My Country
Obama Inaugural Most Expensive in History
Thursday, January 15, 2009 1:58 PM
By: Jim Meyers Article Font Size
http://www.newsmax.com/insidecover/obama_inaugural_costs/2009/01/15/171744.html?s=al&promo_code=77C1-1
Despite the recession, Barack Obamaâs inauguration will be the most expensive ever and could approach $160 million â nearly four times what George Bushâs inauguration cost four years ago.
Slightly more than $42 million was spent on Bushâs inauguration in 2005, and Bill Clintonâs first inauguration in 1993 cost $33 million.
The federal government has already budgeted more than those figures, $49 million, for the inauguration. But the District of Columbia has projected its tab at $47 million, Virginia estimates it will spend $16 million and Maryland is looking at a $12 million tab.
Obama has raised $45 million for the inauguration festivities.
Adding in the costs of privately funded balls during inauguration week brings the total to nearly $160 million, according to the New York Daily News.
In an extraordinary step, President Bush has declared a state of emergency in the District, which will allow the government to provide additional funds through the Federal Emergency Management Agency, according to The New York Times.
Bush spokesman Scott Stanzel said never before has an advance declaration of an emergency been used for a ânon-disaster.â
An estimated 1.5 to 2 million people will be in Washington for the inauguration.
The bulk of the inauguration outlays will go for security. Transportation costs will add millions, as will the decision to open up the entire length of the National Mall and provide video and audio access to the swearing-in ceremony on JumboTrons.
If there is snow on inauguration day, the costs will be higher.
© 2009 Newsmax. All rights reserved.
Free Thinker: Why yes, I think it is forcasted behavior.
Laura: I wouldn't even pay to see one of Brad pitt or Angelina's movies. What in the heck makes you think I would pay them to throw a party of such extravagance?
Laura:
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/worldnews/article-1115942/Bush-declares-state-emergency-Washington-cost-Obamas-swearing-ceremony-soars-110m.html
http://www.hindu.com/thehindu/holnus/003200901150913.htm
http://www.associatedcontent.com/article/1388325/obamas_inauguration_cost_set_to_pass.html
http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/2009/jan/14/barack-obama-inauguration-cost
See, the thing is that most mainstream media will not broadcast the true figures, or will try and downplay them, in hopes of gaining access to the ball.
What I meant to put is AMERICAN mainstream media.
Answer
You are So Silly!!!! Because HE WON, that's Why!! He does NOT need to impress you anymore!!!!
He doesn't care - he's IN!!!! The inauguration is just the beginning for Mr. President.....Watch the personality change after the inauguration - Pres. Obama won't be doing much sacrificing, that's for sure!!!! He will live in luxury while preaching sacrifice & public service for the rest of us peons!!!!
He has his Chicago mansion, the White House, Michelle's Chicago designer (did you really believe that crap about J. Crew????) I think her name is Maria (the designer) - has been making custom clothes for the Missus for a long time - last I checked, the cheapest piece is $350 & on up to $4000 - a bit pricier than J Crew's catalog, ya think????), best private schools, & a brand new limo.
I'll have no problem sacrificing as much as our president does (in proportion to what we both receive, of course) - I will actually use him as a role model - now what could be more patriotic than THAT?!....
I am waiting for HIS LIST OF SACRIFICES for the greater good - do any of you have a copy of it????
Familiar?? "Do as I SAY, NOT what I do!".
Why is everyone so NAIVE this year????
You are So Silly!!!! Because HE WON, that's Why!! He does NOT need to impress you anymore!!!!
He doesn't care - he's IN!!!! The inauguration is just the beginning for Mr. President.....Watch the personality change after the inauguration - Pres. Obama won't be doing much sacrificing, that's for sure!!!! He will live in luxury while preaching sacrifice & public service for the rest of us peons!!!!
He has his Chicago mansion, the White House, Michelle's Chicago designer (did you really believe that crap about J. Crew????) I think her name is Maria (the designer) - has been making custom clothes for the Missus for a long time - last I checked, the cheapest piece is $350 & on up to $4000 - a bit pricier than J Crew's catalog, ya think????), best private schools, & a brand new limo.
I'll have no problem sacrificing as much as our president does (in proportion to what we both receive, of course) - I will actually use him as a role model - now what could be more patriotic than THAT?!....
I am waiting for HIS LIST OF SACRIFICES for the greater good - do any of you have a copy of it????
Familiar?? "Do as I SAY, NOT what I do!".
Why is everyone so NAIVE this year????
Soccer players (Kids, Teens, and Adults)?
josh_wagne
I wonder how many kids, teenagers, and adults would not be playing soccer if they did not have their cute uniforms to wear? I find this even in the young kids. What if they were given a pair of plain, non name (wal-mart or target) brand shorts, jersey, and cleats? What happened to just playing the sport. It seems like many of them are more into wearing their adidas, nike, puma, etc. uniforms and looking good/cute in them than playing the sport. Then they have to carry around their nike, adidas, or puma bag to put all their gear in. Everyone seems to want to look sporty today. Wearing athletic clothes when they are not at an athletic event. In know the clothes are comfortable, but come on! I was in a store the other day and this 18 year old girl was still in her full soccer gear... shin guards, nylon adidas soccer shorts, adidas soccer cleats, jersey, and of course hair in a little pony tail ... she thought she was ALL THAT. I am curious to see what you all think about this. Email me.
Do you all have any stories that either conflict or agree with what I have to say?
Answer
Finally a smart question about sportswear!
There are many reasons the people use it in this way now:
+The first, look sporty means being healthy even if they don't do any exercise.
+The most known brands and jerseys of great soccer teams give you a status, about the best teams you will play or cheer.
+All this trend is called sportluxury, but these garments will never be used for sweat them.
+In this category (Sport Luxury) there are another smalls categories: leisurewear, clubwear, beachwear, lingerie(sporty) and Pj.
+There are some accesories as some brand of water, watch, jewelery, cellphone, ipod, etc.
to pretend being fashionable.
+Another reason is that the people says that they don't have time to do sport, but they don't want to get dirty with this expensive garment.
+It's another trick to look good being lazy.
Finally a smart question about sportswear!
There are many reasons the people use it in this way now:
+The first, look sporty means being healthy even if they don't do any exercise.
+The most known brands and jerseys of great soccer teams give you a status, about the best teams you will play or cheer.
+All this trend is called sportluxury, but these garments will never be used for sweat them.
+In this category (Sport Luxury) there are another smalls categories: leisurewear, clubwear, beachwear, lingerie(sporty) and Pj.
+There are some accesories as some brand of water, watch, jewelery, cellphone, ipod, etc.
to pretend being fashionable.
+Another reason is that the people says that they don't have time to do sport, but they don't want to get dirty with this expensive garment.
+It's another trick to look good being lazy.
Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Title Post: Why is it that when our economy is suffering, Obama is having a big swin-dig for his inaugural ?
Rating: 98% based on 9457 ratings. 4,7 user reviews.
Author: Unknown
Thanks For Coming To My Blog
Rating: 98% based on 9457 ratings. 4,7 user reviews.
Author: Unknown
Thanks For Coming To My Blog
No comments:
Post a Comment