-10. In April 2005, while working out at her college gym in Rhode Island, 22-year-old Glenna Kohl detected a hard, golf ball-size lump near her groin. . . . .In high school, Glenna did have an irregular mole removed from her leg. A pathology report identified it as benign, but the surgeon tested it again. The lab had made an error: The mole was an early stage melanoma.
Google: A New Jersey woman was arrested after police said she brought her 5-year-old daughter into a tanning booth, causing the girl to suffer burns. She is only 44 and looks like she is at least 90+ and now taking her 5 year old daughter to the tanning booth.

A new study conducted by the Indiana University School of Medicine Department of Dermatology has found that tanning bed exposure can be dangerous when tanners self-diagnose skin problems and use the radiation to treat skin eruptions. The study specifically found that a tanning bed user that used the radiation to treat a mild skin rash caused by an ibuprofen allergy developed a much more severe reaction called toxic epidermal necrolysis (TEN). When left untreated, TEN can be fatal.
Melanoma is the leading cause of death from skin disease. An estimated 76,259 new cases of skin cancer will be reported particularly among women in their 20's & 30's, and that's 6,020 more than 2011, people died from the disease, according to the National Cancer Institute. Two million people are diagnosed with skin cancer in the US each year, according to the EPA's Sun-Wise Program. That's more than breast, colon, lung and prostate cancer cases combine! Now however, a recently published study suggests that those people with ginger hair and fair complexions face a much higher risk of developing dead skin cancer even if they are completely protected. Nov 2nd, 2012.

Oregon has the fourth highest rate of death from skin cancer in the United States, according to Dr. Brian Druker at the Oregon Health & Science University in Portland. KATU.com 2-12-13

Tanning comes & go, unless you do them everyday 24/7 for the rest of your life. But in the end the only thing you'll benefit is either moles, freckles, skin tags or discolorations from sunscreens, lotions, etc. and the more you do, the more they get larger, darker & bumpier. My nephew had a membership in a tanning bed salon for a year. After it expired, he stopped, now he's as white as before he began.

Tanning, is a result for 'damaged skin' and no products can reverse you from skin cancer or damaged skin, may prevent you from pre-mature aging, but that's part of the billion dollar beauty industry.

Watch Mirror, Mirror when the evil queen played by Julia Roberts wanted to look as fair as the princess played by Lily Collins. I came from a vacay in Ireland, and many of the people there working in the profession (luxury hotels and banks, etc.) have beautiful white complexion!
This is what beautiful flawless skin looks like:
http://www.glamourmagazine.co.uk/dos-and-donts/hairstyle-pictures-today/2012/05/15/zooey-deschanel-side-swept-chocolate-curls
Google Liv Tyler. http://www.google.com/search?client=safari&rls=en&q=liv+tyler&ie=UTF-8&oe=UTF-8
Or Google Catherine Zeta Jones - she's 42 with beautiful skin.
Watch The Duchess - Keira Knightly has flawless complexion - a natural beauty.
Taylor Swift is another starlet with beautiful skin, in her 20's.
Nicole Kidman has flawless skin (barely wears makeup) or Julianne Moore, who is 7 yrs. younger than me! http://www.dailymail.co.uk/tvshowbiz/article-2325045/Cannes-Film-Festival-2013-Nicole-Kidman-protects-big-hair-umbrella.html

Google: Pale Complexion celebrities.About 513,000 results




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

where can i find a luxury watch cheap?




Alex H


the watch i would like includes and automatic or hand winding movment, sapphire crystal, swiss made,and possibly chronograph. can anyone tell me where i can find a really nice watch for a really nice price? and theres no way im gonna buy a fake or replica. thanks in advance!


Answer
Glad you are not going for a fake. Contrary to popular mythology, fake watches are not as good as the real thing, in fact you can usually buy more cheaply a better quality Swiss watch than a fake. Unfortunately most good swiss watches come with very little discounting - in fact heavy discounts are a usual giveaway that a watch is either a fake or a wannabe. Some companies use Swiss in their name but unless the dial says Swiss made, the watch is a wannabe.

I don't want ot give the impression that only the swiss make great automatic watches. There are a handful of German, Japanese, English and American brands etc that are excellent. However the sheer choice of Swiss watches is huge. My recommendations based on price points:

At less than 500 dollars you can get good timepieces from Bulova, Doxa, Roamer and Certina. At over 1000 dollars Mido, Movado and Oris are good. The outstanding time pieces tend to start at around 2000 dollars, and here you can choose from Rado, Tag-Hauer, Longines etc. For the very best watches the prices will start at over 3000 dollars and then you could consider IWC, Rolex and some very classy timepieces.

Go for sapphire crystal every time, it is so much more durable. Choose steel over precious metal because precious metals don't improve the timepiece except as items of jewelry. Waterproof watches tend to need less maintenance because dust doesn't get in and you don't need to keep taking it off for the shower etc. Definitely consider a chronometer but the relative accuracy compared to a quartz watch wouldn't make it a must have for me (although mine are!). Don't be beguiled by un-necessary complications unless you want them specifically since they add to the cost of manufacture considerably - you say you want a chronograph - is this for presentational purposes or do you think you need a stop watch function? Only buy from a recognized dealer, normally an authorised distributor, and make sure you get a box and certificate.

Luxury Watches?




mikecpa


I love Tag Heuer. I have the Tag Heuer Link with the black face and I love it ( WJ1110.BA0570) If you have one please tell me which one you have and do you like it? Where do you rank Tag Heuer comparing to other luxurious watch? (omega, rolex, movado, vuitton, gucci, patek phillipe, cartier, etc)


Answer
I think it's all opinion. I like the simple but bold Movado, blue or white face Sport Editions. They're nice. I also like cartier, for the more sqaure or rectangle look. What's good about Tag Heuer is that they're durable, ask your jeweler. He/she will tell you all about it. Most of them you can leave on while you shower and nothing will happen to it, because they're designed for that kind of stuff. Like, climbing, racing, golf, sky diving and all that other stuff. So, for durability, if you bump your wrist a lot depending on what you do or if you are afraid of dropping your watch, go with the Tag. my uncle has a real nice one with a white face and a bunch of diamonds around it. I would've never bought one until i saw his. Once you see the watch on someone elses wrist it looks really nice. But, I like the movado SE, personally. If I had more money, I would buy a Tag or a Breitling next.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

What's really high quality watch for men?




Ali


I want to get watch that's really high quality can you give me website or tell me the price does not matter


Answer
Rolex http://www.rolex.com/ but these watches can cost as much as a brand new luxury car

flashy watch brands such as rolex?




the_man_of


hello i like to know some flashy watch brands such as rolex for men thanks


Answer
I suggest you can go to these shop to learn :http://www.buy-cheap-rolex-watches.com and http://www.cheaprolexshop.com/ they have so many brands which offer good quality luxury watches at competitive rates, a mazing deal !




Powered by Yahoo! Answers