Saturday, October 12, 2013

Why do people finance overpriced cars and make dealers rich?

best luxury watch brands 2011
 on ... Mens / Womens Prestige Watches | All Luxury Watch Brand s
best luxury watch brands 2011 image



Wolf


I never understood it, I am not perfect and sure I feel tempted to take out a loan every time I see a sexy Mercedes pass me by in my old Toyota; but after thinking about it I would be a fool to be making $250+ payments per month when I could drive my 1998 Toyota for free since I own it

I had to ask since I was watching an episode of Judge Judy and the case was about tax return money and the financing of a car. Didnt watch the entire thing but watched enough of it to know that the couple had $6k and still decided to finance a monte carlo. Thats like the silliest thing I ever heard, my Toyota corolla cost me $1200 and I had it for like 10 years with no probs. Who the heck would down pay $6k on a pos and then still have monthly payments?????? I could buy 3 strong used Toyotas or Hondas with $6k...smh

Can someone please explain this to me? I could understand financing a car like a BMW 745 since most people cant buy it outright, but surely someone can buy a car like mines or a monte carlo for A LOT less than $6k. Why even finance a car like that when everyone knows it holds no value and isn't even considered luxury. Its like me financing a Toyota Tercel and making a dealer rich when I could simply get one for $1000 cash from a person seller!

If the person is low on cash and has to go to a Buy Here pay Here place for transportation to get to and from work then fine. I cant judge them because they are low on cash and probably got like $500 to their name; but having $6k and still financing a car is totally beyond me!



Answer
When you finance a car through a dealer they use a bank or credit union. The bank or credit union buys the car for the agreed price from the dealer and then starts charging you a monthly bill with interest! Its not really the dealers who get rich it is the banks.

Say you agree on a 20,000 dollar car and you have qualified for the loan through bank X. Once all the paperwork is done the dealer sends it off to the bank. The bank sends a 20,000 dollar check to the dealership to buy the car. Then 5 years down the road when all the payments are made depending on interest rate you endup paying about 24,000 for the car, guess who made the money here (the bank) they made 4 grand off of the buyer just for loaning the money.

I agree a buy here pay here place is dumb because they charge typically 20-50% interest its robbery, and they do make the money at those places, which is why no one should buy from those places. I also agree if you are looking for a used car and have a substantial amount of money in the bank you should buy it outright and I have.

What most people are thinking about is they only have to pay 150 bucks a month to buy the car for 4-5 years, not 5 grand all at once. What they don't realize is they will end up paying almost twice the amount the car is worth in the end by making payments, so if it is a 4 thousand dollar car they end up paying at a local used car lot (shady acres) 8 grand or more for that 4 grand car (stupid plain stupid).

Now as far as new cars go (like me) I have a 2011 Ford Ranger I got it for 19,000 brand new and it is the XLT model, got a good deal, but I did not have 19 grand to just plop down on a new car, but I can easily afford the payments, and my interest is only 3 %. So even at the end of the 5 years I will only endup paying about 22,500 for it which is still about 3 grand under MSRP!

You should also ask why do people even borrow money for anything, the main reason because we all put wants in front of needs, and those wants are or can be expensive so much so it is beyond our temporary means of getting that object, banks say ok I will loan you the cash but at a price, and us dumb consumers agree, it has gone on since the beginning of man so there is no point in even trying to stop it.

Do I go with exterior or interior when choosing a vehicle. Should I pick the Infiniti G or M ,?




Lightwave


Do you pick a car based on exterior or interior.
I really like the lines of an Infinity G because of it's versatility to modify and dress up to personally customize it to look sharper than it already is. There are a lot of accessories you can purchase for the G.
The M should not be modified externally, there are no kits or extras you can purchase for it. It's a car which has a shape that grows on you. At first it doesn't have that sharp sporty look but the more I see it, the more intriguing the design becomes. It bothers me that I cannot personalize it.

I had my heart set on a G37s and when the time came to go purchase one, I went into the showroom and happened upon the Infiniti M56. I was blown away by the M's interior and features. Yes, it has this bulbish design but it's more of an executive class model car.

I backed off the purchase of my G and decided to take the time to examine the M closer. After a couple of weeks I'm not ready for a final decision and can't make up my mind.

Help me make a decision. Everyone pretty much knows the G but here are some selling features of the M
It has these features I call the autopilot system.
I know this sounds like a sales pitch but each of these features help to sway my decision towards class more than sport.

- A lane drift warning system which gently guides me back into my lane if I start to drift. A lane change warning sensor so if I try to change lanes, it detects vehicles within my parameter and lights flash enabling a warning to tell me there are vehicles too close and again gently nudges me back into my lane.
- A great feature is the autobraking which brakes the car automatically: As I'm driving, it warns me from a reasonable distance that I'm approaching an obstacle too quickly and will gently apply the brakes preventing me from impacting the obstacle.
- When cruising, the car will set itself to the desired distance from car lengths and accelerate or brake based on the speed I set as the car's maximum.
- Four drive settings, Sport, Standard, Snow and Eco. I believe this changes the suspension and fuel usage of the car.
- 360 HP but it's needed for such a heavy car. fuel economy is not going to be great.
- Sound system by Bose and man does it ever sound great with speakers even built into the head rest of the seats.
- Dual climate controls that heat or cool the seats and steering wheel.
- The leather is quality and there is this Silver Dusted wood grain finish which has a soft glistening tone to it.

Infiniti M
http://www.infiniti.ca/en/ms/mhybrid/photo-gallery.html

Infiniti G
http://www.infiniti.ca/en/g_sedan/photos/interior_photos.html

I want to vote between the G and the M



Answer
Well for starters the Infiniti M56 and G37 sedans are in two entirely different price points, you are looking at around $37K-$50K for the Infiniti G37 VS $60K-$75K for the M56.

The Infiniti M56 is an executive luxury sedan making it more spacious, refined, luxurious and over all a more prestigious offering in the category. The M56 has a class leading 420 HP engine while the G37 composes a class leading 3.7 liter V6 engine. The M56 competes with the BMW 550i and Mercedes E550 while the G37 competes against the smaller BMW 335i, Lexus IS350, Audi S4 and Mercedes C350. The M sedan has three engine variants which include the M35h, M37 & M56. The M37 shares the same engine as the G37 while the M35h (hybrid) is claimed to be the worlds fastest luxury hybrid sedan with an engine producing an impressive 360 HP. The M35h offers the power & performance between the M37 and M56, not to mention its more fuel efficient at the same time. The G37 has an average MPG rating for the class it is in however it composes more horsepower then any of its rivals in the same class. Over all the M & G sedans are fantastic cars however the G is a more sports oriented sedan designed to thrill you beyond your expectations, the driving dynamics that Infiniti is so highly acclaimed for is found underneath the hood of the G while the M composes more of Infiniti's charismatic eye for design and refinement. To be honest, I think the G37 is the closest competitor on par with a BMW 3 series but I would wait and see when the new G sedan comes out. As you know the G37 is at the end of its life cycle, this is in fact its last year until the redesigned model is introduced for 2013. The M37 on the other hand is a brand new design for Infiniti and it will retain its resale value quite well over the years. The G37 is a great sedan and it upholds an excellent reputation but If you cant wait for the new G I would suggest opting for the M37 which is if anything, everything the G37 lacks..... and the G37 is already an amazing sedan to begin with. The G37 was built for a luxury sports car enthusiast, the M was built for a clientele in search of more then just performance. Like you said, technology and refinement.

Pictures:
Infiniti M37
http://3.bp.blogspot.com/-B1jYNO14Y2o/TYn7rSOeZbI/AAAAAAAEL6g/mqiYV1YypZM/s1600/M37s_MY10_EXT_007_Hires.JPG
http://www.japanesesportcars.com/photos/d/98786-2/2011-infiniti-m37s-europe-10.jpg

Infiniti G37
http://www.japanesesportcars.com/photos/d/100080-2/2010-infiniti-g37-sedan-anniversary-edition-12.jpg
http://www.carevos.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/04/2011-Infiniti-G37-Sedan-interior-2-550x412.jpg

Or you can try finding a 2011- 2012 Infiniti G37 limited edition, only 350-400 units are made of each version per year. Now that is custom! Most dealers have at least 2 or 3 in stock.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hLXcVB4mWVM




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Do you judge people on the clothes they wear?

luxury fashion watches for women
 on Luxury fashion ERSACE Destiny senior watch 1 300x272 Luxury fashion ...
luxury fashion watches for women image



Roumoun


Are you turned on by people who claim to have a superior dressing sense?

Why do people disparage others because of their clothes?



Answer
Hi Maddy, for me it is not so much about being "turned on" by those who dress well, but more about being "turned off" by those who don't. I fully understand many people are very poor, and I have been that poor myself, so folks who lack funds are not going to be able to dress as well as they might like. It is not folks who have difficulty purchasing decent clothing, but rather those who do, but choose not to.

It is human nature to judge others, and while I do try hard to see a person for who they are and not for the package they are in, it sometimes is difficult when a person who chooses to seperate him or herself from the crowd by dressing in negitive manners. Many of us here in the United States like to lay claim to not having "classes". However, this is simply not true. In other answers to question(s) you put forth, we spoke a bit about this. About how we have failed to achieve a "classless" society. We can all tell if somebody is of "our class" by how an individual dresses and comports oneself. If I walked into a fine resteraunt in my jeans and a nice blouse and sandles, (my usual dress of choice) I would be frowned upon by the patrons and probably expelled from the establishment. The excuse would be I did not meet the dress requirements, but the real reason would be they clearly see I am not of that class who frequents that particular establishment. Once, my deceased husband took me to a very nice resteraunt, one which catered to more affluant folks. I did not object as he was proud to take me to this nice place, it was a treat he had planned for a while. However, I was very conscience of the disaproving looks and the snooty attitude of our waiter. We stayed and had a nice meal, but it was difficult to actually enjoy it. My dear husband was oblivious to the under currents and I kept him there as it would only have hurt him to think I felf undeserving of eating at a particular place. Men seem a bit less sensitive to such social barriers, but women are right on top of them. Why this is true simply goes to the way we are raised, to recognize the needs of those around us and to try to meet them.

I do have to say I don't actually care for the "upper" levels of society here in this country or any Western culture. If we were to become wealthy I and my husband would not feel "part" of those who have "old" money. We also would not feel "part" of others who had "new" money and enjoy flashing it around by making large purchases and wearing expensive jewlery, etc. Those who are new to wealth tend to flash, while those who were born wealthy live rather understated, but in luxury. I watch some of those "fashion" shows and am appalled at some of the clothing offered for thousands of dollars. I wouldn't be caught dead in many of those outfits! I remember an episode of "I Love Lucy", where they were in Paris and Lucy and her friend despertly wanted a "designer" dress. Well, Ricky and Fred went out and got some flour sacks, a couple of buckets for hats, and made "designer" dresses for the "girls". Of course this was to teach them a lesson of falling into the fashion debacles. When the "girls" opened boxes seemingly from a famous designer, they were wowed, and put on these rediculous made up atrocious dresses and went out like they were some snooty snobby rich women in designer clothing. Of course they were laughed at and humiliated, and everyone watching the show thought it funny.

I however thought it horrid husbands would treat wifes like children. While the I Love Lucy show is from a different time, (thank God!) it still goes to the heart of class and wealth and how people judge by looks, clothing and attitudes. Living in the most highest class of this country means disembling and lying about how one feels about others. People are sweet and accepting to your face, but while smiling they tear you apart with barbs and quips meant to hurt and maim. I simply am unable to tolerate such behavior and so I would stand out as an outsider in such a crowd. I would also be a priime victem of such behaviors as with me what you see is what you get, there is not an ounce of subterfuge or dishonesty about me. I am judged because I am unable to lie or be dishonest. People just don't know how to take me and so are suspicious of me. They simply have trouble believing I don't have any hidden motives or agendas with them. I understand, but it is difficult to find good friends who are able to give back at the level I give. My children are in the same predictiment as they were raised to be kind and honest, not decietful or mean spirited, or selfish.

I sure do get off track don't I? lol Anyway, sure we all judge others by how they dress. It can go both ways though, judged for dressing too poorly for the class you are in, or for dressing to flashy for the class your weath puts you in. If a person wishes to really "belong" he or she has to make a decison to comform. Only the richest folks are able to be truely different and get away with it. Instead of being weird or lacking in some manner they are labled, "quirky", or "eccentric", and everybody chuckles with fond amusement, rather than in any negitive manner. However, if you or I do the same, we are judged negitively, right or wrong it is a fact of life.

I choose to not comform, and as such I pay a price. It was once an unconscience choice, one I just felt right, and the price then was hurt feelings and feeling of not belonging. However, as I grew older I began to understand exactly what I would be giving up if I choose to comfrom. Happiness can be very allusive for those who choose to comform. Comforming may bring materialistic items by gaining social acceptance and increasing ones power by climbing the corperate and social ladders, but it stiffles who the person really is. When we are stiffled how can we truly be happy?

The children who take the road their folks laid out for them may do well in life finacially but often will be unhappy as it is not the road they may have chosen for themselves. Clothing is a part of that as well as how one conducts oneself. We are groomed from childhood and that demarks who we are for the rest of our lives unless we make a conscience decison to buck the rules and expectations of those around us. By doing this we will pay a price, but for me it is a price I am willing to pay. Happiness if far more important to me than wealth or dressing in the newest designer clothing, or having the latest electronic gadgets, or driving a brand new Lexus every two years, or having a house I need a maid or two to care for, etc. There are websites all over which depict wealthy but unhappy spouses who are searching for extramarital affairs. The Eagles song, "Lying Eyes", about the young woman who married for wealth and went out to the poorer section of town for love really outlines this situation.

Anyway, sure people judge others by how they dress and yes some are turned on by those in flashy clothing, and fancy cars. However, it represents a lie: there may be comforts and security in weatlh, but it doesn't mean there will be happiness. However, we will continue to judge others by their appearance, regardless of how much we know this is wrong and unfair. We mean well, we really do, however, those first ten seconds of meeting somebody is the lasting impression we take with us. If we don't put forward our best in those first ten seconds we will be relegated to a lower class. How we dress and grooom ourselves is vital when we wish to make a good impression. For example: If a boy were to come to pick your daughter up for a date and he had on black leather and boots and drove up on a Harly, would you really want your child leaving with him? He could be the nicest person around and be wonderful to her, but the first impression is one of danger and one who bucks society. Then again, if he showed up dressed in nice slacks, in his fathers lexus, or BMW, brought flowers, and spoke well, was polite, came to the door, the likelihood of a father feeling relief is huge. The young man could have simply changed prior to coming to pick his girl up, and still be exactly the same guy on the bike a few hours ago. We can shed and put on new skin at any moment, purposely disguising who we really are. We use clothing, attitudes, etc, as masks, and most people wear masks.

Even knowing this truth, we still fall into that first ten second judgement of any person we first meet. First impressions last a very long time and are difficult to shed once it is established. If that same young man who was dressed well, spoke well, polite, later drove up on that bike in leather and boots, that first impression would be juxaposed on top and still viable. He could then get away with being who he really is as long as he pulls out his first impression getup every so often. There are many who have perfected the art of first impressions while hiding who they truely are. These folks have agendas we may not like the affects of and many are grifters. There are those who have refined the art so well they can merge with one crowd after another and nobody would know the difference. Look at undercover cops who get down into the underbelly of society, then come home to the wife and children. They are affective at what they do, and it is needed, but it shows how we need to really take care in how we allow that moment of first impression to affect our judgement.

Well, again, a question which is seemingly simple, but is quiet complex. You are very good at these types of question, Maddy! lol I tend to think a lot, and as such can over do a subject. I often found it difficult in school to keep my term papers on topic, as one easily leads to a connecting topic, which leads to a next, then to another and so on and so forth. Each componant is related, but can take me on a journey far supassing the original subject. lol

Like anybody else, I have a "normal" dress style, but still enjoy "dressing up". I have several very nice dresses and all the related items, and enjoy the looks I get when I wear one of these outfits. However, I still am a jeans and blouse Lady, who is from the country, and this is what is presented in daily life. I also enjoy wearing nice feminine suites, but am not particulary comfortable in them. I am most comfortable and feel more myself in my jeans, nice blouse, and sneakers, or cute sandels. If somebody wishes to judge me so be it. lol I am old enough to not really care that much for what others think, and that is very freeing. Oh, I still care about my loved ones opinions and I hate being looked down upon, but the freedom of just being me is well worth it, don't you agree? My husband seems to think I am something special and I think he has on rose colored glasses. Then again, I think he is somebody special and he thinks I have on rose colored glasses. My point is I find people the most attractive who are decent human beings with honor, integrity, ethics, kindness, etc, but don't know just how great they are. Once somebody "knows" they are great, then they get a big head and simply lose that element of uniqueness. Once somebody starts believing they are truly something special, well they lose that special quality. It is in the lack of knowlege that I find so sweet and compelling. A person can have a high level of self esteem and confidence and yet not have a "big head" and that is the most attractive quality for me. It is the person who has a solid foundation of who they are, what they believe in while keeping an open mind, which is attractive. We can have a strong belief sysem and yet know our way is not the only way. Take off the outer layers and what is left? When we grow old, and our looks are fading, what is left? It is that what is left I find attractive, if indeed anything is left after the outer layers are removed. Worse: If ugliness is what is left. I have seen many beautiful people who are hollow at best, and ugly and mean at worst.

Well, I believe we are all guilty of judging others by what they wear and how they conduct themselves. I think many try not to engage in such low behavior, but it is human nature and difficult to control. We may refrain from speaking of it when we do it, but we still leave with that first impression and it stays with us. It is not just clothes either, but the color of ones skin, the car they drive, the color they choose to pain their homes, or rooms, how they decorate, what they eat, what they buy. I know folks who say they can tell by what is in a grocery cart what a person is like, or what is in their bathroom cupboards. Yep, some folks actually make an excuse to use your bathroom just so they can snoop and make judgements about who you are! So, yeah, this is a huge topic, one we could discuss for hours and still not exhaust. But I had better but my own chatter to an end. lol

I wish you a grand day and a wonderful upcoming weekend.

Did you grow up during the 50's or 60's?




Katie


If you did please share what it was like. What stories do you remember. What was school like? Clothes and fashion? What were parents like back then? How did you spend summer holidays? What were television shows and magazines that were popular?????



All answers appreciated. Have an awesome day - thanks!



Answer
Yes, I remember. As a small kid everybody was wearing either dark or light clothes. Women in skirts, yet pants were starting. Men in neckties when working. Women in high heel shoes most of the time. Men in real shoes. Sneakers were for play and sports only. Men in cleancut image and women in different short or long nice hairdos. No cell phones, no personal computers. Obviously no internet but experiments were started in the beginning of the sixties to connect the then bulky huge IBM computers of those days. Banks, stores and supermarkets used electromechanical machines to do their business. Digital electronics were not yet on scene. But computers, big IMB machines were used by big business. Data was fed by punching cards. People pay in cash or checks. No credit cards as I remember. Movies were shown in movie houses only. No home video but predictions I heard. Television and radio were limited to few stations. And most television shows were black and white. People may remember "Leave it to Beaver", "Andy Griffith" and other sitcoms. But I HATED them as I do now. I remember watching the British "The Invisible Man" [now in dvd], "I Love Lucy" [love it with the Babaloo!], "Combat", "Batman and Robin" and "Man from U.N.C.L.E", not the dumb "Leave it to Beaver", uuugh! Also "The Flinstones" and "Astroboy". Also, and still do, hated "Scooby", uughh! [again!] And long playing records and tape used. No cds. I remember the console record players RCA with AM/FM radio. Parents were stricter. No messing around, yet juvenile delinquency and drugs were starting to cause trouble. School was also strict. Remember a teacher throwing a book at me..ha ha ha! And we had our usual bullies, jocks and nerds, but differently. I remember going twice as a kid to summer camps. They had movies, family movies not "Steven Segals' action movies...please. And some tv but limited. We play and other activities. But between you and me I remember seeing some "unsavory activity" from some kids but I would not mention. But it shows we also had some naughty sides, too. Remember I am talking of 1967! Forty years ago. Maybe I am "old fashioned" despite my constant criticism toward conservative republicans' policies. But I still miss those women looking so feminine in their skirts and hairdos. Not those crummy blue jeans, t-shirts and sneakers, that make them look scruffy today. And I miss something else: people were more simple then. Were not obsessed in possessing material and luxury stuff as we have today. We need some of that again. Thanks.
P.D.: Remember predicting some "pocket phone" in 1966. They laughed at me in school. But is now available: cell phones.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Do you think this Columbia Fleece is fake?

luxury watch brands for ladies
 on Womens luxury watch: Gucci 103 Horsebit Ladies Quartz Stainless ...
luxury watch brands for ladies image



Red


I have a Columbia fleece from the actual store, but I found another from the thrift store and the tags are not the same. The one from the outlet is gray and blue (the tag when you unzip) but the one from the thrift store is simply white and black like the one in the link below
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Columbia-Benton-Springs-Fleece-Jacket-Full-Zip-Ladies-Med-Lg-XL-Acropora-NEW-/110999414062?pt=US_CSA_WC_Outerwear&var=&hash=item19d814a52e

I was just wondering if it was fake or not, the quality is just about the same is my original Columbia, there's no misspellings or Chinese writing and it does not look fake. If anyone can help that'd be great!
same AS*



Answer
Were they bought on eBay, Etsy, Amazon, Asos Market, street vendors, or online store? Kiosk @ the mall? NOT REAL.
Were they bought @ Certified Columbia fleece dealer like Saks, Nordstrom, Neiman Marcus, department stores in your city? THEY'RE REAL. Those stores don't sell fake Designer Labels or brands! Outlet stores, Marshall's, TJ Maxx, Ross, etc. . . . don't sell fake merchandise, or they would have been CLOSED down. They sell the same quality products as those other bigger stores, 35-45% less, because they've been rejected by Quality Controllers. They may have a small flaw, packaging dents, scratched, or ripped, maybe the hem was off, or missing a button or belt loop . . .or who knows what they were looking for but 90% nothing wrong with them!
Where they bought @ KMart, or Target, Rite-Aid, Walgreens? Fake. Those stores sells fake products.

China, after all, is the fastest growing luxury market in the world.
The 10 Most Counterfeited Products in America http://finance.yahoo.com/news/the-10-most-counterfeited-products-in-america-180942491.html

I also suggest when paying for online purchases, don't use Paypal, it takes just once to be a victim. I was and it took 3 years to get my credit. Use your Credit Card, always, they can help you if any disputes. Example from YA!: "On the 10th of November we returned a watch I had bought for my husband, it was supposed to be an automatic but when it was taken off stopped after a short while. I phoned to tell then and they said to return it for a refund, I know it reached them on the 11th November as I tacked it by the post office. the promised refund has yet to come after several email all ignored and a few phone calls now all I can do is contact the credit card company. so customers beware".
AND beware of international shipping, they could add 3-25% extra fees, even if the price is cheap.
My merchant was from Texas, but the product was shipped from Hong Kong.
Other times, when you need to call Customer Service, they speak in foreign tongue and no one to translate them or JUST they don't answer calls.

Breguet XX or Cartier Ballon Bleu?




DrNoSxg


I saw a Breguet XX aviators watch on the silver bracelet. I just wanted to ask an owners what they think as I also like the Cartier Ballon Bleu.
I could end up buying one eventually so helpful advice please be as helpful as possible and not all both are good watches but arent necessary.
Thanks



Answer
I would prefer the Cartier purely for the history and integrity of the brand, the fact that their stores are worldwide and that they bring out new models frequently. They are au courant -and always will be.

CARTIER BALLON BLEU de CARTIER
Cartier Ballon Bleu watches are the newest addition to the Cartier family. The most stunning fact about the Ballon Bleu is that every model incorporates solid gold into the timepiece, and no stainless steel only version has been produced. Available in three sizes for men and ladies alike, these timepieces boast accurate quartz as well as sophisticated self winding automatic movements. With optional diamonds and a multitude of options, this elegant timepiece can be selected in the right combination of luxury for any preference. Prices range between the Cartier Ballon Bleu W69016Z4 - Retail Price: $5,900.00 (Sale Price: $4,895.00) and the Cartier Ballon Bleu WE9009Z3 - Retail Price: $70,000.00 (Sale Price: $55,995.00).




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Do you think the game of baseball has been more successful or less successful following the 1994-95 strike?

luxury watches for less
 on ... to case inquire about this watch can t find the watch you are seeking
luxury watches for less image
Q. Everyone is entitled to own opinions.

If you said the game of baseball has been less successful after the 1994-95, what did you like about the game better than where's it's at today?

If you think it's been more successful, what do you like better about today's game compared to the events before the strike?

I need some insight on this because it was an infamous event. But at the time the strike occurred, I was a little kid and didn't understand what was going on.


Answer
Much depends upon what are the defined success metrics.

Revenue is WAY up.

Attendance set a record in 2007, just under 80 million tickets, and while seasons since have dipped a bit, that's as easily explicable by the economy at large than by any meaningful loss of baseball's popularity.

The wave of new parks has continued unabated. (It's only running out of steam because there's only two teams left that really want a new yard.)

There's been two more teams added since the strike.

The expanded postseason and interleague play appear to be maintaining their popularity.

Asian talent, while still barely a trickle, is now established.

TV ratings -- man, I do NOT comprehend why anyone outside of the television industry gives a damn about these things. The entertainment market has been massively fragmented over the past 15 years ("World Wide Web" was barely an infant in '94) -- there are more channels, more programming, and more semi-good programming at that, than ever before; plus television technology has disseminated to many more outlets. The result -- more eyeballs are watching baseball (or anything, really) than ever, but the percentage or points allotted to those eyeballs are smaller because the whole pie grew faster than just the MLB segment. This is not being a problem. Goodness, we now have MLB NETWORK!

Not to be overlooked, there is now a comprehensive steroids policy in place, which appears to be working.

And -- this one, to me, is a critical point -- the 1994-95 nuclear winter taught baseball's powers-that-be an important lesson which has not been forgotten. Hence, the subsequent CBA negotiations, in 2002 and 2007, came and went without work stoppages, and largely without contention or rancor. And early signs are that the 2011 renewal will similarly go smoothly. This has been a VERY GOOD thing.

Consequent with those CBAs since the strike, MLB also has effectual revenue sharing and a functional payroll luxury tax. No team has gone bankrupt (except on paper, as legal maneuvers; no one is out of business). Of the 30 teams today, only four teams have not been to the postseason since the strike -- but there's no helping some franchises.

Overall, yes, I'd say Major League Baseball is more successful now than before the strike. Painful as it was, it did propagate short- and long-term positive effects.

Things could be better, but they are not at all bad.

And for those who simply want to lay curses upon all houses of blame, note that Fehr no longer runs the union, and Selig claims he'll really retire in 2012. So the primary actors, or at least the front men, will soon pass into history.

What is the difference between low-cost digital projectors and expensive ones?




2kool4u


I mean in terms of picture quality, reliability etc. I want to get a projector to watch DVDs at home but I don't wanna get a useless one or else an expensive one that gives me stuff I don't really need. Thanks.


Answer
What's the difference between a budget and luxury car? Both will take you where you want to go.

Many things go into a digital projector. Like cars the differences can be subtle.

Better projectors will use better components -- better optics, better video processors, better LCD or DLP panels/chips, etc. There will be better thought out design resulting in superior cooling, quieter fans, higher contrast ratio, less light leakage, more user friendly menu structure, etc. A third difference is in extra features, like zoom lens range, horizontal and/or vertical offset adjustment, connectivity options.

But -- as with cars -- more expensive doesn't necessarily give better dependability or performance.

The cost of projectors -- particularly 1080p models -- has decreased greatly in the last couple of years (See the link for a comment on this). A 1080p projector can be purchased for under $2000, even less than some 720p projectors.

There are compromises on the lower priced models within a resolution class ... not quite as good sharpness, not quite the same contrast ratio, a bit less capable video processing, etc. ... but most still represent great value for the money.

If I were buying today I'd be looking at 1080p projectors simply because projectors are the only HDTV capable device where 1080p is ALWAYS a benefit (See Link 2 for why). And the price differential between a 720p and 1080p model has dropped to $1000 or less. If 1080p is still too rich for you, the 720p category has some great choices too (I have a 720p model and am not rushing to replace it any time soon).

That said, there are differences between the projectors in each resolution class (the only fair way to differentiat). The most obvious is in the technical basis for the projector -- LCD, DLP, LCoS -- and in the degree of mounting flexibility (zoom lens range, offset capability).

Past that I highly recommend reading detailed reviews .. particulalry comparative reviews where differences between models are specifically identified ... at the two sites at the links below (3rd and 4th link)

Hope this helps.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Friday, October 11, 2013

Are invicta watches good, if they are there any models you would recommend.?

luxury ladies watches
 on ... Dial Ladies Watches � Swiss watches,Luxury watches,Best bags
luxury ladies watches image






This will not be my first real watch, but I would like to now more about the brand. I am a collector so I will need as much info as possible. Luxury is my first priority.


Answer
i am sorry,i konw little about it ,but do you like Royal Crown ?
i like it very much,ladies classic watch!
http://www.joobay.com/ELEGANT-HOT-LADIES-Royal-Crown-18k-white-gold-WATCH,name,1000445134,auction_id,auction_details

Ladies, what was your favorite "cartoon" growing up as a kid ?




I love you


I loved cartoons growing up as a kid. Unfortunately children nowadays do not have the same luxury as
my generation did, back in the days, to get quality
programming. I grew up in the 80's by the way.
My favorite cartoon was Thundercats and Transformers.
I still watch them online when I can. But as I said, now
kids get all this generic craps. Especially on the Noggin
Network. Are you kidding me. That stuff sucks. What
was your favorite cartoon growing up as a kid.............



Answer
I watched the cartoon Spiderman and Xmen cartoons RELIGIOUSLY as a little kid. I was born in 1988.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

whats the difference between a cheap watch and an expensive brand ie rolex, omega etc.?

swiss luxury watchmaker brands
 on WORLD MOST LUXURIOUS WATCH BRAND. | RMReview .com.my Malaysia ...
swiss luxury watchmaker brands image



yep


I have always loved buying watches but all my life i have gone with less expensive brands (quartz) I would just like to know what I am buying when I buy a more expensive brand such as omega, rolex, etc. The specs are sometimes identical. why would someone spend so much money?


Answer
Captain Obvious is correct about a few things, but not all.

For the most part, there isn't much of a difference (functionally) between a $50 quartz watch and a $2,000 quartz watch. Quite obviously, there will be a better quality product -- both in terms of aesthetics and finish as well as in terms of reliability and quality of timekeeping. Otherwise, both tell time fairly well.

However, the differences start showing when you are looking at mechanical watches that do not use Quartz, such as Automatics. These watches are mechanical marvels that can do some pretty darn interesting and complicated things. The advantage of an Automatic over a Quartz, of course, is that the good ones are built to last and you can pass it on to your next generation.

In that regard, a lot of the watches may seem the same (i.e. they tell time - duh). However, remember that with luxury watches, you are paying for it as a piece of expensive jewelry and art. The fact that it tells time is secondary.

Therefore, the difference therefore comes in *how* a watch tells time -- i.e. what mechanism (or movement) does it use, how well does it work, what else can it do, how well was it made, who made it, where was it made, what materials were used etc. In that regard, there is a world of difference in the tiers.

You've beginner luxury brands -- Raymond Weil, Longines, Stowa etc. Great watches, very reliable and use standard "movements" with excellent quality construction -- but nothing special. Not particularly expensive (less than $2,000 usually).

Then you have the mid tier brands. Within the mid tier brands, you've the lower mid tier and the higher mid tier brands.

In the lower mid tier, you have Omega, Rolex, Breitling, IWC etc -- around $2,000 - $10,000. About the same as the beginner (mostly), but slightly better quality and finish, and better brand name. In the higher mid tier brands, you get brands like Girard Perregaux, Breguet, and even IWC. Much better quality -- and you start getting into "custom" movements and "complications" that do some really amazing and cool mechanical things, and they are usually between $10,000 - $50,000. Their finish and quality tends to be rather outstanding, and they are not as commonly found.

Both the beginner and mid-tier brands are pretty reliable, and adhere to COSC (Contrôle Officiel Suisse des Chronomètres) standards of timekeeping accuracy, even when they don't have to. More than likely, a cheap $50 watch -- or even some of the "branded" $1,000 watch (think Armani or Guess watches) -- will fail at these standards.

Finally, then you get into the truly higher end brands -- Patek Philippe, Vacheron Constantin, Audemar Piguet, A. Lange & Söhne, etc. These guys make mechanical marvels, and they maintain the market by producing only a handful of truly outstanding pieces that pretty much take several top notch master watchmakers years to make their timepieces. These can go into the millions. And remember -- in this category, it's less about it being a watch and more about prestige, art, and the fact that you own one of a kind mechanical marvel.

At the end of the day, you must remember that once you leave the functional realm, watches become status symbols, and ergo Veblen goods (i.e. people buy them *because* they are expensive and elitist). You end up with "snob effect", where people want to use exclusive products, and price becomes associated with quality. Unfortunately, the side effect is the "bandwagon effect", where everyone wants to use exclusive products, and the demand for high-priced goods goes up. Consequently, the price of the already high-priced goods goes up.

If it helps, you should check out manufacturers like Parnis [1] or Sea Gull [2] -- Chinese watchmakers that make rather excellent watches comparable to lower end Swiss watch makers at a much lower price point.

Either way, watches are rather interesting, and you'd be amazed at just what's out there. Enjoy!

And here are some examples of "grand complications" --

Patek Philippe -
http://www.patek.com/patek-philippe.html?pageId=44674

Vacheron Constantin -
http://www.vacheron-constantin.com/en2/our-watches/#screen=PRODUCT;productRef=47070-000J-9085

Audemar Piguet -
http://www.audemarspiguet.com/collections/men/jules-audemars-47/equation-of-time-72/jules-audemars-skeleton-equation-of-time-1383/

A. Lange & Söhne -
http://www.alange-soehne.com/cms/en/timepieces/unforgettable-masterpieces/grand-lange-1-luna-mundi/index.html

I would like to know if anyone could find information on an old watchmaker, called Gerka.?




Shana


It may have a french origin, or Algeria. I tried to look online but no luck.


Answer
Before you think I'm crazy when I searched for the answer the only web sites I found were connected with watches, LOL. Perhaps they are sold in watch stores.

Luxury Montbrillant 01 Limited Watch by Swiss Watchmaker ...
Breitling Montbrillant 01 limitedLuxury Swiss watchmaker ... the Montbrillant chronograph by Breitling was named ... Gurkha â His Majestyâs Reserve Cigar; Kauai Marriott ...
www.thelifeofluxury.com/...by-swiss-watchmaker-breitling - Cached
SEAL Team 6 Celebrates With Gurkha Cigar - Worldnews.com
Ye Olde Tobacco & Pipe Shoppe hosts a Gurkha cigar ... new partnership, Cohiba has joined with Swiss watchmaker ... is sent. wn.com is clearly and conspicuously named at ...
article.wn.com/.../SEAL_Team_6_Celebrates_With_Gurkha_Cigar - Cached
The Italian Job meets its match with the Colosimo desktop ...
... bolts and 32 gilded cogs, that can protect your Gurkha ... and events from the world's most prestigeous watchmakers... ... Named after âBig Jimâ Colosimo (1878-1920), a ...
thefinewatchreview.com/stuff/watches-jewelry/colosimo... - Cached

Gurkha

Country of Origin: Dominican Republic

Touted as the worldâs most expensive. Gurkha Cigars are often known as the âRolls Royce of cigarsâ and have come a long way since their humble beginnings in India. The brandâs premier cigar, His Majestyâs Reserve is made from premium tobacco and infused with a bottle of Louis XIII Cognac, one of the finest cognacs available. Less than 100 boxes of the sublime cigars are released per year with a price tag of US$15,000 or $750 per cigar.

For a full-bodied smoke, Gurkha Master\'s Select cigars are available in an array of sizes in Perfecto shapes. The cigars are handmade with the very best Dominican tobaccos grown in the Cibao Valley and encased in a Nicaraguan Havana 2000 wrapper. Made in limited edition runs, each grand mahogany chest is numbered individually. A rich and creamy-smooth smoke with faint notes of spice.

The Gurkha Black Dragon is a refined cigar, handmade in Honduras and superior in taste, construction and packaging. 15 year-old Cameroon binder and12 year-old Dominican filler are wrapped in a Connecticut Broadleaf Maduro from a vintage 1990 crop. A full-bodied smoke, these cigars offer a thick, dense smoke with hints of coffee, pepper and a leathery aroma.

gatita

Degree in History and Spanish, New Mexico State U. 1990




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Tanning tips for a good tan?

luxury watches for men 2012
 on Fossil Watches For Men � Fossil Watch Repair
luxury watches for men 2012 image



smoothninj


Ok so I live in Ireland and it's been quite sunny the past couple of weeks. I wear sunscreen when im tanning. Im not super pale I could do with a bit more colour though. Is the sunscreen too much, like would it stop me from tanning as much because the sun in Ireland doesn't get too strong so should I use a tanning oil or lotion instead and how long should I tan for?


Answer
I came from a vacation in Ireland, and found many people there working in 5 stars hotel, banks, luxury spas have beautiful flawless skin!

Tanning comes & go, unless you do them everyday 24/7 for the rest of your life. But in the end the only thing you'll benefit is either moles, freckles, skin tags or discolorations from sunscreens, lotions, etc. and the more you do, the more they get larger, darker & bumpier. My nephew had a membership in a tanning bed salon for a year. After it expired, he stopped, now he's as white as before he began.

Tanning, is a result for 'damaged skin' and no products can reverse you from skin cancer or damaged skin, may prevent you from pre-mature aging, but that's part of the billion dollar beauty industry.
A new study conducted by the Indiana University School of Medicine Department of Dermatology has found that tanning bed exposure can be dangerous when tanners self-diagnose skin problems and use the radiation to treat skin eruptions. The study specifically found that a tanning bed user that used the radiation to treat a mild skin rash caused by an ibuprofen allergy developed a much more severe reaction called toxic epidermal necrolysis (TEN). When left untreated, TEN can be fatal.
Melanoma is the leading cause of death from skin disease. An estimated 76,259 new cases of skin cancer will be reported particularly among women in their 20's & 30's, and that's 6,020 more than 2011, people died from the disease, according to the National Cancer Institute. Two million people are diagnosed with skin cancer in the US each year, according to the EPA's Sun-Wise Program. That's more than breast, colon, lung and prostate cancer cases combine! Now however, a recently published study suggests that those people with ginger hair and fair complexions face a much higher risk of developing dead skin cancer even if they are completely protected.
Nov 2nd, 2012.

Watch Mirror, Mirror when the evil queen played by Julia Roberts wanted to look as fair as the princess played by Lily Collins. I came from a vacay in Ireland, and many of the people there working in the profession (luxury hotels and banks, etc.) have beautiful white complexion!
This is what beautiful flawless skin looks like:
http://www.glamourmagazine.co.uk/dos-and-donts/hairstyle-pictures-today/2012/05/15/zooey-deschanel-side-swept-chocolate-curls
Google Liv Tyler. http://www.google.com/search?client=safari&rls=en&q=liv+tyler&ie=UTF-8&oe=UTF-8
Or Google Catherine Zeta Jones - she's 42 with beautiful skin.
Watch The Duchess - Keira Knightly has flawless complexion - a natural beauty.
Taylor Swift is another starlet with beautiful skin, in her 20's.
Nicole Kidman has flawless skin or Julianne Moore, who is 7 yrs. younger than me!
Google: Pale Complexion celebrities.About 513,000 results
If you're very tall, very skinny, and pale complexion, you're a desirable model in Asia!

Sunscreen will not protect you from getting burned.

Sunscreen does not protect you from getting moles or freckles, they will only get darker & bumpier or larger from each exposure from the sun.

Sunscreen will not protect you from skin cancer.

Sunscreen will not protect you if you have allergies, I never thought I had allergies!

Sunscreens also discolor your skin - for ever!
Sunscreen also is flammable after it is on your skin. A Massachusetts man said he suffered second-degree burns from a grill after applying sunscreen aerosol spray on parts of his body.

I've been protecting myself from the sun since age 9, but no matter, I got Discoid Lupus. Google that one. It was like someone punched my chin and it gave a purplish mark. It took 12 years for that to fade, so now I'm using a wide brim hat or umbrella for protection. Gene Simmons & Shannon both have been seen hold an umbrella during an event. They were invented before beauty products, for a reason. Google also Bullous Pemphegoid, photos, another skin disorder.

Take the Skin Picture Quiz - Identify These Common Skin Conditions on MedicineNet.

Need Your Advice. 20 Something Female Going to London/Paris NYE 2012?




Theresa


I'm traveling to London/Paris for New Years 2012. I need your help. Can you give me your opinion on places/events for New Year's Eve night? Also, how the weather is around that timeframe. I'm extremely excited and I'm responsible for planning this trip for my best friend and I.

Here is my video explaining EVERYTHING. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TnL82WiWOhg

Thanks so much, guys.



Answer
In LONDON New year eve you can go:
Dinner:
1.Bella Italia has some specialty Italian options for NYE.
2.The Blue Elephant in Fulham is a luxury Thai restaurant offering dinner, traditional Thai dance, music and dancing for £70 each. At midnight greet the New Year with a glass of chilled champagne.
3.Bistrot Bruno Loubet is offering a sumptuous 4 course New Years Eve menu priced at £80 per person. Ttreats include Wild mushroom fricassée with poached egg and parmesan, seafood gratin with truffles and celeriac, and chilli roasted pineapple, passion fruit mousse, coconut tuile.

The big event for New Year's Eve is the free fireworks display at the London Eye on the South Bank. The display will start after Big Ben chimes midnight and will last for 10 minutes. Its popularity means it gets very crowded and it will not be possible to enter the viewing area once capacity has been reached. The best spots to watch the fireworks are from Westminster Bridge and the north embankment of the River Thames, opposite the London Eye, but they will be visible from across central London, as well as being broadcast live on BBC1.

Clubs for new year eve in London:
1.Ministry of Sound: London attracts 5000 people each weekend and has three dance floors and three bars. It has remained popular due to the legendary DJs, such as Pete Tong and Paul Oakenfold. The famous sound system is only ever run at 45% of its full capacity. If it was played at 100% it would be the loudest man-made sound you could hear!
2. Fabric: Super club Fabric has Europe's first bass-loaded "bodysonic" dance floor where bass comes through the floor so clubbers really 'feel' the music. Fabric has 5 sound-systems and 3 bars over two levels and a total area of 25,000 square feet. Oh, and be prepared for unisex toilets.
3. Club Aquarium has five rooms including a swimming pool and a jacuzzi (towels provided) - and there's no other club in the UK that can make that claim! There are also two dance floors and a chill out room, plus a VIP lounge.
4.KOKO is a Camden nightclub and music venue at the bottom of Camden High Street, in a Grade II listed theater building. This 1,500 capacity venue opened in 2004 and has already has had headline performances from Coldplay, Madonna, My Chemical Romance, and Prince.

In PARIS:

The Champs-Elysees is the place to head if you want to be at the center of the party. Starting at around 9 p.m. on New Year's Eve, people start to flock to the famous street, often bringing along bottles and plastic flutes. From many places on the Champs-Elysees, you can get a good view of the Eiffel Tower, which explodes into a sparkling dance of light at the stroke of midnight.
Major fireworks displays can usually be seen from the Champs-Elysees, and there are plenty of spots to go dancing or dining before or after midnight in the area. Although the ambiance here is usually "bon enfant" (literally-- "good child", or harmless), celebrating on the Champs-Elysees calls for you to be especially aware of your personal belongings, as pickpocketing is common in large crowds. Also, this won't be the party of choice for you if you're claustrophobic or crowd-shy.

Dinner:
Traditional Restaurants and Brasseries

The Flo restaurant group is famous for its traditional French brasserie fare. Special New Year's Eve dining is offered at the following of their restaurants:
Brasserie Flo (Metro Chateau d'Eau, Line 4)
Brasserie Julien (Metro Strasbourg-Saint Denis, Line 4)
Vaudeville (Metro Bourse, Line 3)
Le Boeuf sur le Toit (Metro Franklin D. Roosevelt, Line 9)




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

give me the different pricing strategies that you can use to price a product.?

luxury watch brands market share
 on Chanda ranga: Skagen Watches
luxury watch brands market share image



norman m


the product i need to price is a mineral so you can answer with that in mind.


Answer
Premium Pricing:
Use a high price where there is a uniqueness about the product or service. This approach is used where a a substantial competitive advantage exists. Such high prices are charge for luxuries such as Cunard Cruises, Savoy Hotel rooms, and Concorde flights.

Penetration Pricing:
The price charged for products and services is set artificially low in order to gain market share. Once this is achieved, the price is increased. This approach was used by France Telecom in order to

Economy Pricing:
This is a no frills low price. The cost of marketing and manufacture are kept at a minimum. Supermarkets often have economy brands for soups, spaghetti, etc.

Price Skimming:
Charge a high price because you have a substantial competitive advantage. However, the advantage is not sustainable. The high price tends to attract new competitors into the market, and the price inevitably falls due to increased supply. Manufacturers of digital watches used a skimming approach in the 1970s. Once other manufacturers were tempted into the market and the watches were produced at a lower unit cost, other marketing strategies and pricing approaches are implemented.

Premium pricing, penetration pricing, economy pricing, and price skimming are the four main pricing policies/strategies. They form the bases for the exercise. However there are other important approaches to pricing.

Psychological Pricing:
This approach is used when the marketer wants the consumer to respond on an emotional, rather than rational basis. For example 'price point perspective' 99 cents not one dollar.

Product Line Pricing:
Where there is a range of product or services the pricing reflect the benefits of parts of the range. For example car washes. Basic wash could be $2, wash and wax $4, and the whole package $6.

Optional Product Pricing:
Companies will attempt to increase the amount customer spend once they start to buy. Optional 'extras' increase the overall price of the product or service. For example airlines will charge for optional extras such as guaranteeing a window seat or reserving a row of seats next to each other.

Captive Product Pricing:
Where products have complements, companies will charge a premium price where the consumer is captured. For example a razor manufacturer will charge a low price and recoup its margin (and more) from the sale of the only design of blades which fit the razor.

Product Bundle Pricing:
Here sellers combine several products in the same package. This also serves to move old stock. Videos and CDs are often sold using the bundle approach.

Promotional Pricing:
Pricing to promote a product is a very common application. There are many examples of promotional pricing including approaches such as BOGOF (Buy One Get One Free).

Geographical Pricing:
Geographical pricing is evident where there are variations in price in different parts of the world. For example rarity value, or where shipping costs increase price.

Value Pricing:
This approach is used where external factors such as recession or increased competition force companies to provide 'value' products and services to retain sales e.g. value meals at McDonalds.

Differenes between the early 1900's and now?




ivylander


If anyone could tell me some of the differences between the way of life now, as compared to the early 1900's that would be amazing and I would really appreciate it.

Also any good websites comparing now and then would be great as well. Thank you so much.



Answer
In 1900 a person was still likely to find him or herself squatting over a foul fetid hole in an outhouse or sharing a toilet with dozens of others. Even in a 'luxury' hotel or on an Ocean Liner the bathroom was down the hall and shared by dozens! These days even the poorest of the poor have access to indoor plumbing (mostly) and those with homes most often have multiple toilets.
A person in 1900 most likely owned a couple of shirts, a good suit, a couple of pairs of pants, and all were either scratchy wool or cotton requiring ironing to get out wrinkles. NO polyesters or other 'modern' fabrics - - - and clothing was still scarce in 1900 with T-shirts worn beneath a button up SHIRT -- --- --- casual clothing was frowned upon even for the poor!
Movies were brand new, silent and rarely longer than ten minutes in duration. There was no television in 1900. Those of modest middle class means might own an upright piano and the average family enetertained themselves with musical evenings, the children encouraged to learn an instrument or to polish their voices. Newspapers were a big deal in the early 1900s and most homes received a morning as well as a late afternoon or evening paper. People actually read a great deal during the early 1900s - - - magazines and paperback books, 'cheapies' were availible everywhere and so people staved off boredom with books and conversations, real actual face to face conversations.
Though telephones had been around since the 1880s a monopoly by AT & T froze progress. Most everyone shared a party line, so 'dirty' conversations were not encouraged since, much like the toilets of the era, as many as a dozen people might share a single phone line. And when one placed a phone call it was through an operator, no direct dialing, no area codes, one simply picked up the receiver and shouted something along the lines of "I need Northside 88," and a scratchy women's voice would say, "I will see if I can connect you, sir."
Spinster women were the majority of phone operators. It was thought immoral for young women to serve as phone operators since they might strike up a liason with the caller.
In the early 1900s Vaudeville was still King. People many in family groups would spend hours at a theater watching a variety of ten to fifteen minute live acts; a 'dumb' act done silent auch as acrobatings or dancing, a 'dialect' comedian who specialized in Yiddish Humor or Irish Humor or Deutch/German Humor, a singer often accopanied only by a pianist singing four or five songs, a roustabout pratfall comedian, s specialty act such as plate spinning, and so on, with only the top billed enteratainers repeating their act once more during the night.
(By now you will have gathered that you can provide the contrast for 'now')...
The big Sport in the early 1900s was Baseball - - - there was as yet no Professional Football, but, in season, College Football was big and entire communities supported their local University or College. Baseball was king and a majority of Americans could rattle of stats and tell you the names of more than a dozen players. Baseball Stars adorned everyday magazines and in the off season took to the Vadeville Circut giving demonstrations of their talents or even singing or doing comedy for their fans...
Food was purchased almost daily, there was 'ice boxes' in a few homes, cold boxes chilled by blocks of ice but no true refrigerators. Many people dined out at cheap eateries, or heated cans of chili over a hot plate.
Horses were still the main stay of transportation though the average person could rarely afford a horse! Horses pulled street cars, hauled produce to street markets, pulled hearses and carts. Autos were a new thing and just starting to take off. The introduction of the Ford Model T toward the end of the first decade made it possible for millions to purchase a motor vehicle.
The greatest similarity though between then and now was how rapidly people adopted to change and embraced change. In 1900 autos were acrace the airplane unknown and movies were known as 'flickers,' less than 5 minutes in lenth and mostly used to chase people out of theaters shoing live acts. By 1910 the auto was on everyones to buy list, airplanes were the rage, and movies were nudging out theater and vaudeville and big movie palaces were being constructed by 1914.

Peace///////\\\\\\

PS If I had a timne machine then 1890 nto 1920 New York would be my destination!

Double PS and yes there was Crime the more sensational the better to sell newspapers!!! Oh and no radio until the 1920s! Music was called rag time and people were really getting into kicking up their heels. Go watch Charlie Chaplin Comedies for a trip to the past!




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Does Breitling make a Navitimer, or any model watch in a quartz movement?

luxury watches for her
 on ... Red Square Softech Designer Watch | Watches For Her | Watch A Gift
luxury watches for her image



Josh


I hate automatic movements because they always just seem to lose time for me. Quartz are much more reliable. Does Breitling make a quartz movement Navitimer, or any other model?

Also, what other executive/luxury watch brands makes quartz movement watches?
Could you also provide a link to any of the quartz movements you find?



Answer
Breitling Navitimer models are made with Mechanical Automatic Self-Winding Chronometer Movement, and it's Swiss Made.

http://www.findthewatch.com/Search-Result-For-Breitling%20navitimer

If you'd like quartz movement specifically you could take a look at Cartier watches:

http://www.findthewatch.com/Cartier-Watches

Or look for any other fine luxury watches:

http://www.findthewatch.com/

What will be a good woman watch for Valentine day present?




saalanghae


I'm looking to buy my wife a new watch for upcoming Valentines day. She already have few luxury watches (Omega w/ diamonds, Fendy, Gucci, Rolex SS.. etc). She is in mid 30s and don't like it too flashy. I'm somewhat interested in Technomarine Ceramique watch but open for anyother recommendations. What are popular brands nowadays anyway?

Thank you in advance.



Answer
She really want another watch? Since she had already had so many of it. I found some silver bracelets are really amazing. The one named "butterfly loves flowers forever" is best to express your love to your real soul mate at that special day.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

What are some poems about home being the best treasure?

used luxury watches for women
 on Used Vintage Cartier Watches - Men's & Women's Watches
used luxury watches for women image



WildAt<3


I need a poem about appreciating what you have and home being the greatest treasure.
Oh, that poem was soo good. I think it just may work. Can you please help me like analyze it a little more though? I get the part where it says home is just something money can't buy. But that's about it.



Answer
How about this by Edgar A. Guest? I hope the country dialect doesn't spoil it for you--seems to have what you want:

HOME

It takes a heap o' livin' in a house t' make it home,
A heap o' sun an' shadder, an' ye sometimes have t' roam
Afore ye really 'preciate the things ye lef' behind,
An' hunger fer 'em somehow, with 'em allus on yer mind.
It don't make any differunce how rich ye get t' be,
How much yer chairs an' tables cost, how great yer luxury;
It ain't home t' ye, though it be the palace of a king,
Until somehow yer soul is sort o' wrapped round everything.

Home ain't a place that gold can buy or get up in a minute;
Afore it's home there's got t' be a heap o' livin' in it;
Within the walls there's got t' be some babies born, and then
Right there ye've got t' bring 'em up t' women good, an' men;
And gradjerly as time goes on, ye find ye wouldn't part
With anything they ever used -- they've grown into yer heart:
The old high chairs, the playthings, too, the little shoes they wore
Ye hoard; an' if ye could ye'd keep the thumb-marks on the door.

Ye've got t' weep t' make it home, ye've got t' sit an' sigh
An' watch beside a loved one's bed, an' know that Death is nigh;
An' in the stillness o' the night t' see Death's angel come,
An' close the eyes o' her that smiled, an' leave her sweet voice dumb.
Fer these are scenes that grip the heart, an' when yer tears are dried,
Ye find the home is dearer than it was, an' sanctified;
An' tuggin' at ye always are the pleasant memories
O' her that was an' is no more -- ye can't escape from these.

Ye've got t' sing an' dance fer years, ye've got t' romp an' play,
An' learn t' love the things ye have by usin' 'em each day;
Even the roses 'round the porch must blossom year by year
Afore they 'come a part o' ye, suggestin' someone dear
Who used t' love 'em long ago, an' trained 'em jes t' run
The way they do, so's they would get the early mornin' sun;
Ye've got t' love each brick an' stone from cellar up t' dome:
It takes a heap o' livin' in a house t' make it home.

What are some good tanning supplies for fair skinned people ?




haleigh


I'm fair skinned and self consious about it . I need to start tanning but I need something that will work . I'm blonde haired and blue eyed so it won't be easy . I hate it . Please help !


Answer
Pale complexion don't tan, they burn.
Tanning comes & go, unless you do them everyday 24/7 for the rest of your life. But in the end the only thing you'll benefit is either moles, freckles, skin tags or discolorations from sunscreens, lotions, etc. and the more you do, the more they get larger, darker & bumpier. My nephew had a membership in a tanning bed salon for a year. After it expired, he stopped, now he's as white as before he began.

Tanning, is a result for 'damaged skin' and no products can reverse you from skin cancer or damaged skin, may prevent you from pre-mature aging, but that's part of the billion dollar beauty industry.

Melanoma is the leading cause of death from skin disease. An estimated 76,690 new cases of skin cancer will be reported particularly among women in their 20's & 30's, and that's 6,020 more than 2011, people died from the disease, according to the National Cancer Institute. Two million people are diagnosed with skin cancer in the US each year, according to the EPA's Sun-Wise Program. That's more than breast, colon, lung and prostate cancer cases combine! Now however, a recently published study suggests that those people with ginger hair and fair complexions face a much higher risk of developing dead skin cancer even if they are completely protected.
Nov 2nd, 2012.

Watch Mirror, Mirror when the evil queen played by Julia Roberts wanted to look as fair as the princess played by Lily Collins. I came from a vacay in Ireland, and many of the people there working in the profession (luxury hotels and banks, etc.) have beautiful white complexion!
This is what beautiful flawless skin looks like:
http://www.glamourmagazine.co.uk/dos-and-donts/hairstyle-pictures-today/2012/05/15/zooey-deschanel-side-swept-chocolate-curls
Google Liv Tyler. http://www.google.com/search?client=safari&rls=en&q=liv+tyler&ie=UTF-8&oe=UTF-8
Or Google Catherine Zeta Jones - she's 42 with beautiful skin.
Watch The Duchess - Keira Knightly has flawless complexion - a natural beauty.
Taylor Swift is another starlet with beautiful skin, in her 20's.
Nicole Kidman has flawless skin (barely wears makeup) or Julianne Moore, who is 7 yrs. younger than me! http://www.dailymail.co.uk/tvshowbiz/article-2325045/Cannes-Film-Festival-2013-Nicole-Kidman-protects-big-hair-umbrella.html

Google: Pale Complexion celebrities.About 513,000 results


I've been protecting myself from the sun since age 9, but no matter, I got Discoid Lupus. Google that one. It was like someone punched my chin and it gave a purplish mark. It took 12 years for that to fade, so now I'm using a wide brim hat or umbrella for protection. Gene Simmons & Shannon both have been seen hold an umbrella during an event. They were invented before beauty products, for a reason. Google also Bullous Pemphegoid, photos I posted of my mother was too gross & deleted, another skin disorder.

Take the Skin Picture Quiz - Identify These Common Skin Conditions on MedicineNet.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Thursday, October 10, 2013

Why did my guy roommate ask me this?!?

cool luxury watches for women
 on Cool Luxury Sport Style Auto Mechanical Mens Watch freeship-in ...
cool luxury watches for women image



Audrey Z


I lived with this guy as roommates in an apartment for about 6 months. We're still friends, but he has a serious GF, and we've never even talked about anything even remotely sexual.

Well, the other night he was drunk and just asked me out of the blue if I ever thought about making out with him or sleeping with him when we lived together.

I don't really understand why he would want to know this? Should I just ignore it and continue being friends?



Answer
As you know, alcohol is a depressant and can remove some inhibitions temporarily (example: That horrible night you started singing 'You're the Best' by Joe the Bean Esposito after a night of jello shots watching the Karate Kid movie marathon). The fact that your friend was drunk probably means that he had a sudden urge to know your answer and it has nothing to do with his relationship with his girlfriend.

Being a guy, I can honestly say that we usually keep our mouths shut when expressing sexual interest can screw (no pun intended) something up for us at home or work. So, since you are no longer in a living situation with this guy and he's known you for a while, it might simply be something he wanted to know. It's not necessarily an indication that he wants to sleep with you as much as reinforcement of his own ego.

If this friend brings up the question again or makes some further indications he has the hots for you, gently reinforce your friendship and that you were happier not knowing his sexual interest in you. You could also tell him to cool it or you'll stop being friends, or sever the relationship altogether. I have a feeling he'll be more embarassed than anything else - having a friend that is a girl while dating another woman is all to rare a luxury for guys and I'd personally be upset with myself if putting my foot in my mouth like that ruined a perfectly good friendship.

Will God reward my two friends equally?




AcetheRace


Will God reward my two friends equally?

My male friend is a poor man from a poor family and he has a learning disability and he is currently unemployed and is unable to find a job and he still lives at home with his family, he shows alot of heart and compassion towards his friendships and will do anything in the world for his friends, he loves his friends the way Jesus Christ loves each and every one of us and he's not afraid to show his love towards his friends, he is very hyperactive and gets wound up very easily, his only means of transportation is getting around by bus and bicycle, sadly people tend to shun him cause of his overly hyperactive attitude and him showing a ton of compassion towards his friends.

My female friend is a rich wealthy woman from a rich wealthy family and she works for a public relations company and lives in a nice condo overlooking a huge lake, has lots of nice clothes, owns a nice luxury car and gets to go to alot of rock concerts, she does care for her friends and people tend to adore her cause of her laid back personality, she shows a good amount of compassion towards her friends but is more laid back and easygoing about how she feels and she would do anything in the world for her friends, she has helped another poor man (another person) with a learning disability to find confidence in himself and she also helped the same poor man accomplish more out of life.

I'm not sure what my male friend's religious status is but my female friend is a Catholic and she has accepted Christ as her saviour.

Also will both of these two people experience the same amount of peace, joy, love and happiness when they enter the Kingdom of Heaven?



Answer
Your friends remind me of a Bible story about a rich man and Lazarus...

By believing in Jesus and being âsavedâ the wanking Bible writers tell you that you will get one of the first seats in Heaven to watch how the vast majority of all the human beings perhaps into the TRILLIONS including your âunsavedâ family members and old acquaintances will be especially tormented one by one in a sulfuric lake of fire or what have you for ever and ever. You will be encouraged to poke fun at them actually by showing a wet big finger sticking up for them to lick to quench their thirst because Jesus says that in Hell there is no fresh water and you can tease them all you want for ever and ever! Thatâs HEAVEN! No wonder Jesus said that you must hate your father and your mother and everybody else to follow him, especially if they are "unsaved" and go to HELL! You will hear a lot of âI told you soâ¦â from Sweet Jesus! Amen? He thought of everything even some low IQ teasing games that WE CAN ALL PLAY with the damned in Hell! Heaven is for the childlike poor and uneducated so please bear with me in this story written by the wanking authors of Godâs Holy Word, the Bible!

Luke 16:23-25-NIV (Jesus is telling usâ¦) AND BEING IN TORMENTS IN HELL, he* (*Not a gay person, or a Godless Atheist, or and abortionist, but a rich Jewish person whom Jesus knew personally! In those days to be rich was the fad sin of the day.) lifted up his eyes and saw Abraham afar off, and Lazarus in his bosom* (*If you go to Hell you will recognize EVERYBODY in Heaven especially your family members, and vise versa!). âThen he cried and said, âFather Abraham, have mercy on me, and send Lazarus that he may dip the tip of his finger in water and cool my tongue; FOR I AM TORMENTED IN THIS FLAME.â (and Jesus all excited and turned on like mad continues the story telling⦠BTW, at this point you can tell the necessary IQ level to believe all this crap âin your heart!â Christians love Jesus!) But Abraham said, âSon* (*Abraham was an ancestor of this rich man! Notice how little compassion any member of your own family will have on you when you end up in Hell!), remember that in your lifetime you received your good things* (*again. in this story to be rich is a sin! Christian preachers now use it to make it applicable to ANY SIN!), and likewise Lazarus evil things; but now he is comforted* (* for all eternity, for ever and ever, and ever! billions and trillions of yearsâ¦!) and YOU ARE TORMENTED!

Believe it or not, there is hardly any other specific description in the Bible of what else any Christian will be doing in Heaven except for âworshipingâ this narcissist Bible God DAY AND NIGHT for ever and ever while poking fun at the damned in Hellâ¦!!! Christians need to forget that the Bible writers are telling us that during the âCreation Weekâ as soon as God created Heaven and the angels 1/3 of them were not one bit impressed with Godâs beauty and Holiness and rebelled against him on the spot under the leadership of Lucifer* (*Light Bearer â The most beautiful Angel ever created!) and they became Demons and Satan, and so on.

The Bible God promised the Jews to be ârich lenders and not borrowersâ like this rich man in Hell, otherwise IF THEY DONâT OBEY they will be poor âslaves and borrowersâ like Lazarus in Heaven! I know it sounds screwy, but what the heck thatâs the story that the Bible writers managed to say! Thatâs why I get a lot of email telling me that not everything in the Bible should be taken literally⦠short of seriously! Especially the silly teasing words that Sweet Jesus aka âCreator of the Universeâ will personally enjoy hearing and watching the Christians POKE AT ALL THOSE IN HELL FOR EVER AND EVER for not believing in Jesus, or for never hearing about him, or not having the mental faculties in order to accept Jesus, or not being obedient to the clergy, or not being respectful at all the Christian religious displays in public places, or not paying the tithes and offerings ON TIME! It will be a long time before anybody in Heaven can possibly get bored! Only Jesus knows what other torments await for those in HELLâ¦!!! Low IQ people will love to be entertained for ever and ever like that⦠or wouldnât they? Thatâs about the only hope that they have on being right on anything! What the heck! It is all in the Bible that Christians hardly read!

Luke 19:27 (NIV) (Sweet Jesus is very excited telling this other story, too!) But those enemies of mine who did not want me to be king over themâbring them here AND KILL THEM IN FRONT OF ME!* (*Not even the Mafia measures up to Jesus! Christianity surely is a âslaughter houseâ religion and the preachers know how to profit out of it!)

Revelation 14:10-11 (NIV) [Jesus says] "he, too, will drink of the wine of God's fury, which has been poured full strength into the cup of his wrath. HE WILL BE TORMENTED WITH BURNING SULFUR IN THE PRESENCE OF THE HOLY ANGELS AND OF THE LAMB* (*i.e. Sweet Jesus Christ, and the Christians who managed to be saved in spite of all the hurdles that Jesus set up -John 17:24 will enjoy watching!) And THE SMOKE OF THEIR TORMENT RISES FOR EVER AND EVER. There is no rest day or night for those who worship the beast and his image, or for anyone who receives the mark of his name."

At the same time The Christians will be worshipping God day and Night WITHOUT REST FOR EVER AND EVER AND EVER⦠Just how narcissist can the Bible God possibly get?

Revelation 4:8-9 (KJV) â¦and they REST NOT DAY AND NIGHT, saying, Holy, holy, holy, Lord God Almighty, which was, and is, and is to come* (*thatâs also some stuff that the Christians will be doing for ever and ever and ever when they get to Heaven). And when those beasts give glory and honour and thanks to him that sat on the throne, who liveth for ever and ever, The four and twenty elders fall down before him that sat on the throne, and worship him that liveth for ever and ever, and cast their crowns before the throneâ¦

In reality there is no Heaven or Hell, God or Devil outside of the Bible. Even some the most honest Bible writers say so, too. The whole idea is a very primitive religious people control device and a money making scheme banking on human gullibility!

Ecclesiastes 9:5,10 (NIV)
[5] For the living know that they will die, but the dead know nothing; they have no further reward* (*The grave is the final reward!), and even the memory of them is forgotten* (*Not true in all cases, but what the heck thatâs what some primitive Bible writers knew at that time! Although Ecclesiastes was written by King Solomon, the wisest man ever to set foot on this Earth! Not even God the Son Jesus Christ was as wise as King Shlomo!). [10] WHATEVER your hand finds to do, DO IT WITH ALL YOUR MIGHT* (*without any restriction just be wise!), for in the grave, where you are going, there is neither working nor planning nor knowledge nor wisdom* (*Praise the LORD! Amen?).

Ecclesiastes 3:19 (NIV)
Man's fate is like that of the animals; the same fate awaits them both: As one dies, so dies the other. All have the same breath; man has no advantage over the animal. Everything is vanity.

The writers of the Book of Job admitted the same destiny for humankindâ¦

Job 7:9 (NIV)
As a cloud vanishes and is goneâ¦
so he who goes down to the grave does not returnâ¦

In spite of all these verses in the Bible that speak loud and clear about humanityâs final destiny Christians are still giving me a thumb-down. Christians are very selective in what they want to believe from the Bible. That is why Christians have so many Church brands to choose from!




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

I have about 8,000 U.S. dollars to invest? Im open and willing to anything I don't mind taking risk.?

luxury watches for sale uk
 on ... Watches, Luxury Watches & Jewellery, Rolex Submariner for Sale UK
luxury watches for sale uk image
Q. I have connections in China to get whatever I want basically. I was thinking getting some fake rolex, breitling, ect. But I dont know what demand would be for it. So I would only spend a couple thousand. Im also considering buying some land in Jordan because it is a rapidly developing country. Stocks? Is obvious but im in no way an expert.


Answer
Fake designer goods don't appreciate in value in the same way that an investment in stocks, precious metals or commodities do. It's still fake and possesses no real value as a luxury good even if you can induce someone to buy it based on the value of the real thing.

The value of land in Jordan should be tied to the expansion of it's economy and the rate at which private sector jobs are created at levels which increase disposable income. New housing for sale or rent, to which purpose your land might be devoted, depends upon an expanding economy that produces jobs and disposable income plus credit. You need to know more about the Jordanian economy and how easy or difficult it to develop land for commercial, industrial or residential purposes before tying up your money there.

Stock markets are far more liquid than land, but they are also more volatile, generally speaking. If this is a possibility, then try Jim Cramer's show on CNBC called "Mad Money." He is a bona fide stock picker with decades of experience. Watching his show will expose you to stock market realities and risks which you need to know about before you decide to invest. And this is true whether you invest your money in companies listed on the New York Stock Exchange or the stock exchanges in the UK, France, Germany, Japan et cetera.

Good luck.

NFL Team in Toronto within the next 6 years?

Q. Now I don't want to start anything or any arguments so please only comment if it is a good answer no answers like "You already have th CFL" or "It's our League" because it stopped being your league when you started playing world wide and broadcasting Internationally. So my question isn in the next 5 - 6 year do you think the Bills or another team may relocate to Toronto (of course after LA gets a looking at before Toronto). I do realize the Bills in Toronto hasn't been the most sell out games but thats mainly because the tickets cost 4X the usual price. Here are some bits of info from another persons answer.

Greater Toronto-Hamilton Area "GTHA"

Population: 6,248,823 (2006)
Area: 4,564.9 sq mi

Dallas-Fort Worth Metropolitian Area (US Rank: 4th behind Chicago, NY, and LA)

Population: 6,599,850 (2009)
Area: 9,286 sq mi

Essentially, if Toronto were in the United States it would be the 5th largest market, maybe 4th depending on Toronto's growth in the last 3 years.

CORPORATE SUPPORT

Corporate support is the most vital thing for ANY professional sports franchise to have. Aside from the obvious Ad revenue, private boxes and the luxury seats are where teams make the most money. The average person does not have the money to buy seasons on the 50 yard line or to rent a private box for the season. This is Toronto's biggest asset.

The Largest Corporate Centers in the world according too...

Worldwide Centres of Commerce Index (UK Study, 2009)

1. London
2. New York
5. Chicago
13. TORONTO (#3 in North America)
17. Los Angeles (#4 in North America)

World's Most Economically Powerful Cities (Forbes, 2009)

1. London
2. Hong Kong
3. New York
5. Chicago
8. Los Angeles
10. TORONTO

Global Financial Centres Index (UK Study, 2009)

1. New York
6. Chicago
12. TORONTO
14. Boston

Toronto was also on Entrepreneur Magazine's top 10 emerging financial centers. Essentially the Toronto market has the third (or fourth in Forbes case, which is quite frankly the least reliable of the lists) most important financial center in North America meaning it has lots of corporate dough to go around.

Also Rob Ford has said that a new stadium will be privately funded and seats will be sold to people to help generate money like they did in Chicago. Rogers and the Blue Jays Franchise are interseted in purchasing a current franchise both are million and bilion dollar franchises and industries and adding the seat sales and the fact that Toronto is 5th or 4th biggest market in North America it looks like it could be fesable. The only problem I can see it TV contracts. The only thing I can see being done is all Toronto games sold to CBC or another major network or a network in Canada buying games off of us stations and broadcasting games. I also realize it basically means the end of the Argonauts but not the CFL and I honestly think it can survive without Toronto. So basically do you think in the next 6 or so years we will be a team in Toronto.
And for all the people saying the stadium is always half empty when the Bills come to town you are wrong. The Rogers Center can hold 54,00 people and the 5 games played so far drew crowds of:

Pre Season: 48,434 and 39,583.
Regular Season: 52,134 - 51,567 and 50,746.

With tickets 4X regular prices I would say it has been a success.


Answer
no, simply because it is the Nfl, N stands for national. they have those international games to show predominately soccer countries the sport of American Football. They broadcast internationally cause once they have instilled that love of the game the people in other countries who want to watch can. Plus it is up to the owners and then they have to get permission from the upper dogs, who would almost certainly say no, then there is Canada's Gov., who might not be happy with 50000 people crossing the border for one day. I mean, to get permission to relocate takes forever. Don't believe me? The Broncos are gonna change jersey colors in 2012, mostly cause they didn't get approval in time for the 2011 season.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers