luxury watches brands wiki image
Rummy Sam
I'd like to buy my boyfriend a nice watch for Christmas. While I'm primarily looking for something he could use at the office (he works in a major personal wealth financial firm), it would be nice if the watch was a bit versatile as to be appropriate in casual situations as well. But this watch will be primarily used for work, where it's paramount that the watch be fashionable and appropriate. I'm looking to spend no more than $350.
I need to know:
1. Which types of watches are appropriate for businessmen, and would work well in casual settings too? (leather bands? metal bands? thick or thin? Chronograph? etc.)
2. Which brands are considered business appropriate? (Armani? CK? Hugo Boss? Lacoste? D&G?)
I'm a bit partial to some of these below, are any of these appropriate?
http://www.amazon.com/Emporio-Armani-AR2022-Black-Lacquered/dp/B004BCMWUO/ref=sr_1_4254?s=watches&ie=UTF8&qid=1355264215&sr=1-4254
http://www.amazon.com/Calvin-Klein-K2G21161-Silver-Stainless-Steel/dp/B0071N032O/ref=sr_1_4485?s=watches&ie=UTF8&qid=1355264016&sr=1-4485
http://www.amazon.com/Lacoste-2010612-Watch/dp/B005ON3IAC/ref=sr_1_4594?s=watches&ie=UTF8&qid=1355263906&sr=1-4594
http://www.amazon.com/Emporio-Armani-AR1614-Retro-Silver/dp/B008DUKLYO/ref=sr_1_4709?s=watches&ie=UTF8&qid=1355263756&sr=1-4709
http://www.amazon.com/Calvin-Klein-Men%60S-CK-K2G21629/dp/B007FTE8P2/ref=sr_1_4731?s=watches&ie=UTF8&qid=1355263707&sr=1-4731
http://www.amazon.com/Dolce-Gabbana-DW0486-Genteel-Analog/dp/B002P5LHL4/ref=sr_1_4271?s=watches&ie=UTF8&qid=1355264215&sr=1-4271
http://www.amazon.com/Stuhrling-Prestige-384-33152-Quartz-Silver/dp/B009PW9AO6/ref=sr_1_4831?s=watches&ie=UTF8&qid=1355265979&sr=1-4831
http://www.amazon.com/Burberry-Mens-Watch-Heritage-BU1361/dp/B000KDK2NC/ref=sr_1_4864?s=watches&ie=UTF8&qid=1355266073&sr=1-4864
http://www.amazon.com/Haurex-BC330USB-Maestro-Bologna-Chronograph/dp/B005DYBT62/ref=sr_1_4247?s=watches&ie=UTF8&qid=1355265597&sr=1-4247
http://www.amazon.com/Roamer-Switzerland-41-55-01/dp/B002TSAWFO/ref=sr_1_9480?s=watches&ie=UTF8&qid=1355265811&sr=1-9480
I need as detailed a response as possible as I know almost nothing about watches or finance culture. Thanks a bunch!
Answer
If your boyfriend is an I-Banker or works with clients at any time during his work day, I would recommend sticking to actual watchmakers. To explain, while these watches look nice and look good, they are what are called "fashion watches." These watches are only designed and then licensed by Armani, Burberry etc... (And fun fact.. FOSSIL actually makes most of the watches you listed... basically those Burberry, Armani, Michael Kors watches are fancy looking Fossil watches (see wiki link below).
Examples of luxury watchmakers are your Rolexes, Omegas, Tag Heuers, IWC, etc... and the list goes on... a Patek Philippe chronograph will set you back $150,000 to put it in perspective. But seriously, few of us have the means to even drop a $1000 for a watch. While I imagine some of your boyfriend's clients may be sporting car-priced timepieces on their wrists, there are definitely quality watches in the $350 range.
For the price range you gave, I would look into Citizen, Seiko and Tissot. These are excellent watchmakers and their watches are extremely reliable and well made. The Citizen Eco-Drive for instance is one of the best quartz watches on the market. When investing in a quality watch or product in general, a good thing to look for is a company that specializes in doing what they do. I would leave Hugo Boss to men's suiting rather than fine watches.
Stick with a stainless steel face and a brown strap. This is timeless and can be dressed up or down. Black leather strap watches (while black 'goes' with everythings) can look too dressy. Stick with a watch face between 38mm - 42mm. (see the Tissot link below)
Hope this helps!
If your boyfriend is an I-Banker or works with clients at any time during his work day, I would recommend sticking to actual watchmakers. To explain, while these watches look nice and look good, they are what are called "fashion watches." These watches are only designed and then licensed by Armani, Burberry etc... (And fun fact.. FOSSIL actually makes most of the watches you listed... basically those Burberry, Armani, Michael Kors watches are fancy looking Fossil watches (see wiki link below).
Examples of luxury watchmakers are your Rolexes, Omegas, Tag Heuers, IWC, etc... and the list goes on... a Patek Philippe chronograph will set you back $150,000 to put it in perspective. But seriously, few of us have the means to even drop a $1000 for a watch. While I imagine some of your boyfriend's clients may be sporting car-priced timepieces on their wrists, there are definitely quality watches in the $350 range.
For the price range you gave, I would look into Citizen, Seiko and Tissot. These are excellent watchmakers and their watches are extremely reliable and well made. The Citizen Eco-Drive for instance is one of the best quartz watches on the market. When investing in a quality watch or product in general, a good thing to look for is a company that specializes in doing what they do. I would leave Hugo Boss to men's suiting rather than fine watches.
Stick with a stainless steel face and a brown strap. This is timeless and can be dressed up or down. Black leather strap watches (while black 'goes' with everythings) can look too dressy. Stick with a watch face between 38mm - 42mm. (see the Tissot link below)
Hope this helps!
Dont you ppl think America could change the world but end up wasting money?
TP9
I'm sorry this is long but please read
Hello I love living in America it's probably the best place to live in the world but everyday I see people wasting money for no reason. If I was a celebrity like lebron james,tom hanks or tiger woods. I would be donating more than 50% of income (I swear on my life). All I need is a 1million. Don't get me wrong there's nothing wrong with a little luxury. When I watch T.V. I see all these bad shows and movies and think the money used to make this film could have been used to help kids in Africa or something. I hate how celebrities donate some money to kids in a kind of ghetto neighborhood and make sure it's on T.V. Those kids don't even need that stuff and their neighborhood is just considered ghetto because the rest of America looks great. I also hate how people say their from the streets and say yeah I'm from New york,compton,detroit,chicago,miami. Try living in South Africa,Russia,Pakistan or even central America. You aint even seen ghetto yet. If you get kids from those 3rd world countries and put them in American ghettos, they will think there in heaven. Don't get me wrong America is a great country. It's clean,organized and practically anyone can make it here. I'm not saying there is anything wrong with the government. This message is for the ignorant Americans that worry if their car,body or clothes look good. Stop being selfish and start donating. I'm not saying I'm perfect and maybe i am being a little hypocritical. I donated 25$ to world vision about a while ago. It wasn't a lot but it made me feel better. I suggest you do the same. Maybe I'm wrong what do you think?
Also I hate when celebrities give other celebrities gifts they dont need. I heard Adam Sandler gave the co stars from grown ups like brand new cars. Rappers waste like 100,000 dollars on jewelry and stuff. In America we got hot dog eating contests and stuff while ppl overseas are dying of starvation. Have you seen the show MTV cribs, sometimes it makes me so sick
Like i said before America is a great country but ppl here are spoiled. I donate every once in a while. Islamic relief, goodgoes.org or unicef are all great places to donate. Im not saying im a saint but atleast I help a little and im not even rich.
Their are some good celebrites who make their donations private like Brad Pitt,Steve Nash,Angelina Jolie,Dikembe Mutombo and Manute Bol
Read Manuto Bol's wiki under Activism and Life After Basketball. May Allah(swt) bless them all
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Manute_Bol
Answer
Salam,
Nothing confuses me more than Earth and its people. People are very selfish creatures, just because your family is well taking care of doesn't mean your job is done! We must lend our hands to help those outside our family. We may be eating and sleeping well at night but who says your neighbor is? To turn on the TV and watch shows like "Keeping up with the Kardashians" and knowing life saving money are going to waste for our own selfish needs while desperate families die off one by one due to poor living... sickens me and Im sure many others as well. America has the opportunity to do good... & they have done so... but we could do BETTER.... Paying millions to basketball players and singers just doesn't hit me the right way..... Could it really hurt if some of that money lands on the hands of those that really need it?
Regardless we could sit on the computer and complain about what actions should be taken to make positive changes.. but people will be people... a selfish will be a selfish... a cheater a cheater.... Just know if you could make a difference whether it be put a smile on 1 face.. then go for it... dont wait for others to come and help you.. they just may NOT....
But Im glad to see others realize the bull crap happening around us.... the waste of money... the poor being thrown into the shadow ... Why do we give the famous and rich more attention than the kids dying of Aids... or lack of proper nutrition? Alot needs to change.. it will come... As Allah warns us ALL.. Allah will test us with hardship... ( loss of money.... food... etc. ) to see how much trust we really have in Allah... So the rich wont always be rich and the poor wont always not eat good....
<May Allah bless us all.. and guide us to Paradise>
Salam,
Nothing confuses me more than Earth and its people. People are very selfish creatures, just because your family is well taking care of doesn't mean your job is done! We must lend our hands to help those outside our family. We may be eating and sleeping well at night but who says your neighbor is? To turn on the TV and watch shows like "Keeping up with the Kardashians" and knowing life saving money are going to waste for our own selfish needs while desperate families die off one by one due to poor living... sickens me and Im sure many others as well. America has the opportunity to do good... & they have done so... but we could do BETTER.... Paying millions to basketball players and singers just doesn't hit me the right way..... Could it really hurt if some of that money lands on the hands of those that really need it?
Regardless we could sit on the computer and complain about what actions should be taken to make positive changes.. but people will be people... a selfish will be a selfish... a cheater a cheater.... Just know if you could make a difference whether it be put a smile on 1 face.. then go for it... dont wait for others to come and help you.. they just may NOT....
But Im glad to see others realize the bull crap happening around us.... the waste of money... the poor being thrown into the shadow ... Why do we give the famous and rich more attention than the kids dying of Aids... or lack of proper nutrition? Alot needs to change.. it will come... As Allah warns us ALL.. Allah will test us with hardship... ( loss of money.... food... etc. ) to see how much trust we really have in Allah... So the rich wont always be rich and the poor wont always not eat good....
<May Allah bless us all.. and guide us to Paradise>
Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Title Post: Which brands and types of male watches are appropriate for business?
Rating: 98% based on 9457 ratings. 4,7 user reviews.
Author: Unknown
Thanks For Coming To My Blog
Rating: 98% based on 9457 ratings. 4,7 user reviews.
Author: Unknown
Thanks For Coming To My Blog
No comments:
Post a Comment