Mr. Luxury
Okay, so I'm 15, and a guy. I'm not gay, I just like to shop a lot. I have total about 46 shirts, and 21 pairs of pants (this includes jeans, pants, khaki's, etc). I also can't help myself when it comes to brands. I have brands such as Ralph Lauren, Guess, Gucci, Calvin Klein, Brooks Brothers, JoS. A. Bank, and more. But I don't pay full price for all these. I purchase some of the more expensive clothing such as Gucci and Ralph Lauren used on eBay. The good thing about this is that most kids in my school don't have access or a paren't who knows how to use eBay, so i'm at an advantage when it comes to this. I've saved hundreds of dollars! I only paid $60 for the Gucci shirt! That shirt new was a $400 shirt!. And by some miracle, I have gotten all my Ralph Lauren shirts for around $20-$30 used! My JoS. A. Bank I purchased at Goodwill for $2.99, along with my Calvin Klein, my L.L. Bean, and my Brooks Brothers. The JoS. A. Bank shirt I got was new $119.99! The Calvin Klein new was about $50, and my Calvin Klein Jacket new was about $100! My brooks brothers shirt new was $118.50 when I looked on their website, and the Abercrombie & Fitch shirts I have I paid about $3 a piece for used when new they were $60-$70! Now I also have automatic watches, Seiko watches, etc... I paid about $30 for my used Seiko watch (new was a $250 watch), and bought my Automatic watch on eBay for $30, but not sure how much it was new. BUT I LOVE IT! Now for my shoes, I have 9 pairs, Nike Elite's (which are one of the best shoes Nike has released, costing between $250-$300, which I got on eBay for $50 used! I am even looking at a pair of used Gucci shoes on eBay at the moment.
So even though I am wearing some of the best brands in the school (Gucci, Ralph Lauren, Calvin Klein, Brooks Brothers, JoS. A. Bank, Guess, etc) I have paid about the same as all the other kids in my school. About 99% of the kids in my school wear Aeropostale, and American Eagle. I don't tell them I got all my shirts off eBay, because that wouldn't be smart. I haven't spent a dime more than the other kids at school for clothing... but have the best brands in the school. Some of the brands I wear have even found themselves onto the list of top 10 most expensive brands in the world, such as Gucci, and Guess.
So now to get to the point.... even though I am thrifty when it comes to buying my name and luxury brands, my parent's still fear I have a spending problem. I don't think so... I mean, who wouldn't want brands such as Gucci, Ralph Lauren, Calvin Klein, Brooks Brothers, and more? Plus, for the cost of very cheap brands, I have some of the best brands you can find according to an article I read online. I looked at all my clothing the other day, and added together what I would have spent if I purchased hem new. I would have spent over $5,000 on everything if they were new. But do you know what I spent? Not even 1/5 of that! About $600 total. So yes, I do spend a little more than most people, but for the brands I have, it could have been a lot more.
My mothers birthday was about 4 months ago, and to show her how nice luxury things were since she doesn't have any, I saved for about a year (yes I know I don't have a steady income) to buy her two Gucci watches, which I spent $100 for the pair on. Mind you, these watches new were about $1,000. One model was outdated, but there's one they still sell today. I thought it would show here how nice these things are... but she hasn't even worn them once! I also got my dad a Ralph Lauren Dress shirt (new was about $150), and he's never worn it. My dad sticks to his $5 shirts from Walmart, and my mom sticks to her $12 watches from Walmart. My parents complain about me spending too much... but they can afford it. My mother has an administrative position in the office, and my father is a programmer.
So back onto the subject, do you think I have a spending problem?
Even the organ I am standing next to in this picture I got used for $50
http://www.flickr.com/photos/76137898@N08/10144487393/
Answer
I understand that you don't buy clothes for full price, but that is still an exorbitant amount of money that you spend. You must go to a school with really rich kids, because most people I know would probably not spend a hundred dollars on a single piece of clothing. You say that you are being frugal and it's not a problem because you can afford it, but I think that your parents just want the best for you. If you spend a lot of money now, you might not have enough for an emergency in the future. The less you spend now, the more you have later, even if you think that you won't need that much money. Just try to curb your spending a little - save them for special occasions. But if you still feel that you need to continue spending, then do what makes you feel good - as long as the consequences are not bad.
I understand that you don't buy clothes for full price, but that is still an exorbitant amount of money that you spend. You must go to a school with really rich kids, because most people I know would probably not spend a hundred dollars on a single piece of clothing. You say that you are being frugal and it's not a problem because you can afford it, but I think that your parents just want the best for you. If you spend a lot of money now, you might not have enough for an emergency in the future. The less you spend now, the more you have later, even if you think that you won't need that much money. Just try to curb your spending a little - save them for special occasions. But if you still feel that you need to continue spending, then do what makes you feel good - as long as the consequences are not bad.
Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Title Post: What's so bad about what I am doing?
Rating: 98% based on 9457 ratings. 4,7 user reviews.
Author: Unknown
Thanks For Coming To My Blog
Rating: 98% based on 9457 ratings. 4,7 user reviews.
Author: Unknown
Thanks For Coming To My Blog
No comments:
Post a Comment