Saturday, June 14, 2014

Family life in the 1950's?




patricia d


Essential Question How did the aftermath of World War II effect the family roles in a 1950's household and in society?

I'm writing a research paper on this topic, I have a lot of idea but i was wondering if anyone could give me link to first hand accounts or just general information about life in the 1950's

direct answers to the question would be great to!!
focusing mostly on American middle class( focusing on other classes would be great to.. but i have a maximum of 7 pages..)



Answer
Summary of Culture and Life in the 1950's...............................


The 1950's represent a variety of things to many different people. It was a time of
growth, capitalism, conservatism, and anticommunism. With the baby boom in full swing,
suburbs were appearing near large cities. Highways were being constructed to connect suburbs
to each other across the nation. They also connected the nuclear family to vacation spots and to
the rest of their extended family. Capitalism grew as world powers including the United States
and the United Kingdom tried to defeat communism. Anticommunism lead to the conflict in
Korea as well as McCarthyism, which cost many people their jobs. The cold war, fueled by
communism, had new fronts to be fought and weapons to potentially be used. The first
American satellite to orbit the earth, named Explorer 1, came near the end of the decade.
Eisenhower, elected president in 1953 and 1957, helped promote the field of nuclear technology,
leading to American school children being taught to hide under desks in case of an attack and
adults building shelters in their backyards.1
Life was not all about fear however. Restrictions on products available were lifted,
some more quickly than others, depending on the country's recovery rate from World War II.2
This was also the time of Elvis and rock'n'roll, James Dean and Marlon Brando, and sex symbols
Marilyn Monroe and Brigitte Bardot. Elizabeth II was coronated Queen of England in 1953,
nearly 400 years after the first Queen Elizabeth. The first jet liner carrying passengers took
flight in 1958.3 Alaska and Hawaii became states in 1959, and public schools across the nation
became desegregated. And who could resist flying saucer watching? Teens became their own
subgroup, and with a pre-cursor to MTV, American Bandstand became a popular TV show.
Kitchen appliances were appearing in pastel colors, and aerial TVs were in just about every
home4.
Along with the changes in the rest of life in the 1950's, fashion was undergoing many
of its own changes, and was greatly influenced by things like music and movie idols. Having
style quite often meant taking luxury to extremes.5 Couture of the early fifties included a
batwinged peplum with an easily detachable trained overskirt, a cocktail dress with a corolla
bosom, the color shocking pink, and designs by the American Charles James.6 Designs by Dior
included âen vol,â a double apron day dress, hugely bloused tops in the style of an artist's smock,
very tight skirts, and Peter Pan collars. Balenciaga and Balmain were other Parisian couture
designers. These designersâ styles were modified for the average woman. Other styles included
pinafore dresses with polo neck jumpers or for secretaries, crisp, white blouses, and somewhat
sensible shoes. A black leotard with a long circular skirt and stole, and corduroy smock and
knickerbockers suit were also popular styles. People in the art community preferred baggy
clothes, such as raincoats and over-sized sweaters, and suits, pressed or wrinkled. Men's evening
clothes did not experience many changes. Men's outerwear did experience a few changes; theâbikerâ look came into style, as well as double breasted suits with theatrical cloaks, and a tighter
version of the Edwardian frock coat.
Hairstyles in this time were also changing. Chemical hair treatments were available for
use at home, but they were not entirely safe and so many women went to professional
hairstylists.7 Women had to get their hair cut and permed at six to seven week intervals, with
washing and setting once every week to week and a half by the hairdresser. Girls wore rollers
and hairnets to bed at night. They also pulled their hair back with a band of velvet during the
daytime. Men wore their hair short, as long hair was âunmanly.â
The late fifties was the time of teenagers. They now had jobs and therefore money to
spend, giving them more power to dictate popular styles8. Girls wore buttoned cardigans and
simples skirts or pinafore dresses with stockings and stilettos. Some girls wore tight trousers and
ballet shoes, since high heels were not considered appropriate with that style. Summer clothes
included cotton skirts with layered petticoats. Leisure clothes were typically jeans know as
âdungareesâ or pedal pusher capris, also known as pirate pants, with a shirt of some kind,
sometimes a man's shirt.9 For formal events, girls dressed like adults. For informal events, they
quite often wore what became known as poodle skirts, consisting of wool felt with large hems
and appliqués, with a high waisted belt, a tight fitting blouse tucked in, and high heels. Boys had
choices including Italian jackets, fluorescent socks, leather jackets, jeans, shaggy sweaters, and
sandals.10 If a young man wanted to deviate from the norm, darker colors, rougher textures, and
crumpled clothes would get peoples' attention.11 One example of this was the Teddy Boys; they
were seen as anti-social for being non-conformist.
Fashion was suddenly going backwards, no longer starting in Paris. Another change
was mass production.12 During the Second World War, clothes manufactures had found ways to
produce more clothes faster and cheaper, and this continued after the war, allowing mass
production for the general public to replace custom made clothing. This caused Parisian fashion
houses to start working with mass retailers and at the same time started the idea of âplanned
obsolescence,â meaning twice a year, the previous season's styles were to be replaced with the
new season's styles. In order to protect their styles at fashion shows, everything from cameras to
sketchbooks were banned. Fabric and fiber availability increased as well; synthetics greatly
expanded choices, and this allowed advances in leisure wear, underwear, and sportswear, among
others. Men's dress changed in that vests, hats, and suspenders decreased in popularity, while
belts, zippers, and cardigans gained popularity. Men working in an office typically wore a suit,
known widely as âthe gray flannel suit,â although it was not always gray flannel; in 1950 Pierre
Cardin designed a suit of stripped cotton. Leisure clothes were changing from military looking
to colorful, comfortable sweaters, poplin shirts, and slip-on shoes. Popular women's styles were
still influenced by Dior, Jaques Griffe, and Marion.13 They included day suits, trapeze dresses, a
return to the twenties' hobbled day dresses, and day dresses with stiff white collars, wide belts,box pleats at the waist, and skirts with a bounce. Coco Channel was another designer, however
she designed clothes for women in the real world with ease, comfort and practicality.14 Her look
included straight skirts, sometimes with box pleats, a single breasted cardigan, sometimes with
lapels, braid and ribbon trims in contrasting colors, and blouses with pussycat bows. Her
thoughts were âFashion fades; only style remains the same.â With the baby boom came the
appearance of maternity clothes.15 It was now a possibility to be pregnant and be in style. The
ideal image of a woman at this time was a housewife, although many photographs indicate the
woman should look like a doll, complete with a heart shaped apron, and was always covered in
frills.16 If the woman had to work outside the home, she wore trim closely fitted close similar to
an airline stewardess, in high heels, emphasizing fragility and curves. Social entertainment dress
was âswan-neckedâ and âsoft shoulderedâ with a ârustling taffeta skirt, shimmering silks,â or
âpastel nylon net decorated with lace, ribbons and sequins.â Parts of dress not thought of often
include corsets, brassieres, nylon hose, and make-up. Corsets still held their place in a woman's
wardrobe, as the ideal body figure was the figure eight hourglass shape, to attract a man for
marriage. Strapless brassieres were becoming more important, since dresses were being
designed without straps as well. Nylon hose improved in fineness, cost, and shape. This may
have led to skirt length shortening, from lower calf to above the knee. Movie make-up artists
took advantage of the release of restrictions to encourage women to wear a light coating of rouge
and eye shadow, liquid eyeliner, and large amounts of mascara, but lipstick was the most
important part.
Summary of Interview with Dianna Dutka
According to Dianna, the styles that were most popular for females were knee length felt skirts,
cashmere cardigans, bobby socks with black and white saddle shoes or high heels, dresses with
pinched waists, and the back collars on all blouses turned up. Men wore gray flannel suits. The
style she and her friends followed was Channel and Bill Blass, and very conservative. The
âcoolâ clothes of the time were skirts, sweaters, and circle felt skirts. Dianna stated that most
girls were influenced by Marilyn Monroe and the guys by James Dean. A popular hairstyle for
guys was called the âduck ass haircut.â She didn't have restrictions regarding what she wore
outside of her catholic school. Movie idols included Frank Sinatra, the Rat Pack, Marilyn
Monroe, and Bobby Darin. Music idols included the Beatles, Les Paul, Mary Flord, Henry
Mancini, Nat King Cole, Perry Como, Diah Shore, Ester Williams, Tony Curtis, Jerry Lewis, and
Dean Martin. Johnnie Ray was popular for make out songs, and Bill Halley and the Comets
were famous for the song âRock Around The Clock.â Technological advances included black
and white TVs without remotes, phones with dials, microwaves, automatic transmission cars,
automatic windows, and âHollywood Muffler Pipes.â Popular TV shows included Ed Sullivan
who had the Beatles and Milton Berle among others on his show, Gunsmoke, Rawhide, and Hit
Parade. Radio shows were mainl

Do you judge people on the clothes they wear?




maddy005


Are you turned on by people who claim to have a superior dressing sense?

Why do people disparage others because of their clothes?



Answer
Hi Maddy, for me it is not so much about being "turned on" by those who dress well, but more about being "turned off" by those who don't. I fully understand many people are very poor, and I have been that poor myself, so folks who lack funds are not going to be able to dress as well as they might like. It is not folks who have difficulty purchasing decent clothing, but rather those who do, but choose not to.

It is human nature to judge others, and while I do try hard to see a person for who they are and not for the package they are in, it sometimes is difficult when a person who chooses to seperate him or herself from the crowd by dressing in negitive manners. Many of us here in the United States like to lay claim to not having "classes". However, this is simply not true. In other answers to question(s) you put forth, we spoke a bit about this. About how we have failed to achieve a "classless" society. We can all tell if somebody is of "our class" by how an individual dresses and comports oneself. If I walked into a fine resteraunt in my jeans and a nice blouse and sandles, (my usual dress of choice) I would be frowned upon by the patrons and probably expelled from the establishment. The excuse would be I did not meet the dress requirements, but the real reason would be they clearly see I am not of that class who frequents that particular establishment. Once, my deceased husband took me to a very nice resteraunt, one which catered to more affluant folks. I did not object as he was proud to take me to this nice place, it was a treat he had planned for a while. However, I was very conscience of the disaproving looks and the snooty attitude of our waiter. We stayed and had a nice meal, but it was difficult to actually enjoy it. My dear husband was oblivious to the under currents and I kept him there as it would only have hurt him to think I felf undeserving of eating at a particular place. Men seem a bit less sensitive to such social barriers, but women are right on top of them. Why this is true simply goes to the way we are raised, to recognize the needs of those around us and to try to meet them.

I do have to say I don't actually care for the "upper" levels of society here in this country or any Western culture. If we were to become wealthy I and my husband would not feel "part" of those who have "old" money. We also would not feel "part" of others who had "new" money and enjoy flashing it around by making large purchases and wearing expensive jewlery, etc. Those who are new to wealth tend to flash, while those who were born wealthy live rather understated, but in luxury. I watch some of those "fashion" shows and am appalled at some of the clothing offered for thousands of dollars. I wouldn't be caught dead in many of those outfits! I remember an episode of "I Love Lucy", where they were in Paris and Lucy and her friend despertly wanted a "designer" dress. Well, Ricky and Fred went out and got some flour sacks, a couple of buckets for hats, and made "designer" dresses for the "girls". Of course this was to teach them a lesson of falling into the fashion debacles. When the "girls" opened boxes seemingly from a famous designer, they were wowed, and put on these rediculous made up atrocious dresses and went out like they were some snooty snobby rich women in designer clothing. Of course they were laughed at and humiliated, and everyone watching the show thought it funny.

I however thought it horrid husbands would treat wifes like children. While the I Love Lucy show is from a different time, (thank God!) it still goes to the heart of class and wealth and how people judge by looks, clothing and attitudes. Living in the most highest class of this country means disembling and lying about how one feels about others. People are sweet and accepting to your face, but while smiling they tear you apart with barbs and quips meant to hurt and maim. I simply am unable to tolerate such behavior and so I would stand out as an outsider in such a crowd. I would also be a priime victem of such behaviors as with me what you see is what you get, there is not an ounce of subterfuge or dishonesty about me. I am judged because I am unable to lie or be dishonest. People just don't know how to take me and so are suspicious of me. They simply have trouble believing I don't have any hidden motives or agendas with them. I understand, but it is difficult to find good friends who are able to give back at the level I give. My children are in the same predictiment as they were raised to be kind and honest, not decietful or mean spirited, or selfish.

I sure do get off track don't I? lol Anyway, sure we all judge others by how they dress. It can go both ways though, judged for dressing too poorly for the class you are in, or for dressing to flashy for the class your weath puts you in. If a person wishes to really "belong" he or she has to make a decison to comform. Only the richest folks are able to be truely different and get away with it. Instead of being weird or lacking in some manner they are labled, "quirky", or "eccentric", and everybody chuckles with fond amusement, rather than in any negitive manner. However, if you or I do the same, we are judged negitively, right or wrong it is a fact of life.

I choose to not comform, and as such I pay a price. It was once an unconscience choice, one I just felt right, and the price then was hurt feelings and feeling of not belonging. However, as I grew older I began to understand exactly what I would be giving up if I choose to comfrom. Happiness can be very allusive for those who choose to comform. Comforming may bring materialistic items by gaining social acceptance and increasing ones power by climbing the corperate and social ladders, but it stiffles who the person really is. When we are stiffled how can we truly be happy?

The children who take the road their folks laid out for them may do well in life finacially but often will be unhappy as it is not the road they may have chosen for themselves. Clothing is a part of that as well as how one conducts oneself. We are groomed from childhood and that demarks who we are for the rest of our lives unless we make a conscience decison to buck the rules and expectations of those around us. By doing this we will pay a price, but for me it is a price I am willing to pay. Happiness if far more important to me than wealth or dressing in the newest designer clothing, or having the latest electronic gadgets, or driving a brand new Lexus every two years, or having a house I need a maid or two to care for, etc. There are websites all over which depict wealthy but unhappy spouses who are searching for extramarital affairs. The Eagles song, "Lying Eyes", about the young woman who married for wealth and went out to the poorer section of town for love really outlines this situation.

Anyway, sure people judge others by how they dress and yes some are turned on by those in flashy clothing, and fancy cars. However, it represents a lie: there may be comforts and security in weatlh, but it doesn't mean there will be happiness. However, we will continue to judge others by their appearance, regardless of how much we know this is wrong and unfair. We mean well, we really do, however, those first ten seconds of meeting somebody is the lasting impression we take with us. If we don't put forward our best in those first ten seconds we will be relegated to a lower class. How we dress and grooom ourselves is vital when we wish to make a good impression. For example: If a boy were to come to pick your daughter up for a date and he had on black leather and boots and drove up on a Harly, would you really want your child leaving with him? He could be the nicest person around and be wonderful to her, but the first impression is one of danger and one who bucks society. Then again, if he showed up dressed in nice slacks, in his fathers lexus, or BMW, brought flowers, and spoke well, was polite, came to the door, the likelihood of a father feeling relief is huge. The young man could have simply changed prior to coming to pick his girl up, and still be exactly the same guy on the bike a few hours ago. We can shed and put on new skin at any moment, purposely disguising who we really are. We use clothing, attitudes, etc, as masks, and most people wear masks.

Even knowing this truth, we still fall into that first ten second judgement of any person we first meet. First impressions last a very long time and are difficult to shed once it is established. If that same young man who was dressed well, spoke well, polite, later drove up on that bike in leather and boots, that first impression would be juxaposed on top and still viable. He could then get away with being who he really is as long as he pulls out his first impression getup every so often. There are many who have perfected the art of first impressions while hiding who they truely are. These folks have agendas we may not like the affects of and many are grifters. There are those who have refined the art so well they can merge with one crowd after another and nobody would know the difference. Look at undercover cops who get down into the underbelly of society, then come home to the wife and children. They are affective at what they do, and it is needed, but it shows how we need to really take care in how we allow that moment of first impression to affect our judgement.

Well, again, a question which is seemingly simple, but is quiet complex. You are very good at these types of question, Maddy! lol I tend to think a lot, and as such can over do a subject. I often found it difficult in school to keep my term papers on topic, as one easily leads to a connecting topic, which leads to a next, then to another and so on and so forth. Each componant is related, but can take me on a journey far supassing the original subject. lol

Like anybody else, I have a "normal" dress style, but still enjoy "dressing up". I have several very nice dresses and all the related items, and enjoy the looks I get when I wear one of these outfits. However, I still am a jeans and blouse Lady, who is from the country, and this is what is presented in daily life. I also enjoy wearing nice feminine suites, but am not particulary comfortable in them. I am most comfortable and feel more myself in my jeans, nice blouse, and sneakers, or cute sandels. If somebody wishes to judge me so be it. lol I am old enough to not really care that much for what others think, and that is very freeing. Oh, I still care about my loved ones opinions and I hate being looked down upon, but the freedom of just being me is well worth it, don't you agree? My husband seems to think I am something special and I think he has on rose colored glasses. Then again, I think he is somebody special and he thinks I have on rose colored glasses. My point is I find people the most attractive who are decent human beings with honor, integrity, ethics, kindness, etc, but don't know just how great they are. Once somebody "knows" they are great, then they get a big head and simply lose that element of uniqueness. Once somebody starts believing they are truly something special, well they lose that special quality. It is in the lack of knowlege that I find so sweet and compelling. A person can have a high level of self esteem and confidence and yet not have a "big head" and that is the most attractive quality for me. It is the person who has a solid foundation of who they are, what they believe in while keeping an open mind, which is attractive. We can have a strong belief sysem and yet know our way is not the only way. Take off the outer layers and what is left? When we grow old, and our looks are fading, what is left? It is that what is left I find attractive, if indeed anything is left after the outer layers are removed. Worse: If ugliness is what is left. I have seen many beautiful people who are hollow at best, and ugly and mean at worst.

Well, I believe we are all guilty of judging others by what they wear and how they conduct themselves. I think many try not to engage in such low behavior, but it is human nature and difficult to control. We may refrain from speaking of it when we do it, but we still leave with that first impression and it stays with us. It is not just clothes either, but the color of ones skin, the car they drive, the color they choose to pain their homes, or rooms, how they decorate, what they eat, what they buy. I know folks who say they can tell by what is in a grocery cart what a person is like, or what is in their bathroom cupboards. Yep, some folks actually make an excuse to use your bathroom just so they can snoop and make judgements about who you are! So, yeah, this is a huge topic, one we could discuss for hours and still not exhaust. But I had better but my own chatter to an end. lol

I wish you a grand day and a wonderful upcoming weekend.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Please can you answer this survey?

Q. 1. What do you spend on most?
a.New fashion, latest products, and accessories etc
b.First purchase the necessary, and then indulge myself
c.Only the necessary items
2. Do you save money?
a.Rarely
b.Regularly
c.As much as possible
3.You see an expensive watch in the mall, which you have always wanted. You...
a.Buy it immediately
b.Wait for a sale or bargain offer to come in the future
c.Postpone the buy and try to forget it
4.Thanksgiving and Christmas are here. So many bargains, what do you do?
a.Take advantage of every bargain. Go on a shopping spree
b.Search for the best bargains, and only buy what you need
c.Buy only if absolutely necessary. Resist the temptation
5.Would you rather...
a.Buy what you want or need and help boost the economy
b.Save your money and buy what you absolutely need
c.Buy whatever because you just want it
6.Have you ever regretted impulse buying?
a.Yes, every time
b.Sometimes
c.No
d. donât care
7.How many high-end brand named items do you own?
a.Too many to count
b.A few
c.Not that many
8.Would you say that you think about the future every time you buy something?
a.No
b.Yes
c.I just buy things. I donât have time to think about the future
9.What are your thoughts on consumerism?\
a.What is consumerism?
b.It isnât good
c.Itâs bad
d.I think it has a positve and negative effect
10.Do you think consumerism has made us into materialistic people?
a.Yes
b.No
c.I donât know
11.Could you live without designer clothing, luxury automoblies, and expensive jewelry?
a.Yes
b.No
12. Could you live an alternative lifestyle that promotes simple living and eco-friendly ways?
aYes
b.No
13. Do you own a credit card?
a.Yes
b.No because Iâm too young
14. How often do you use your credit card(s)?
a.A lot even for small purchases
bSometimes but mostly for big purchases
cRarely
15. Would you say you have a problem with our consumer based society?
a.I havenât really thought about it
b.Yes
c.No
d.I donât care


Answer
1. What do you spend on most?
a.New fashion, latest products, and accessories etc - this one
b.First purchase the necessary, and then indulge myself
c.Only the necessary items
2. Do you save money?
a.Rarely
b.Regularly - this one
c.As much as possible
3.You see an expensive watch in the mall, which you have always wanted. You...
a.Buy it immediately - this one
b.Wait for a sale or bargain offer to come in the future
c.Postpone the buy and try to forget it
4.Thanksgiving and Christmas are here. So many bargains, what do you do?
a.Take advantage of every bargain. Go on a shopping spree - this one
b.Search for the best bargains, and only buy what you need
c.Buy only if absolutely necessary. Resist the temptation
5.Would you rather...
a.Buy what you want or need and help boost the economy
b.Save your money and buy what you absolutely need
c.Buy whatever because you just want it - this one
6.Have you ever regretted impulse buying?
a.Yes, every time
b.Sometimes - this one
c.No
d. donât care
7.How many high-end brand named items do you own?
a.Too many to count
b.A few - this one
c.Not that many
8.Would you say that you think about the future every time you buy something?
a.No
b.Yes
c.I just buy things. I donât have time to think about the future - this one
9.What are your thoughts on consumerism?
a.What is consumerism? - this one
b.It isnât good
c.Itâs bad
d.I think it has a positve and negative effect
10.Do you think consumerism has made us into materialistic people?
a.Yes
b.No
c.I donât know - this one
11.Could you live without designer clothing, luxury automoblies, and expensive jewelry?
a.Yes - this one
b.No
12. Could you live an alternative lifestyle that promotes simple living and eco-friendly ways?
aYes - this one
b.No
13. Do you own a credit card?
a.Yes
b.No because Iâm too young - this one
14. How often do you use your credit card(s)?
a.A lot even for small purchases
bSometimes but mostly for big purchases
cRarely - this one
15. Would you say you have a problem with our consumer based society?
a.I havenât really thought about it - this one
b.Yes
c.No
d.I donât care

Best Car Seat?




California


Right now we have the Graco Snug Ride.......Any suggestion on the next one that we need to buy? I think this one only goes to 22 lbs. What brand is best?


Answer
American Academy of Pediatrics says the 'best' car seat is one that fits your car (not all will!), fits your child, and will be used correctly 100% of the time. A seat that almost always fits the bill, in fact I haven't heard of a car it wouldn't work in yet, is the Britax Marathon/Boulevard/Decathalon. These 3 are the same seat, just different variances of luxury additions, with the Marathon being the cheapest base model, and it can be found for regular price of $269, and on sale at Albee Baby online for $209-$219. It is one awesome seat! That poster above who praised the Eddie Bauer seat? Please don't go with it. All the Safety1st/Dorel/Cosco/EddieBau... seats (they're all the same company) have sharp pointy edges on the skinny belt paths that will pinch and scratch your hands up every time you have put it in/pull it out. Go to Target or Babies R Us and take a look at the belt path on one of the 3-in-1 seats and then on a Britax seats. BIG difference. I'd skip the Roundabout, its not a good buy for the price, it doesn't last long enough. The Marathon a wide open easy to route belt path, which makes using it correctly a lot easier, as do the built in lockoffs, which mean you never again have to use a locking clip. I can get it into 4 different vehicles in under 2 minutes. Because of the way the base is made, it fits in most cars. And, it is worth the money, b/c it lasts usually twice as long as most other car seats (all car seats expire 6 years after the date of manufacture) lasting a baby till they are 5-6 years old, where most at Walmart will only last till 2-4 years old. It rear faces to 33lbs, which is very important since babies should stay rear facing AS LONG AS POSSIBLE!! If you have your baby front facing at 22lbs, turn her back around! Even the AAP and other safety experts say keep them rear facing to the limits of their seat. They are safest that way. And then the Marathon will front fact to 65lbs, 25lbs more usage than other seats, and it has 17"tall top harness slots, which is important since most kids outgrow their car seat by height before they outgrow it by weight.

Comparitively, the Safety1st/EddieBauer/Cosco seats have 14.5-15" top harness slots. Most kids won't even make it to 40lbs in them b/c the slots are too short, and you're out shopping for a car seat again, since kids shouldn't be in boosters until they are 5-6 years old, at least.

The Evenflo Triumph DLX is an ok seat, I loved the features of it (like the knobs to adjust tightness, and up front height adjustment and recline) until I realized that the short shell meant my son outgrew it at 33lbs, 18 months old!!! Then I had to find him another seat...his third, including the carrier he had as a newborn. If I'd have bought a Marathon from the beginning, I could've bought ONE seat instead of 3! The NEW Evenflo Triumph Advance has solved this problem, though, and it is a great seat. $150 version at Babies R Us has padding similar to Britax seats, top slots of 17", harnesses to 35lbs rear facing, and 50lbs forward facing. $120 Walmart version just has little less plush padding. Wide open belt path, easy to install, though it doesn't have built in lockoffs. Great choice, if you can find it. It just came out this month and hasn't made it to all the stores yet.

The Fisher Price Safe Voyage Deluxe Convertible seat is great, it is made by Britax, without all the frills. It's the same shell as a Marathon, but for less than half the price. $130 at Albee Baby online with free shipping, or at their eBay name, babysurplus. Rear faces to 33lbs, forward to 55lbs. Easy to use, fits in most cars.

These are the best you can buy that will give you the most bang for your buck. As a single parent I'm always watching the budget - I have no money to speak of, and these are what I would buy. (My son has a marathon and is soon getting a Britax Regent). They will last the longest. I only wish someone would've told me all this before I had him, I coulda saved some money for the extra seats I started out with!

All seats in the US must meet the same safety criteria to sell, so technically they all are safe, however, if its hard to install, then it won't be used correctly and that makes it unsafe.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

trying to buy a watch ?




Sayid Forg


i'm trying to buy a watch around 800 - 900 US $
i'm 17 by now and wanted to know what is the cheapest Chopard Model and is it good to buy a low price but a Big Brand or the best model of the low Brand ??



Answer
I have a couple from each instance you are bringing up. On one hand I have a Rolex DateJust and an Omega Seamaster, and on the other, a decent higher end Tremalt. My advice would be not to be terribly caught up on the name brand... because the name brand is essentially what you are paying for. If there is, however, a function that you cannot live without or a specific model that you are craving (which it doesn't sound like is the case), then do your research, however, new models will only be sold in the stores, although there are a few reputable used watch sellers on ebay with thousands of feedback scores (make sure they are all from watches, not fluffed with action figure sales or something!!).

FYI, to answer your question literally, the Chopard happy sport models are the cheapest.

Also, if you plan to spend that cash, please make sure you are buying a timepiece, rather than a nice bracelet with a clock in it. Look for a chronometer, aka mechanical or self-winding movement. This will give and allow it to maintain it's value, although admittently not as accurate and requires service. Movado, Tag Heuer, and yes.. Chopard are indeed some of the culprits who don't necessarily specialize in timepieces, but rather, timekeeping jewelry.

Check out the Omega Constellation line... Oris and Longines are pretty good for the money too, as they don't sell for their retail often. Keep in mind... if you are getting a Cartier or Rolex, you still are not getting the dream of a swiss watchmaker laboring hours over your watch individually... they are mass produced. THe lesser known true luxury watches such as Patek Philippe, Audemars, and Vacherons are more along that line. So, please get something that's worth keeping, but don't do it "just to have one". Most will concur that a 12 dollar Casio will keep better time :)

Why do Asian women notice a man's watch more so than other women?




sonylover


I asked a couple Korean guys at my job and they say in Asia, not just Korea, watches are the equivalent of driving a luxury car in the US. In Asia ppl size you up financially by the watch you wear while in the US most ppl don't give a shit. In Asia if ppl see you with a Rolex, Omega, Breitling, etc they think you are successful. Anyone else want to elaborate?


Answer
You are on the right path, but no, the luxury watch is not like driving a luxury car.

Imported cars here in Korea remain expensive, much beyond even a financially successful person.

Watches are more immediately visible to people, especially when hand-shaking. The better the brand name, the more successful a person appears to be.

But even now, the man's watch is coming under scrutiny as a sign of success.

There are quality-looking counterfeits coming from China, which causes a person to more closely look at watches to judge the person's financial success. But, most people will not "look to closely" so as to avoid giving-away their intentions.

.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Thursday, June 12, 2014

Luxury salon and spa experience for men in North Dallas area?




naomi


The guy I am dating has been really amazing to me. He is going through a stressful time and I would like to send him to a spa perhaps for a shave and definitely full body massage with options of hot stones or other luxury additions. I have no idea where in the world to send him or where to look. It needs to be a really relaxing eperience would like to keep it under $200. Also would like to know what treatments are great and which ones exceeded expectations. Please share pricing info or links if you have it. Thank you.
I forgot to add I have a strong preference for a female masseuse. I am sure he would feel more comfortable.



Answer
The Boardroom Salon for Men. In Allen,Dallas, Highland Village and Southlake and other places. Pricey, Good and watch your man around those women so I heard.

But it is really nice.

http://www.theboardroomsalon.com/

Cheap place to buy Invicta Men's Russian Diver LT-53 Black Leather Watch?







Where can I find a great deal online for Invicta Men's Russian Diver LT-53 Black Leather Watch


Answer
Invicta Men's Russian Diver LT-53 Black Leather Watch #4305

Original Price: $450.00

Discount Price: $156.14

You Save: $293.86 (65%)

Product Description
Amazon.com Product Description
Distinctive and distinguishing, the Invicta Russian Diver watch is as elegant as it is sporty. Offering just enough contrast to give it edge, this fine timepiece offers Swiss-quartz movement and is water resistant up to 330 feet, affording you both unparalleled quality and style. The black watch face sparkles beneath a crisp square-shaped mineral dial window, with easy-to-read citrus-orange contrast numbers. With a stainless steel bezel and function button, you won't have to worry about any metal pieces becoming tarnished with everyday wear. Orange contrast stitching and top studs highlight a comfortable leather band, for subtle styling. The band closes with a low-profile buckle, allowing you to adjust the watch for a snug fit. For a combination of style and essential function, the Invicta Diver is unsinkable.
Russian Diver Collection

Originally created to honor the 1959 watch commissioned by the Russian Naval Fleet, Invictaâs Russian Diver commands attention. Strikingly oversized with its complementing Signature crown cap and surgical stainless steel or titanium construction, the truly bold Russian Diver proudly possesses the distinction of being Invictaâs largest timepiece. Yet, evolving to accommodate demand, these patented designs now include models fit for any womanâs bidding. Equally comfortable scaling the heights of adventure or arriving for dinner, this Russian Diver will never be in doubt and always able to fulfill the orders of any mission.

Invicta Brand
With its most inspired creations yet, Invicta demonstrates its technical and design prowess, offering timepieces of style for extreme value.

"We have long held firm to the belief that supremely crafted timepieces can be offered for extremely modest sums. It is the founding principle of our flagship and the radical notion that still drives us today. By being true to our convictions, we will continue to turn the balance of power, and deliver true Swiss luxury to anyone who desires it. Let all those who possess our timepieces and pass through our doors witness the quality, value and care in every piece we create, and the spirit of neverending possibilities in everything we do."

These are the words that greet visitors and motivate team members inside the Invicta Watch Group's new worldwide headquarters. Emblazoned in stainless steel, it has been the Invicta message since Day One.

With each new timepiece, the company sends up a flare for those looking to be defined not by how much they spend, but how wisely they spend. With its strong collections, the gutsy Swiss brand is guaranteed to keep attracting followers.

The art of the craft. Inside an Invicta Workshop
It takes years of training and a great deal of pride to achieve glorius Swiss timepieces by hand. But it takes guts and the courage of your convictions to make those timepieces affordable for everyone who appreciates them.

At our Swiss workshops, we mix time-honored traditions with a little bit of horse sense every single day to produce the greatest values in the watch-making world.

Invicta's Platinum Extended Warranty Plan -- Free With Every Purchase Direct From Amazon.com

Your Invicta timepiece is backed by a comprehensive 1-year warranty. Now with every purchase direct from Amazon.com you can upgrade to the Invicta Platinum Warranty Plan free of charge. The Platinum Warranty Plan extends the Invicta warranty for an additional 4 years for a total of 5 years and is typically offered for a fee.

On the main menu bar on the Invicta homepage click the tab labeled Service. From this drop down list, click on the option, Register Your Warranty. When registering for your extended warranty you will need to have your purchase receipt or invoice handy. Also, make sure you know Invicta's 4-digit watch model number. This number can be found on the back of your watch. Please note that all registrations must be done within 30 days of the purchase date to be eligible for this free extended warranty.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Is Rotary a luxury watch brand?




WhatWouldP


I was recently given a Rotary watch for my graduation.
I'm not particularly keen on the design, but I was assured it is a nice watch that will last me 20 years and that the classic design is timeless.

I know the watch sells for $130 online (discounted from $650, supposedly), and I'm looking at some other designs that are a bit more trendy and my style in that price range (Armani, DKNY, Oficina Del Tiempo, Invicta).

I tried to research Rotary brand but there isn't much about it. Is it a good brand? Is it worth keeping at that price?
Should I go with my gut instinct and get a trendy watch for under $200?



Answer
Rotary is a nice watch brand. It is not a "luxury" brand, but neither are the other watch brands that you mentioned. They are designer and fashion watches.

FYI... Armani and DKNY watches are essentially Fossil brand watches.

If you are not happy with the Rotary watch you received, you should definitely pick a watch that fits your personality and style. You will be a whole lot happier.

Where do I buy the best luxury watches online?




Amon Gear


I'm looking for something a little special for my girl friend. I've got some cash so I was thinking of buying her a really nice ladies luxury watch - not an el-cheapo imitation but the real deal...

I've heard of Zenith and other swiss luxury watch brands like Cartier, Omega, IWC and Rolex and just wonder if anyone knows where I can get the best discount / deals on luxury swiss watches.

Budget is 7-15k - I know - she is really spoilt - but I do really, really love her!

Hey thanks in advance everyone!



Answer
You can not because almost all of the watch sites are scams. Nearly all the answers will be SPAM that direct you to Chinese sites where they are selling fake or just stealing credit card numbers. You will have to go to a real store to not get scammed.

For example: www.bestinluxurywatches.com If you go to the link below you will see that all the information on the site is blocked. Why? Only a scam site would do that.

http://whois.domaintools.com/bestinluxurywatches.com

www.mensluxurtywatchesz.com has its info blocked as well.

http://whois.domaintools.com/mensluxurywatchesz.com

This is a legit site. It has a USA address, and contact info:

http://whois.domaintools.com/amazon.com




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Wednesday, June 11, 2014

so what do you think on raising higher taxes?




L


everyone who has a kid and/or is married, got a tax cut. The tax increase democrats are passing is the highest in history, and all will suffer. Fact is, any tax increase hurts people with the least amount of money, tax increases don't really hurt rich people, they have plenty. People with little to moderate income are most hurt b/c they are usually barely making ends meet and taking more from them gives them less to save and spend.

Critics of the tax cutes predicted disaster, supporters the opposite, and now supporters have been proven right by more than three years of prosperity.

"The dividend rate would snap back to 39.6% from 15%, the capital gains rate to 20% from 15%, and the top marginal income tax rate to 39.6% from 35%. Marginal and average tax rates for the middle class would also increase, returning to the Clinton-era levies that had driven taxes as a share of GDP to a postwar high of 20.9%. "

"With an anticipated take of $400 billion over five years, the result would be a bigger tax increase than Bill Clinton's in 1993 -- the one that helped cost Democrats control of Congress the following year. "

"Come 2011, many families will be hit by a renewed marriage penalty. Consequently, 23 million Americans will then be hit with an average tax increase of $466. That same year, the child tax credit will be cut in half, costing 31 million Americans an average of $859 in more taxes."

"When the damage is tallied, 115 million working Americans would watch their taxes climb an average of $1,795, with 26 million small business owners being hit more than twice as hard at $3,960. The fact that these are average figures, incidentally, does not change the reality that taxes paid by middle-class families, not just the richest 1 percent, would be scheduled to go up under the Democratic plan."

"Taxpayers won't fare any better under the Senate's budget blueprint...[T]he plan championed by Democratic Senate Budget Committee Chairman Kent Conrad would raise taxes by $2,641 per household over the next ten years."

Tax cuts work. They worked when JFK did it, when Reagan did it, and again when Bush did.

Here's what will happen if they eliminate the tax cut as planned:

... You're a family of four earning $60,000 a year: Your income-tax bill will rise 61% in 2011, from $3,030 to $4,893.

... You're an elderly couple earning $40,000 a year: Your taxes will go up by 156% in 2011, from $583 to $1,489.

... You're a woman: You could be one of the 83 million American women who could see their taxes rise by an average of $2,068.

... You're married: You could be one of the 48 million married couples who will pay an average of $2,899 more under the liberal tax increase.

... You have kids: 42 million families with children will pay an average of $2,181 more in taxes.

... You're a small-business owner: 26 million small-business owners will get a tax bill for an average of $3,960 more than before.

Democrats are socialists in liberal clothing. They want to be sure you keep less than half your money (when you add federal + state + local + sales + property, etc. taxes). The programs they use this money to support are ineffective.

Tax cuts let people keep more of the property they earned.

Fancy is a fabricator
"They [the wealthy] are using 95% of the PUBLIC resources, so they should be paying 95% of taxes" that is utter BS. This has been proven time and time again. Most of the money goes to entitlement programs, which the wealthy do not benefit from. People like Fancy must create fanciful lies because reality doesn't support their belief system, and rather than change, they lie. The rich pay the most and get the least.

The fact is that the effective federal tax rate (taxes as a share of income) has fallen for every income group over the last 20 years EXCEPT those with upper incomes.

For those in the bottom quintile (20 percent of the population), the tax burden has fallen from 8.3 percent in 1981 to 5.3 percent this year.

Those in the middle quintile saw a drop from 21.9 percent to 20 percent.

The other quintiles also saw a decline, except those in the top quintile, who saw an increase in their tax rate from 27.1 percent to 27.4 percent.
YOU FOOL ONCE WE TAX ON THE RICH THEY ARE GOING TO MOVE THEIR BUISNESSES ELSE WERE. THEN THE PEOPLE WORKING ON THOSE BUISNESSES WOULD NOT HAVE NOBODY PAYING THEM. THEN THE ECONOMY WILL GO DOWN



Answer
Raising taxes is liberal way of governance. More money for entitlements to buy their way into power. People are sick and tired of it. I know I am. There is a luxury subdivision not far from my home and it is stacked top to bottom with subsidized low income families. I've worked my ass off all of my life to have what I have and I can tell you now I will never ever be able to afford that type of housing, NEVER. When you do all the right things and you see crap like that and know YOU are the one paying for it, it boils your blood. The Dems get in and the first thing they start talking about it raising my taxes to pay for more useless BS programs. I can see the little money they do let me have flying right out of my pocket even as we speak.

Differenes between the early 1900's and now?




ivylander


If anyone could tell me some of the differences between the way of life now, as compared to the early 1900's that would be amazing and I would really appreciate it.

Also any good websites comparing now and then would be great as well. Thank you so much.



Answer
In 1900 a person was still likely to find him or herself squatting over a foul fetid hole in an outhouse or sharing a toilet with dozens of others. Even in a 'luxury' hotel or on an Ocean Liner the bathroom was down the hall and shared by dozens! These days even the poorest of the poor have access to indoor plumbing (mostly) and those with homes most often have multiple toilets.
A person in 1900 most likely owned a couple of shirts, a good suit, a couple of pairs of pants, and all were either scratchy wool or cotton requiring ironing to get out wrinkles. NO polyesters or other 'modern' fabrics - - - and clothing was still scarce in 1900 with T-shirts worn beneath a button up SHIRT -- --- --- casual clothing was frowned upon even for the poor!
Movies were brand new, silent and rarely longer than ten minutes in duration. There was no television in 1900. Those of modest middle class means might own an upright piano and the average family enetertained themselves with musical evenings, the children encouraged to learn an instrument or to polish their voices. Newspapers were a big deal in the early 1900s and most homes received a morning as well as a late afternoon or evening paper. People actually read a great deal during the early 1900s - - - magazines and paperback books, 'cheapies' were availible everywhere and so people staved off boredom with books and conversations, real actual face to face conversations.
Though telephones had been around since the 1880s a monopoly by AT & T froze progress. Most everyone shared a party line, so 'dirty' conversations were not encouraged since, much like the toilets of the era, as many as a dozen people might share a single phone line. And when one placed a phone call it was through an operator, no direct dialing, no area codes, one simply picked up the receiver and shouted something along the lines of "I need Northside 88," and a scratchy women's voice would say, "I will see if I can connect you, sir."
Spinster women were the majority of phone operators. It was thought immoral for young women to serve as phone operators since they might strike up a liason with the caller.
In the early 1900s Vaudeville was still King. People many in family groups would spend hours at a theater watching a variety of ten to fifteen minute live acts; a 'dumb' act done silent auch as acrobatings or dancing, a 'dialect' comedian who specialized in Yiddish Humor or Irish Humor or Deutch/German Humor, a singer often accopanied only by a pianist singing four or five songs, a roustabout pratfall comedian, s specialty act such as plate spinning, and so on, with only the top billed enteratainers repeating their act once more during the night.
(By now you will have gathered that you can provide the contrast for 'now')...
The big Sport in the early 1900s was Baseball - - - there was as yet no Professional Football, but, in season, College Football was big and entire communities supported their local University or College. Baseball was king and a majority of Americans could rattle of stats and tell you the names of more than a dozen players. Baseball Stars adorned everyday magazines and in the off season took to the Vadeville Circut giving demonstrations of their talents or even singing or doing comedy for their fans...
Food was purchased almost daily, there was 'ice boxes' in a few homes, cold boxes chilled by blocks of ice but no true refrigerators. Many people dined out at cheap eateries, or heated cans of chili over a hot plate.
Horses were still the main stay of transportation though the average person could rarely afford a horse! Horses pulled street cars, hauled produce to street markets, pulled hearses and carts. Autos were a new thing and just starting to take off. The introduction of the Ford Model T toward the end of the first decade made it possible for millions to purchase a motor vehicle.
The greatest similarity though between then and now was how rapidly people adopted to change and embraced change. In 1900 autos were acrace the airplane unknown and movies were known as 'flickers,' less than 5 minutes in lenth and mostly used to chase people out of theaters shoing live acts. By 1910 the auto was on everyones to buy list, airplanes were the rage, and movies were nudging out theater and vaudeville and big movie palaces were being constructed by 1914.

Peace///////\\\\\\

PS If I had a timne machine then 1890 nto 1920 New York would be my destination!

Double PS and yes there was Crime the more sensational the better to sell newspapers!!! Oh and no radio until the 1920s! Music was called rag time and people were really getting into kicking up their heels. Go watch Charlie Chaplin Comedies for a trip to the past!




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

LADIES-- Do you wear your engagement ring all the time?




btany.


I asked this one other time, and got some smart answers, so. try it again shall we?

I'm a nurse, and I opt not to wear my engagement ring to work just because I don't want my ring to get scratched or something to happen to it. I do wear it out on the weekends, or anytime I'm not working and not stuck at home. My friends from work think I'm insane. I ran into one of them at the grocery store and they automatically noticed I wasn't wearing my engagement ring. I love my ring and my husband, but white gold shows scratches easily... and if I'm only going to be working or doing laundry or grocery shopping, I don't think it's imperative that I wear it. I do wear it out anytime we're going out, like on a date or something of that nature. I don't wear it in the shower, when I'm cooking or cleaning or working...

I guess my friends think I don't love my husband enough to wear the diamond he gave me all the time, which isn't true. I think I'm being practical about the situation.

What about you? Do you wear yours all the time?
I wear my wedding band all the time. Where I work, I didn't have the option to really wear my engagement ring, the prongs are too sharp and poke holes in my gloves.

I wear my wedding band and a watch. No other jewelry is allowed.



Answer
I'm a nurse, and my sister's a nurse. Neither of us wear or engagement rings around all the time. I especially don't wear mine to work. I don't know about you, but we've constantly got to either wash or hands or use alcohol based disinfectants like Purell. That can really damage jewelry! Plus raised rings like an engagement ring can really get in the way of things. And putting on gloves- forget about it! You can poke a hole in gloves with an engagement ring, which could be a health risk. I just wear my wedding ring to work. It's simple, lays flat, and I don't have to worry as much about it getting scratched, etc. No one really comments on it, and I don't think it's all that unusual. Most of the nurses I work with just wear their wedding rings. Other times, of course, when I'm at home, or out, or doing counseling, I wear my engagement ring. But that's because I like it and because it's pretty. I don't really see what the big deal is in not wearing it. You don't need an engagement ring to show you're engaged. The wedding ring says it all.

P.S. You're allowed a watch? We don't get that luxury. Too many idiots not washing properly underneath and around the watch.

Meaning of Lady Gaga's new song "Princess Die"?




Mindy





Answer
It is about celebrity suicide.

"Leave the coffin open when I go
Leave my pearls and lipstick on so everybody knows
Pretty will be the photograph I leave
Laying down on famous knives so everybody sees"

When im dead and its my funeral leave the coffin open and let everybody see me, but make sure i look pretty.

"Bleach out all all the dark
Iâll swallow each peroxide shot
Someone Iâll know could love and save me from myself
Maybe Iâll just clean the shit of these fancy shoes
Iâll be a Princess Di and die with you"

I'd do anything than be in this dark spot. Thoughts of suicide are revealed here. She's going to clean off her shoes so they look pretty and she is going to Die with whoever this song is about (her boyfriend, her friends, her fans, her family, all of the above?). She will never be the same afterwards.

"I wish that I was strong
I was that I was wrong-ohhhhh
I wish that I could cope
But I took pills and left a note
ooooh- ooooh"

Suicide victims wish they were stronger and better. They don't want to live anymore, but committing makes them feel cowardly.

"I'm hungry from an anorexic heart
I've been trying to tell you how I feel
But was never very smart
I'm wrapped in silks made for Egyptian queens
I'll do it in the swimming pool
So everybody sees"

She wishes she was prettier, thinner, etc. But everyone keeps reminding her she isnt good enough. She is living a very famous life. She is going to commit suicide out in the open as a cry for help or so that everybody can notice.

"Volumes I know will love and save me from myself"

I have no idea XD Maybe all the peroxide she is using to kill herself will let her escape her tragic life.

"Princess die: I want to see her cry
Princess die-eyeee
Princess die: We want to watch her cry
Princess die-eyeee"

The media's perception. They want to watch her go down in flames.

"I wish that I could go
in my rich boyfriend's limo
Right after he proposed
with a 16 carat stone wrapped in rose gold"

She wished she would have just lived an easy life instead of being famous.

"With the Paparazzi all swarming around
In my Louis Vuiton White buttoned down"

The Paparazzi are following her around. She is dresses nicely

"Oh it's not that deep
So bob your head for another dead blonde
Who's real prince is in heaven
She just wants to sleep"

Another celebrity had a meltdown/died. It's just what the media wanted. But now she is out of the public eye/in heaven where she can relax and not have to deal with being constantly taunted by everybody.

"Will be in my own hands to do
I'll be a princess di and die with you
Applaud"

She would rather go out on her own time the way she wants to opposed to the media/something else killing her off.

I think Applaud was just her telling the audience it was over.


So basically its about celebrity suicide. Just wanting to live a normal life with or without all the luxuries. Sometimes she just wishes she would have taken the easy route.

I doubt this is the meaning but this is probably pretty close.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

did u ever benefit from those discount or free advertisements?




reifguy


or its just a slicky way to get u to buy and then u discover oops its all the same..


Answer
It depends..Usually in the luxury shops, they raise up so much the price before the sales, and then they base it a little bit, so it is as the initial price...
Second,you never know the quality of the stock..Usuallty for the products''you pay 2 you get 3'' we have to do with low quality products, or with an expiring date very closed to the day we buy..
Watch all the offers well,and next time take a woman with you..They deal better in these things...

My husband and I disagree on who to watch our baby...help!?




Cecilia


My husband and I have many disagreement, of many things. I want to go back to work, but he demands that his mom to watch my 7 months old daughter too. I do not feel comfortable with his mom watching my baby. I would strongly love to leave my baby with my mom. But he want to make an agreement that his mom should watch her too. How can I make my husband understand that I only want to leave my baby at one place instead of going back in forth. My husband tells me that its his baby too, and that he has the right to deside who to watch our 7 month old. He don't want to leave her at a daycare. So, what should I do...
At my husbands mothers house, is a very dirty environment. His dad has his mechanic company there at their house. I mean there are tools and lots of dirty dogs that has fleas. they also keep them in the house. My mom has a clean environment house. Has no man to brag to her to make him food. On the other hand when my father in law snaps his fingers to my mother in law. she must obey. So how can my mother in law care for my child when their are dogs with fleas, lots of tools everywhere, and they have grandchildrens that has lice. I mean come on. I'm not trying to take her away from her grandmother. I'm just looking for the best interest for my daughter. My mom has no man to care for. She can watch 100%. She has no dog in or outside. neither does she has kids with lice. by all means my son does not have lice. THE FACT IS THAT MY HUSBAND FAMILY ARE LAZY AND NASTY!
At my husbands mothers house, is a very dirty environment. His dad has his mechanic company there at their house. I mean there are tools and lots of dirty dogs that has fleas. they also keep them in the house. My mom has a clean environment house. Has no man to brag to her to make him food. On the other hand when my father in law snaps his fingers to my mother in law. she must obey. So how can my mother in law care for my child when their are dogs with fleas, lots of tools everywhere, and they have grandchildrens that has lice. I mean come on. I'm not trying to take her away from her grandmother. I'm just looking for the best interest for my daughter. My mom has no man to care for. She can watch 100%. She has no dog in or outside. neither does she has kids with lice. by all means my son does not have lice. THE FACT IS THAT MY HUSBAND FAMILY ARE LAZY AND NASTY!



Answer
From the sounds of it, your husband could have come and asked almost the exact same question: "How can I make my wife understand that I only want to leave the baby at one place rather than going back and forth...and I want that person to be my mom." Your husband is right...it IS his baby, too.

So, what you two need to decide "together" is not what either of you want...but what is best for the baby. I think many would agree that a more stable environment would be better...that regardless of where the baby stays, that she not move around more than necessary, and one caregiver would be ideal. Others though, would agree that it is better to have the lil' one get used to more than one caregiver, in case one cannot be present at all times, and so that she is more used to spending time with other people as well.

You two need to discuss whether BOTH households, your mother and his, are clean and stable. You are BOTH going to have to put aside some piece of how you'd like the lil' one to be raised...because you will both have different ideals about that. You, most obviously trust your mother the most to make the best decisions...UNDERSTAND that he likely trusts HIS mom the most to make those decisions.

You two grew up differently, and you parent differently. This is GOOD for your baby. There's not a "random" reason that people say it is best to have both parents present in a child's life. It's not about having two people present...it is about the fact that mothers and fathers have different parenthood styles, and that both are desired when it comes to raising a child. Do not discount your husband's parenting style, unless it is abusive or objectively (meaning that any reasonable person would agree) neglectful for your child. Just as your points are valid, he has valid points as well.

Also, do not discount his mother. Even if you don't like her, or doubt her ability to care for your child, remember that she RAISED the man who you chose to marry. There is value in that, unless he is a horrible man, and you married due to self confidence issues within yourself that allowed you to choose a horrible partner. It is likely, that while he has complaints about his mother, as you may have about your own (even if you have to dig), that he sees her as a very competent caretaker for his daughter. He is likely hurt by your insinuation that she would not make a responsible sitter...or that she should not share this burden of caretaking with your own mother, during the time you two have to spend away from your child.

That said, many women would feel very grateful, to not have to hire a sitter, and to have two so willing grandparents to pitch in and help out in this situation while you two set off on your journey together as parents...which can be quite costly for parents who do not have this luxury.

Maybe you just need to change the way you are looking at this...to see that this is not such a bad thing. You guys, including your daughter who I've little doubt everyone just ADORES, are very, very lucky people.

Best wishes to all of you.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

What are some of the best watch brands for women?







birthday gift:)


Answer
An elegant luxury watch is always the best gift, I'm sure. No woman can resist a diamond encrusted designer's watch. (I don't want to promote any brand ). Or just any expensive one. (That is if you're not on a tight budget). I would like to answer your question without citing any brand name. I'll just give you some tips to decide in buying a luxury watch. First, consider her personal style; the watch should reflect her personality. Next, her activities, does she need that watch for everyday use? Then, her personal taste--that you should know. Now, you must decide which type of watch to buy--mechanical that needs winding, kinetic that requires little maintenance or battery powered? Of course, the price and quality is always a consideration. But if you want to make an impression, go for the limited edition. If you don't have that much savings, I'll tell you something--there are replica watches you can choose for(Chinese, Japanese and Swiss replicas). But go for Swiss grade replica, they may cost you around $1000, not cheap but they are made from precious and semi-precious materials like gold and diamond. They can even be the exact copy of the original branded watch including the materials and mechanism, many watchmakers wouldn't able to tell the difference--including your girlfriend.

Anyway, it's the thought that matters most. Any gift will always be appreciated if it comes from someone who truly love. If you are still indecisive, just check the link below for additional tips.

Cheap place to buy Invicta Men's Russian Diver LT-53 Black Leather Watch?







Where can I find a great deal online for Invicta Men's Russian Diver LT-53 Black Leather Watch


Answer
Invicta Men's Russian Diver LT-53 Black Leather Watch #4305

Original Price: $450.00

Discount Price: $156.14

You Save: $293.86 (65%)

Product Description
Amazon.com Product Description
Distinctive and distinguishing, the Invicta Russian Diver watch is as elegant as it is sporty. Offering just enough contrast to give it edge, this fine timepiece offers Swiss-quartz movement and is water resistant up to 330 feet, affording you both unparalleled quality and style. The black watch face sparkles beneath a crisp square-shaped mineral dial window, with easy-to-read citrus-orange contrast numbers. With a stainless steel bezel and function button, you won't have to worry about any metal pieces becoming tarnished with everyday wear. Orange contrast stitching and top studs highlight a comfortable leather band, for subtle styling. The band closes with a low-profile buckle, allowing you to adjust the watch for a snug fit. For a combination of style and essential function, the Invicta Diver is unsinkable.
Russian Diver Collection

Originally created to honor the 1959 watch commissioned by the Russian Naval Fleet, Invictaâs Russian Diver commands attention. Strikingly oversized with its complementing Signature crown cap and surgical stainless steel or titanium construction, the truly bold Russian Diver proudly possesses the distinction of being Invictaâs largest timepiece. Yet, evolving to accommodate demand, these patented designs now include models fit for any womanâs bidding. Equally comfortable scaling the heights of adventure or arriving for dinner, this Russian Diver will never be in doubt and always able to fulfill the orders of any mission.

Invicta Brand
With its most inspired creations yet, Invicta demonstrates its technical and design prowess, offering timepieces of style for extreme value.

"We have long held firm to the belief that supremely crafted timepieces can be offered for extremely modest sums. It is the founding principle of our flagship and the radical notion that still drives us today. By being true to our convictions, we will continue to turn the balance of power, and deliver true Swiss luxury to anyone who desires it. Let all those who possess our timepieces and pass through our doors witness the quality, value and care in every piece we create, and the spirit of neverending possibilities in everything we do."

These are the words that greet visitors and motivate team members inside the Invicta Watch Group's new worldwide headquarters. Emblazoned in stainless steel, it has been the Invicta message since Day One.

With each new timepiece, the company sends up a flare for those looking to be defined not by how much they spend, but how wisely they spend. With its strong collections, the gutsy Swiss brand is guaranteed to keep attracting followers.

The art of the craft. Inside an Invicta Workshop
It takes years of training and a great deal of pride to achieve glorius Swiss timepieces by hand. But it takes guts and the courage of your convictions to make those timepieces affordable for everyone who appreciates them.

At our Swiss workshops, we mix time-honored traditions with a little bit of horse sense every single day to produce the greatest values in the watch-making world.

Invicta's Platinum Extended Warranty Plan -- Free With Every Purchase Direct From Amazon.com

Your Invicta timepiece is backed by a comprehensive 1-year warranty. Now with every purchase direct from Amazon.com you can upgrade to the Invicta Platinum Warranty Plan free of charge. The Platinum Warranty Plan extends the Invicta warranty for an additional 4 years for a total of 5 years and is typically offered for a fee.

On the main menu bar on the Invicta homepage click the tab labeled Service. From this drop down list, click on the option, Register Your Warranty. When registering for your extended warranty you will need to have your purchase receipt or invoice handy. Also, make sure you know Invicta's 4-digit watch model number. This number can be found on the back of your watch. Please note that all registrations must be done within 30 days of the purchase date to be eligible for this free extended warranty.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Citizen watch: is this high end?




M.A.B


I recently bought a $325 Citizen watch.... I'm not to familier with watch brands as I have always just worn cheap Timex watches.

Is Citizen considered a good watch?..... how is the quality of this company... and its repuatation?

Should I have just gotten a Bulova?



Answer
Neither Citizen nor Bulova are high end watches. High end watches are Omega, Rolex, Jaeger LeCoultre, Patek Philippe, and Vacheron Constintin to name a few and typically cost over $5000. These watches have the highest craftsmenship and will last more than a life time. Citizen on the the other hand is a cheap watch that tries to look high end and markets itself as a luxury watch, even though it is made in China. Most of these low end watches have the same ETA movements inside that are technically Swiss and are put into a cheap Chinese case and marketed under different brand names. Upon buying it, it's resale values drops to $30 - $40. So they are really not worth the money. However, if that is all you can afford, then it is all you can afford. It's a decent watch and should last several years. Bulova tends to have better craftsmenship and last longer.

If people in Ireland were more positive, in theyâre thinking would our Economy and Tourism Improve?

Q. I know that people that are more positive do better in Life. People that groin all the time and say things like âThere are no jobsâ Our country is going to the dogsâ âI have no moneyâ, âIrish people are getting more nastyâ, âHope is gone and things are so darkâ âDid you hear what was on the news today it was awfulâ seem to be digging a hole for themselves. The only digging holes I like is that Christy Moore song.

My question is simple: Are a lot of Irelandâs current problems worsen, by our negative thinking?

There are actually more jobs than 2008. I know this because I was looking for a job back then. There is more of a volume now. What there is also more of are âJob lossesâ Jobs are being lost left right and Centre. But there are technically more jobs being advertised. (And I am not on about multiple job advertising) The job losses are being classified in with the less job argument.

Secondly of course our country is going to the dogs if we think that way. At least we are not at war, or famine. At least we are living in a country where we are surrounded by family and friends. Of course Ireland has many problems, social, economic and otherwise. But problems are like algebra. Some are more complicated than others. But any Algebraic question can eventually be solved. It depends entirely on the person tackling the problem. (Of course in real life there are variances to factor in).

People say they have no money. Well this is the case. But people who have no debt (but a little money) are in a great position. They are in a great position because at least they are breaking even. An even is always better than a negative. (People in Debt can still manage things, if the government published just one good cost saving book for Irish citizens on day-to-day living)

I have been living of around 200 euros a week the last three years. (I was in college or working to save for college before that) There are tips to living well with a limited income. You want a fancy outfit. Go to the boutique clothes rack. This can knock off to 80% off the original price. You like fancy food. Go to Dunnes on a Sunday and check out the reduced fridge rack. You get expense food at a fraction of the Price. And as for Euro2, you could save loads in that shop from Nair hair removal cream, chocolate, cleaning products to notebooks.

The whole Irish people getting nasty are also something I hear a lot on the Internet. Did you ever hear the phrase look at a mans friend and you know what he is like.

If you friends are a nasty people of work, just get new friends. You would be amazed how people affect your mood and personality without even noticing. If someone you donât know is nasty to you simply smile and walk away. I find Irish people are more Helpful of late not nastier. Even things like passing on jobs on newspapers to friends to visiting a friend that just lost their job.

In relation to Hope being gone. Hope is never gone. Define âThe feeling that what is wanted can be had or that events will turn out for the bestâ
Hope is a state of mind. A state of mind can never be gone forever. It can always return if you want it enough. And lastly the phrase âDid you hear the horrible thing in the news? Yes there are horrible things in the news. There are also lots of great things.

I look forward to any answers to this question, thanks and yes I have never anything better to do. The depressing news is on at the moment. :)

B.Q: I have an exam in December. (Accounting Theory) My use of commas is not the best. If you are bored point out a few of my grammar mistakes. Thanks Of course pointing out such mistales will Help Tourim in Ireland. (The butterfly effect)
I see a few already.
That is a great answer below Doc. If you got paid a Euro for everything you wrote on this site you would be rich. Your standard of written English s is also superb.
Did you consider registering on Booking.com? They have a few guesthouses and Bnbâs on their site. A lady that owned a guesthouse, I was staying in told me they take about 15% of the booking and the rest is hers. (15% is a lot but at least you have a booking and can advertise Room only. Think this way you get to keep any breakfast you sell outside the site. Not sure though.) I know when I am booking a Hotel in Ireland I use this site. Juryâs Inn in Limerick is regularly up on the site at 59euro (no breakfast) for three people. That is less that 20 Euro each for a room. Looks like this s turning out to be a Tourism Question. Lol.
All great answers. I have a few job links. If you look at the end of this question I have a few. Although the question itself, you might not so impressed by. There are good job links on it, none the less.

http://answers.yahoo.com/question/index;_ylt=Akn9BilsuKtWJn70X0rNF4zty6IX;_ylv=3?qid=20111001063430AAW9LHb

Keep the answers coming


Answer
I don't think our problems are made worse no, from living here for 7 years I have noticed that Irish people love an old moan, it is usually the weather or politics. Part of the nations psyche I think that is all?

In my opinion it's going to take more than positive thinking to get us out of this mess I'm afraid. I just watched the news too. Look at Aviva what is going to happen there tomorrow? Where will all those people find new jobs? Yes a positive outlook is better than a negative one, nobody wants to see miserable sad faces but I don't think everyone smiling & pretending "we're grand" will help much.

Tourism will only improve when people start to spend money again, right now many thousands of people can't afford to pay their mortgage & credit card bills let alone go on holidays. Luxuries are the first thing to go. Those that do have a bit of money spare are keeping it for a rainy day, nobody knows what new charges/taxes are around the corner.

I'm not Irish but I do work in tourism. I run a small B&B and I've had nobody book a whole week's holiday this year. Yes a fair few weekend breaks same as always & the occasional workman passing through but not like before, not a single person/family has booked a whole week. This is the first year this has happened.

From a personal point of view not meaning to be an old moaner but this is how it is:- my partner has been out of work for 2 years he was made redundant in Nov 2009, he's a class 1 HGV driver with 28 years experience & holds machine tickets for excavators/track machines. Well obviously that is bit of a non-starter now the construction industry has taken such a hit & the only HGV jobs would be in the city an hour's drive away. He is in his late 50s with degenerative disc disease, who is going to employ him anyway? We manage on his dole money & what little the B&B brings in, I don't draw a wage even. I put my online tax return in every year & worry that I've done it right when the business turns over less than â¬5000 but I still worry. How many millionaires do we have living here who pay no tax?

Our only saving grace is our mortgage is small so at least we can pay that every month even if we don't have much money spare each week. I really feel so sorry for the people caught up in negative equity. We shop at Dunne's & Aldi & scour the reduced counter for bargains to pop in the freezer. We grow a lot of our own vegetables & keep hens. We haven't had a holiday in 4 years & are not likely to have one for the foreseeable future.

We have 2 ravenous teenage kids but only one is under 18 so we only get one child benefit payment now, 140 Euro a month down straight away when my son turned 18. I hate being reliant on benefits. We are so broke right now, we taxed the car last week (a month late so had to pay the back tax) & we have survived on â¬56 Euro since last Wednesday. My son's grant for college hasn't come through yet despite applying in July & numerous phone calls. The VEC say his award letter will be here next week? He is paying for his bus fare to college (â¬30 week) himself out of his credit union savings. I just emptied the change jar for 20 cent pieces because he didn't have enough for tomorrow.

This is my reality & no amount of positive thinking is going to make the situation for my family any easier. I do try to be positive and put a brave face on when I talk to acquaintances I wouldn't burden anyone with my troubles not even my family (apart from on Y!A lol) but it is very hard, the weather is miserable right now, the chicken pen is like a quagmire already & another long cold winter looms. Very hard to stay upbeat when you are so broke & I'm sure I'm not the only one.

Edit : Thank you - I do my best & trained as a secretary many moons ago (back in the days when shorthand existed) so touch typing & correct spelling are second nature, I realise it may come as a shock to some that I am not really a doctor!




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Tuesday, June 10, 2014

Poll: What are your favorite brands.?




Kim


List 3 or 5 OR MORE.
Minimum 3 and it could be clothing/luxury clothing, electronic/gadgets, foods etc.



Answer
Audio Technica-favorite headphones
Oliver Peoples- favorite sunglasses
Maserati-favorite car brand
Omega-favorite watch company
Samsung-favorite electronic brand

I need some help with my baby list.?




highschool


I need a LIST of all the things I should have for my baby in 6 months. Please and thanks.


Answer
-Car seat
-Stroller
-Diapers (For my kids, Target brand holds in the leakage at night the best) Start with 1 box of Newborn size, 2-4 boxes size 1, 2-4 boxes size 2. Open just one box at a time and if baby outgrows a size, you can always exchange unopened boxes for different size and brand
-Wipes (We love Walmart brand wipes)
-Crib or Pack and Play (Basically a place for baby to sleep; a bassinet is more of a luxury because babies outgrow them pretty quickly)
-Bedding
-Onsies (start with about 6-9 newborn size, 6-9 zero to three months size, 6-9 three to six months size) You can always buy more as needed
Sleep and Play sleepers, (for my kids, I personally preferred cotton ones with zipper instead of snaps)
-Socks
-Hats (Newborns need to wear light cotton hat for the first month of their life because the head is where they lose most of the heat from)
-Cotton pants (2-4 newborn size, the rest bigger sizes) Walmart sells great pants, I think they are Faded Glory, that are cotton and skinny at the bottom, which is great, especially for a newborn baby, you can put socks over pants and layer with another set of clothes on top if it is cold, or for summer nights, these pants donât expose babyâs legs as much as regular pants do, which you donât want when it is cold
-Cotton sweater (one newborn size, the rest bigger sizes, babies do grow fast)
- Receiving Blankets (get as much as you can) I use them as towels after giving baby a bath, swaddling, diaper changing cover, etc.
- Swing
- Bathtub ( I love our Fisher Price Whale tub, both my boys fit in it from newborn, and my older son is 22 months old and he can still fit into it)
- Shampoo and Body wash
-Grooming kit (make sure it includes a thermometer)
-Nasal aspirator (Nosefrida one is by far the only aspirator that works for my boys)
-Washcloths
-Medicine kit (saline drops, gas drops, gripe water, Ibuprofen, etc)
-Humidifier of Vaporizer ( I personally prefer Vaporizer when my kids are sick it seems to help better)
-Breastfeeding pillow (Like Boppy, can also be used to prop baby up, or during tummy time)
-Nipple cream
- Double electric breast pump
-Bottles (On occasions like when someone else will be watching the baby, you want to pump and give baby bottle)
- Formula (If formula feeding)
-Bottle drying rack
-Formula Dispenser (If formula feeding)
-Diaper Bag (although a big purse with lots of pockets and compartments will do)
- Diaper scented trash bags (great to keep stink at bay, as well as when you are out and there is no trash can)
-Toys
-Play mat
-For later : High chair, jumperoo or exersaucer)




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

A really cute watch from Target?




Helena


Here's the watch I want: http://instagr.am/p/JFz_VYL_XK/

I've tried looking at my local Target, and the place where they sell watches there were only a few left and I've also tried looking online for one!

If y'all know where I can find one similar of the same color, that'd be greatly appreciated.

Or if y'all look on the website and find it, that'd be also wonderful.

Thanks!



Answer
eBay! Honestly I have found some of the CUTEST watches on eBay for the BEST prices, some of them are very similar to that one as well. Just search through and even if you don't end up finding one like that I'm SURE you will find something you love!

My Personal Favourite Watch :)

http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Stylish-Fashion-Luxury-Crystal-Women-Lady-Watch-White-Image-not-available-/220957146996?pt=AU_Watches&hash=item3372127f74#ht_4895wt_1066

Are invicta watches good, if they are there any models you would recommend.?







This will not be my first real watch, but I would like to now more about the brand. I am a collector so I will need as much info as possible. Luxury is my first priority.


Answer
i am sorry,i konw little about it ,but do you like Royal Crown ?
i like it very much,ladies classic watch!
http://www.joobay.com/ELEGANT-HOT-LADIES-Royal-Crown-18k-white-gold-WATCH,name,1000445134,auction_id,auction_details




Powered by Yahoo! Answers